WhatStove?

The Flatford 6kw

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 11 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
The Flatford 6kW

A traditional stove from Chesney, featuring a cast iron door housing a large glass window

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Fantastic stove.

    SimonBuckley 6 years ago

    We've had our 5KW Salisbury for about 4 months now and absolutely love it. We've had no problems with the stove, it throws out an awful lot of heat and looks fantastic in our farm house. Love
    it. Highly recommended.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Worth saving up for

    Emma 10 years ago

    Chesney stoves are a considered purchase compared to some models but I'm glad I finally decided to go for one. I find the Flatford very easy to light and control and it REALLY kicks out
    some heat - it feels far more like an 8kw to me than a 6kw. In the past I've had a Clearview and was very happy with it, but this stove heats up quicker, the airwash works better (the flames are quite spectacular) and the slim outlet at the front of the stove means that residual heat comes into the room rather than out the back and up the chimney. The build quality on mine is superb. Unlike the previous reviewer I've not had any problems with the handle. I'd recommend the Flatford to anyone who wants an easy to use, highly efficient stove that looks great too.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for The Flatford 6kw (page 1 of 2)

  • stove

    Adele Bruce 6 years ago

    Love this stove had it fitted by a quality installer and not had any problems gives out lots of heat. would definitely buy again. Think I've cleaned the door about half a dozen times in nine
    months keeps really clean when I do clean it I use a bit of the old ash with a damp piece of kitchen roll and it comes up like there is no glass in the door, spectacular .
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Hope they've sorted out the glitches since I purchased mine

    Gill A 7 years ago

    I bought this on the recommendation of an extremely reputable local supplier/fitter because I needed a stove that would fit in a small space. I've had it for just over two years and can only
    echo the criticisms made about the firebricks, door-rope and so on. I gather from some of the more recent reviews that these problems may have been attended to, but on the basis of my experience I wouldn't buy from this manufacturer again. Customer service was pretty poor, too: when two consecutive sets of firebricks shattered shortly after the stove was fitted, Chesney denied that this had ever happened to any other customer!
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Chesneys flatford 5

    James Connolly 7 years ago

    What a stove. I have used many stoves over the years and I can't recommend this stove highly enough. My fitter said it is always a pleasure to fit a chesneys, knowing what a quality product it is. They are not cheap and you get what you pay for. Solid build quality and ridiculously easy to control. The glass never blackens, the rope seals don't leak and my log pile doesn't seem to go down very quickly due to this stove's efficiency. Thank you chesneys, it is worth every penny. PS thank you for the lovely gauntlets too, I might take up falconry!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Chesney: Excellent stoves!

    Michael Bentley 8 years ago

    Chesney stoves are excellent, extremely well designed. They have very pleasing look which easily fit all houses from Georgian to modern. They have gone much further with their design they most stoves, but still produce a first class 'heater' very easy to light and operate. They are not cheap but you pay for the product! They are an excellent product....and British made. To the market one if not the best?
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Chesney Flatford 4 wood only (now Salisbury 4)

    Chris 8 years ago

    As someone who installs stoves, I see a lot of different models and unlike some of the earlier reviewers who I think must have been unfortunate, I feel this stove needs some more worthy praise. I would say this stove is very nearly as good as the Clearview Pioneer and looks much better. And it's much cheaper so wins hands down by my reckoning. Lighting and operation is simple - one control sensibly placed UNDERNEATH so you don't need a glove to adjust it, and good range on it so its much easier to fine tune than a slider type with an inch or two of movement. The door mechanism is elegantly simple and adjusts with no tools. To be honest, I can't comment on the after sales as I've never had mine or any of my customers' go wrong. Never had a firebrick break - and not a big deal if it did. Nothing squeaks rubs, leaks or blackens so for me this is a fit and forget stove and I like that. Never tried to keep it in overnight as they're so easy to light I don't see the point especially with a stove this small and the associated problems with slow burning. If you want to overnight burn, get a bigger stove (or go to bed late, and get up early!!) This is a great little unit that looks clean, burns really efficiently if correctly installed and is a joy to own.

    Stove expert replied: From someone with a good deal of experience, purchasing one for theie own use is certainly high praise.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Terrible customer service. Can't recommend.

    Stanley Stone 8 years ago

    Like others have said the problems with this stove are endless, and the customer service is terrible. Door won't close properly, fire brick always breaking and replacing. An expensive stove, to purchase. Very poor quality. I have contacted the manufacture regarding the door but have yet never had a response. Please don't buy this manufactures stove. There are other better quality stoves with better customer service. Terrible.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Keep clear. Typical British build quality

    M Hallett 9 years ago

    Had ours for 8 months now and had a very mid winter. It been used around 10 - 15 time max. So far it's had a new door within weeks of being installed, and the fire bricks are constantly breaking. The last one was the top one that dropped into the fire while we were away from the room. The build quality is very very poor, built with maximum profit in mind. Reported the problem to chesney uk who sent back a standard set email, which didn't answer any question I had asked. For the money this is a poor quality item, there are better fires out there, I would suggest you look at a different make. We will over the summer months. Poor quality matched by poor quality customer service.

    Stove expert replied: Do not class all British made stoves in the same category, they are not all the same!!

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • chesney Flatford 6kw

    Brian Archer 9 years ago

    This an amazing stove, that fills the whole farmhouse with warmth. Its such a compact stove (as the existing fireplace width was an issue for us at only 69cm) that generates more heat than
    we ever thought possible.The door feels so solid and firm, the handle is excellent and so easy to use and adjust, the controls are easy to use and the fire responds immediately. Its not the cheapest stove but is well worth saving up for,and would fully recommend it to anyone wanting an easy to use,efficient and an excellent flame displaying stove.

    Stove expert replied: Some things you know are good by the feel of them, solididly built and responsive.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2