WhatStove?

Aga Ludlow stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 26 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Aga Ludlow stove

The Aga Ludlow is a 6.5Kw multi-fuel stove.

Technical Data
  • Height: 588mm
  • Width: 454mm
  • Depth: 456mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Does a great job to begin with but does not last

    Kimberley Lee-Grice 10 months ago

    I have had my Aga stove for less than 5 years and in the beginning was a great stove. Last winter the handle that drops the ash through the plate completely broke and I don't know whether I
    was unlucky and it was just poorly welded but I chose the fire as it was not cheap I thought it would last but to get the hot ash through now is a nightmare and I doubt I can repair it - looks like a new fire will be required!

    Stove expert replied: I would suggest that you contact your supplier to see if a replacement part can be purchased before replacing the stove. Many parts are available as they can require replacing over time. 5 years wear and tear is not unreasonable for a moving part, they do often last longer of-course.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • AGA Ludlow

    Steve McQue 9 years ago

    New to stoves and did a lot of research and waiting (6 months). It came down to the choice of an Aga Ludlow or a Clearview equivalent. Will not knock Clearview as they have plenty of happy customers but the Ludlow was almost £400 cheaper and does a great job in a large detached house. I like the Ludlow design mix of a contemporary/classic appearance and the window is big enough to see the flames. The feel of the heat seems to have a glow about it that may be an attribute of cast iron as opposed to steel. I have yet to experience a harsh winter with it but I am sure it will cope. Only one point Aga have now changed production to Lemington Spa where they make their ovens. The model I purchased was one of the last made in Shropshire, whether there will be some teething problems remains to be seen. Given the current economic climate I would struggle to justify spending a lot more money for a slightly hotter product especially when stoves like the Ludlow seem to perform so well. Aga also have a longer warranty period which reinforced my decision. I think the combined aesthetics, construction and functionality of this product make it a sound choice. Beware of waiting times/lists if you are in a hurry to get one!

    Stove expert replied: Sound and honest feedback of this happy customer. Good to know that Aga is still maintaining their long established good quality.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Aga Ludlow stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Rear Baffle requires replacing after only 6 years

    Matt Brooks one year ago

    The handle has also fallen off as the threaded part screws into a plastic that has stripped the thread. I use this wood burner with a flue pipe thermometer and have never allowed it to creep
    into the too hot range I do not think that overheating could have caused these problems.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Aga Ludlow newby

    Esteen Mulder 2 years ago

    Just purchased an AGA Ludlow which looks great. I only burn wood logs... I don't seem to get it burning with the primary control closed as suggested by the manual. I have a 5m stainless steel
    flue rear connection lining the masonry chimney so it draws well, in fact one can hear the whistling noise through the primary control when fully opened. I burn seasoned wood. Please advise...

    Stove expert replied: Using the primary, secondary and tertiary air controls exactly as per the manual may vary depending on the flue draw and fuel type being used, they are meant as a guide and therefore you may need to adjust them to suit your particular situation. Normally an over draught is required for wood burning and an under draught for smokeless fuels. I would start by setting the controls as suggested and then, if needed, gradually open the primary control until a gentle flame picture / controlled burning rate is achieved. As with most stoves it can take some time to find how they work best for your situation, and it can be a case of trial and error until this is achieved.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Very practical easy to clean HE stove.

    MIKE ATKINSON 3 years ago

    I install stoves for a living and chose the Ludlow after working with many others on the market. Many stoves are needlessly whistles and bells, creating more to go wrong. My Ludlow is 2 years old and still is in great condition, used regularly by me. It only has a masonry chimney which draws more than adequately. Buy one to find out more.....

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments with experience of alternative models

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Aga Ludlow Multifuel Stove 2016

    Gillian Critchley 4 years ago

    Had this Stove professionally fitted in February. I wish I'd bought it years ago. Very easy to clean out - I clean the glass with a damp cloth and a little of the fine ash from the pan. The Stove lights straight away with two firelighters broken into four, a few kindling sticks - open the spinning front vent to full and it's away. I have burned wood with ease, and very little ash to clean out the following morning. I now have Ovoid coal to burn as a secondary choice. This gives a totally different fire. Slower to get hot, but when it is hot it burns for a very long time until morning. There is a LOT more ash and small cinders to collect, though still no problem. The only thing I've noticed is the back baffle plate has turned red in colour since I've used the Ovoids. I'm not sure if this is normal? I have a Stove thermostat in place, and it was registering a medium burn not overly hot. If anyone has a similar red baffle plate I would be curious to know if this is because of the Ovoid coal use. Overall, I give my wonderful Ludlow Stove a five star rating.

    Stove expert replied: Red discolouration inside a stove is normally indicative that the metal has become too hot, do check the ovoid fuel you are using to ensure that it is suitable for a closed appliance and is not petroleum based. Watch the rate of burn so that it is not too vigorous.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Good, but a design flaw

    4 years ago

    This is my first wood burning stove, and I have had it for over a year now. I use it almost every day in the winter and I am happy enough with its look and heating capabilities. However, there is a design flaw. the top baffle rests on very small shelves, meaning that the slightest touch when loading wood into the stove will make it fall down into the fire. you then can't continue to use it until it's cooled down and you've reset it back at the top- which is fiddly. My question is- what are the downsides to me just permanently removing the top baffle? I've phoned Aga about this and am waiting for an answer back. Thanks!

    Stove expert replied: The baffle plate is designed to direct the flue gases back into the firebox for a cleaner burn. It also ensures that the heat is kept in the firebox so that it can radiate more effectively into the room, should you remove this then more heat will go up the flue system leaving less for the room. It will also subject the stove top to higher than normal working temperatures.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • aga ludlow se...changed our lives

    Craig Alexander 5 years ago

    After much consideration due to our smokeless area we chose the se (smoke exempt) version of the Aga Ludlow. Our house was always cold and the central heating was incapable of heating the house
    . Now, literally in November we are sitting in our shorts because its so wonderful and warm. Anyone considering a stove choose this one as its so easy to light, large enough to heat our 4 bedroom home & we haven't had our gas central heating on since September. We had our wood delivered for £270 which if we burn it all day everyday I have worked out should last us a minimum of 4 months. Only advice is to have it fitted by a professional with all the qualifications like we did...it costs a little more but we have the security that its been fitted properly, its safe and its legal :0) .... never been happier :D
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • query

    Mary Giles 5 years ago

    Have just bought the Ludlow and it looks lovely. We bought 5in flue as this what it states. In the booklet it states 5in for 50cm then should increase to 6in.We purchased 2 lengths of 5in as
    this is what we were told it needed.Please can you advise correct usage of flue.
    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Clear glass issues

    John Davy 6 years ago

    I have recently installed the Aga Ludlow multi fuel and am very pleased with it overall. It lights easily and soon gets up to temperature but I seem to be cleaning the glass door every day.
    The instruction manual fails to give clear direction about how/when to open/shut the tertiary control rod and if anyone can give me some advice that would be great.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Aga Ludlow

    Gordon Browne 7 years ago

    Had this stove about 2 years now. Love the design and size of the stove. 2 main negatives for me with this stove is the top plate. This is badly designed and is extremely easy to knock out of
    place while loading logs. The other is the airwash is poor, very difficult to keep clean and clear. Our chimney is not lined and I'm not sure if this would resolve this. Its not the wood as my parents in law use the same wood supply for their clearview which stays crystal clear even on a slow burn. All in all a good stove but will be looking to purchase something which is a little easier to keep clean and run next time.

    Stove expert replied: Lining a flue will enable the flue gases to stay warm and provides the most efficient environment for a stove to operate effectively.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3