WhatStove?

Stratford EB 20 HE

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stratford EB 20 HE

Giving out 20kW to water and 10kW to the room the EB 20 is a high output boiler stove able to run a whole house.

Technical Data
  • Height: 659mm
  • Width: 590mm
  • Depth: 443mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 2.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Not happy with this stove

    Aine Kelly 4 months ago

    Bought this stove in 2017 and was never happy with it from day 1. It heats the water ok but no heat to the room. I have to keep it stocked up with fuel continuously and still no heat. You have
    to be up very close to feel any heat. The room it''s in is cold in the morning no matter how much fuel I burn in it. I have made enquires from the company who made it and supplied it but got nowhere. It was supposed to heat up to 16 radiators but I cannot get it to heat 10 rads. Not at all happy with this stove. Also the door handle gets very hot when the stove is lit.

    Stove expert replied: This boiler stove can produce between 2 and 6kW's in to the room, was this checked to ensure that it meets the rooms heating requirements that it is installed in? The boiler says that it can produce upto 18kW's to water, again were the calculations undertaken to ensure that this is adequate for the domestic hot water and radiator circuit? You say you have 10 radiators, these can range from small single panel to large double panelled radiators and their demands vary greatly in what heat is required etc; It is essential that prior to purchasing any boiler the heat load calculations are undertaken by a suitable heating engineer.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Fantastic stove great buy

    James Johnston 8 years ago

    I purchased this stove with the intention to greatly reduce, if not completely do away with my oil bill. Since the installation has been completed I've just put my oil heating on once. It's
    really easy to use and when up to temperature does not take much fuel to keep going, I'm really happy with it and its a definite 10/10 from me.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Stratford EB 20 HE (page 1 of 2)

  • Stratford Ecoboiler wood

    Paul Cooper 5 months ago

    Fitted 3 years ago, burn well seasoned wood. Is leaking inside the firebox at the back , typically behind a cover which can't be removed so it's very unlikely I can have it repaired ,,, 7 year warranty,,,,, Stratford did not want to know. Sooooo many conditions and boxes to tick it's impossible. I am really disappointed as this stove was brilliant. I do want another one but feel let down for the poor customer service and bad weld..........

    Stove expert replied: The seven year warranty on these stoves works well providing that the conditions have been met that the manufacturer states when a new boiler stove is supplied. Their warranty statement is "As long as your stove has been purchased from one of our authorised dealers and installed following regulations governing the fitting of wood-burning and solid fuel appliances in the country of installation, our guarantee comes as standard." Should you make a claim the manufacturer will send details of what information is required, which should be quite straight forward, and then the claim can proceed. Without further information from the above, it would appear that something has not complied fully with the manufacturers requirements for this claim to be able to proceed..

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Fantastic fire

    Ben Blackford 5 years ago

    Had one of these fitted this year to replace a parkray chilltern 111 that was well over due to be replaced. The Stratford boiler is great and is running 8 double radiators 3 which are over
    1.2 meters. We have used a lot less wood and smokeless coal this year compared to the old one and it will stay in over night and keep the house warm. The living room leads on to a very large conservatory and also heats that fine. It's easy to use and is a great feature of the house.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Brilliant fire

    N/a N/a 5 years ago

    I've had solid fuel boilers for the last 35 years. My last boiler was a Coalbrookedale Severn I didn't think I would get another boiler good enough to replace it I had to choose another model
    as the Coalbrookedale wasn't made any more. Best thing I did was having this fire it's brilliant gets too warm at times and have had to sit with the back door open in the middle of winter. This is my second winter with this fire and can't wait for it to turn really cold so we can have the fire turned up. Would highly recommend it .

    Stove expert replied: Do make sure that you use the stove effectively and not leave it slumbering for long periods (short periods of fast burn are recommended throughout the day). Was the stoves' output calculated by a Heating Engineer to suit your requirements as leaving the back door open because it is too hot is concerning. When considering a stove purchase do buy a stove that matches your needs and not one that is too large, having a stove shut down all the time can lead to flue problems.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Brilliant

    Patrick McGuigan 5 years ago

    Had this stove fitted recently. Delighted with it's performance so far. Comfotably heats 14 radiators brilliantly, loads of really hot water, and with 3' of exposed flue pipe it gives brilliant
    heat to the room it's located in.Minor downsides are that the airwash could be slightly better, especially with non smokeless coal, the ashpan could be bigger so that ashes don't fall outside of it, but otherwise do not hesitate to buy this stove, you will not be disappointed. :-)
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Not a happy chappie

    Jim Gordon 6 years ago

    Had one of these stoves fitted 3 months ago to replace a solid fuel Rayburn not happy with it's performance or am I expecting to much ? I burn well seasoned wood (20% or under moisture)but
    contacted Arada to complain and was told coal would give me 3 times more heat so I bought"fireglow" (recommended)at £18.50 per 50 kilos to experiment. If I light it at 8.30am (room temperature 10c) by 12.30 it is up to 15c with wood. I then put 7 kilos of "fireglow" on, go out for approx. 2 hours when I return room temp.is 13 or 14c. Although Arada state the heat output to room as being 3-10kw my armchair sits only 4ft from the door of the stove and if I want to feel heat I have to sit forward in my chair, this burning either coal or wood. Even though I have kept it going overnight often the room temperature does not get any better than 16c .. this, compared with the solid fuel Raeburn it replaced, is pretty poor and expensive. I have done everything "by the book" but am not happy with this stove, or do I expect too much ? It heats 5 radiators reasonably.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Stratford EB20 HE

    Steve Pickering 6 years ago

    Procrastinated for over a year on stove selection, this one was highly recommended. installed it in July to complement the oil system by connecting them both to a heat store. We are now running
    the fire 24/7 costing around £30 a week, use next to no oil at all, the old three bed freezing farm house is now warm at all times, fire is fantastic, easy to control, stays on overnight, bursts back into flame easy, only needs cleaning out one per week.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Great Stove

    G.swarbrick 7 years ago

    On the whole I am very pleased with this stove. Heat output is more than enough to supply central heating and hot water to 10 radiators in a 3 bedroom 1960s semi detached house. Build quality is OK but within a month of first use a couple of the fluted quadrant cast sections along the rear of the firebox came loose and fell off, Arada supplied one replacement FOC. It is sometimes a little difficult to control the heat/flame output on this model, the thermostat bulb is located on the outside of the rear of the stove and is a little insensitive. It would be far better located in a sleeve or "pocket" inset into the boiler section of the stove where it can measure the water temperature more closely. Perhaps Arada can consider this. Or maybe my stove needs some calibration or adjusting. It will slumber overnight without problems but does need some attention in the morning or at the very least within a 18-24 hour period or else it will go out. Previous Parkray boiler would slumber for at least 36 hours and not need any attention at all. Burns phurnacite, taybrite and wood no problem.

    Stove expert replied: The thermostat probe used to be slotted into a pocket on the back of their boiler stoves and the new location is meant to be an improvement on sensing water temperature in the new style boiler jacket. I would expect a stove to need attention at least twice every day to remove ash and for refuelling, if left for longer periods they tend to choke themselves. The thermostat clearance can be checked, and instructions should be in the manual, access through the plate on the left hand side of the stove.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stafford Stove

    Denis McDonagh 8 years ago

    Overall a very good and efficient stove. I would like a flue damper on this stove as I live in an area with high winds. Is this possible ?.

    Stove expert replied: A flue damper can be added to an existing flue system providing there is enough single skin flue to accommodate it, ideally in a top flue installation as this will make it easier to operate.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2