WhatStove?

Morso s10-40

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 16 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Morso s10-40

Contemporary stove with ability to have direct air supply to the outside.

Technical Data
  • Height: 981mm
  • Width: 556mm
  • Depth: 357mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 3 flames
Ease of lighting 3.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Love it But. :/

    Sandra James 2 years ago

    Fell in love with the Morso S10. It's modern. I love the large window, the positive opening and closing of the door. A quality thicker than some ash tray. But 2 weeks in and the door handle
    went from a soft positive closing to being very stiff and got stiffer on each opening/closing. Within 2 days the screw head broke off the handle. The shop where it was purchased organised a replacement, their fitted came out and fitted the new screw to the handle and within days the same thing happened again..... 3 lit fires later it got very tight and then the same again. Any suggestions? I've googled and found this has happen to others. The shop has mentioned maybe it was lifted into place incorrectly but it was lifted from the bottom and not by the handle (I was present) it did arrive in bubble wrap as it was a display model. I just wish to enjoy my burner but the shine is slowly being taken off it with fear of opening and closing it and it snapping again.

    Stove expert replied: Try using a graphite lubricant on the mechanism as this allows for ease of movement. Do make sure that wood is dry and seasoned with a moisture content of less that 20% and give the stove short periods of fast burn during any period of use. This allows for any tar deposits to be burnt off that can adhere to movable parts and cause them to become stiff. Rather a disappointment for this well known brand that is normally known for its quality.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Fantastic Quality compact modern stove

    Matthew Cooper 9 years ago

    I've had the stove installed now for 4 months. The stove itself is very stylish and modern, the full glass front looks very good and affords an excellent view into the fire especially when p
    positioned in a corner as mine is. It's fairly compact too. I too have noticed that the door closes on it's own, however this is not an issue for me and I consider it to be a positive safety feature since it prevents the door being left open and embers being potentially spat out onto flammable surfaces. Lighting the stove is very easy draw from chimney is excellent but that depends on your individual setup. No heat is transferred to the door handle so there's no need for gloves just to add a log. The air wash works very well while the fire is going but as it cools deposits are left on the glass. I tend to clean the glass before lighting with a wet piece of kitchen roll dipped in some of the old ash, this only takes seconds. The fire will take surprisingly large logs.The ash pan is very robust and well designed, all the ash falls in the loan so there's no mess whatsoever. The air vent is easily adjusted but does become quite hot, not so hot that you can't adjust without a glove though as it only needs to be tapped with the hand too move. Adjusting the vent has a very obvious effect on the fire. I've not been able to make the fire burn unattended overnight. If I load with logs I can leave for about 3 hours and it'll still be lit when I return to it. Overall I've been extremely pleased with the stove the main plus point that everyone seems too comment on is just how compact and unobtrusive the stove is in or room.I would definitely buy the same stove again and recommend too anyone although looking at the quality of its manufacture I genuinely believe it's going to last many many years. Not cheap but overall I believe it'll be worth the money, especially if you can source free logs;-)

    Stove expert replied: Nice to have this feedback which is fair and honest. Seems a good stove!!

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Morso s10-40 (page 1 of 2)

  • Broken glass Morso S1040 Stove

    Barry Hirst 2 years ago

    I bought this Stove about 4 years ago and it has been superb. However when we returned from vacation last year we found that a large corner of the glass front had broke away. When we returned
    to the shop they told us that the glass front was not covered under the 10 year guarantee. After further enquiries we discovered that a replacement glass would cost more than £600. I don't understand why the glass is not considered to be part of the stove.

    Stove expert replied: It is part of the stove but classed as consumable and therefore not covered by the warranty as is the case with other manufacturers. You may be able to claim on the house insurance as this is a fixture in the property.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Great looking stove, shame about the issues

    Paul Birnie 2 years ago

    I will start this review on a positive. I have had it 6 years now and I can say that it is a lovely looking stove with a great viewing window. It produces a good amount of heat and the external air option is great , plus helps the pull on the flue. Unfortunately this stove has some major, what I would call manufacturing issues, I am an engineer, so I do have a technical background. This is my opinion. As I have found out from Morso, the door seal diameter and door has been changed from the earlier model which is what I have. So you may be lucky if you have the updated version. The door has over time warped very slightly , the door doesn't seal all the way around the fire because of this , even with a new morso rope seal , which you have to contact morso for as the standard size seal for this fire doesn't fit. This door not fitting correctly results in slight over heating at the front of the stove even when you shut the air supply down. And this causes the the internal welded opening supports to buckle, then eventually distorting the whole fire. So this fire was unusable after just over 5 years. I have had stoves all my life and I am aware of not over heating them so I was always careful. I contacted Morso about this issue and they did not comment on the issue. Instead , they hid behind there terms and conditions, saying that you only get 5 year warranty when fitted by a Morso approved installer or three years for a hetas installer and one year if fitted yourself. This issue has nothing to do with how it is installed but that seems to be used as a tool to avoid the real issue. On top of that, the air control stuck from new and I was advised to use a metal file to fix it. Plus the door handle is very poor. It either sticks or wobbles. What a real shame as it could be a great stove, and the after care was not good at all.

    Stove expert replied: If the stove had a flue damper or stabilizer fitted to the flue there would be more control and thus would prevent distortion of the door / components. A flue draught test can be undertaken to establish if this is required. If the stove is not controllable and responsive then this is the first place to look. If the welded parts buckle then the stove has been overfired for long periods and a manufacturer will not cover this under warranty.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Stylish and efficient, and reliable.

    Rod Hodgkinson 2 years ago

    I've owned a Morso S10-40 for about 12 years now - and am very pleased with it. Initially I found it a little difficult to light - but I now use one firelighter and kindling. Once that has caught
    and has burnt for 5 mins, close the door and start loading larger dry logs. Wet wood doesn't work. Heat output has been good, and friends remark on how stylish it is. My vermiculite rear panel also fractured, but my chimney sweep said that it wasn't necessary to replace it. It's been fractured for about six years now and no detrimental effect is visible. Fuel burning is very efficient - my chimney sweep wrote on his report that I had "excellent soot" whatever that is! Recommended by a satisfied user!

    Stove expert replied: Nice review. Liners can be used, providing they are staying in place and protecting the stove body, should they become cracked.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • This stove is awesome.

    Andy Ajb204@gmail.com 3 years ago

    We were put off this stove initially by comments on this page. We were first-time stove buyers and took the comments seriously, as few sites offer reviews of individual stoves. For design reasons
    , this stove is the perfect size for us so we ended up ignoring the bad comments on this page after some agonising, and we are delighted that we did. We love this stove.I think that the people that argue that it doesn''t light on this page either haven''t followed the instructions, have insufficient draw from their flue or have botched the self-install. In short, nothing to do with the stove.We''ve installed this in a victorian fireplace with a 8.5m flue. We had it professionally installed. We have a good draw and it lights easily, and has a large viewing window. The height on the window is well placed so that when we''re curled up on the sofa, the fire is at head height which is perfect. The door latch was initially stiff, though our fitter followed instructions in the manual and it''s now very fluid.We think the glass door looks great. I believe the comments here that say it can be broken and is expensive to replace. These are probably true. So the answer there is to not throw wood at the door. As far as we can tell, the door is not at all fragile and we''ve had no problems. But it will not be as strong as a cast iron door found on an iron stove. So place logs, don''t throw them inside. If you want to beat up your stove, buy one made of cast iron. The flip side of a glass door is a modern look and a large viewing window.Like others have reported, the door swings closed of its own accord. This doesn''t affect operation in our view - I hold the door in one hand and place logs with the other. If you are unfortunate enough to have only one operational hand, a small piece of wood could be used to prop the door as others have reported. And having the door close automatically is probably a good thing if your attention is prone to wander while playing with the fire.The front of the stove radiates nicely - we feel the ''stove glow'', not as strongly as you would from a cast iron stove as you would expect from a convection based stove, but it still radiates a nice warm intensity and objects nearby, and the chimney are comfortably warmed. The heat from the convection travels quickly over the house so when we have the stove lit, we get a warm house, not just a warm room. So we are in favour of convection-based stoves.So I would recommend this to anyone. For our small terraced victorian townhouse, we are delighted with the look and operation of this stove, and we think it is well worth the price. For our area, we had on our shortlist pedestal based stoves such as the Contura 870s and the Aga Lawley. We did not have the vertical clearance for these when we got to the detail. Many stoves of this design and size we think look a bit like trash cans. The glass door combined with the shaping at the bottom of this stove prevent this for this model. So this influenced our decision.A newer model of this stove is now available where I understand the baseplate can be opened and used as a woodstore. The space below the stove is pretty small so we think in the scheme of things, the extra storage you get from that is minimal, enough maybe for one evening on a cold night. So given the choice between the newer model and the older one, we deliberately went with the older one. Plus the older one we think looks less like a trash-can.For a convection stove, this is stunning to look at (we think), gives a tremendous view of the fire from many places in the living room (this is objective!), contrasts nicely with the rustic look of an old fireplace (we think) and is generally something we''re very pleased that we bought.When reading stove reviews, for first time stove buyers, we reccomend distinguishing between factors about the stove, and factors that may have arisen from the installation.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments that cover many aspects of a stove purchase and operation, very informative for other readers.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Very disappointed

    John Gaunt 4 years ago

    We had this stove installed just over a year ago . Since then the handle bolt has broken twice the fire brick lining has cracked and it is excessively smokey to light. We had a cowl fitted on
    the flue which has helped but still have a problem from time to time even when wood is very dry . Now having to redecorate the room it is in due to the smoke damage. Would not recommend this stove !!!! We have a woodwarm stove in another room which is brilliant with no problems whatsoever.

    Stove expert replied: Tall stoves will require a decent flue length and ideally 4.5mtrs so depending on the installation this may be a factor that is affecting the flue draw. Ensure that there is enough free air in the room to aid combustion and if it causes a real problem then a possible flue fan may overcome this. The lining is a consumable item and is not covered by warranty and care should be taken when loading the stove to avoid knocking with force when loading with fuel. The handle bolt should be covered under warranty and is surprising that this has failed twice in the time you have the stove.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Very disappointed

    James Drury 4 years ago

    Question. Is this model solely for burning wood because I always thought if a stove has a grate it is for coal as well as wood. I think the only solution is to use some coal. Can anybody help
    ?

    Stove expert replied: This model is a woodburning stove only. Interesting that extending the flue system has helped could it be extended even further? Is there an airbrick in the room or a direct air kit added to the stove? The lack of performance may be due to lack of air which is required to allow combustion to occur. Is the flue lined as this can aid the draw where draw problems are apparent? Further investigation regarding the installation is recommended. A short flue can be an issue with contemporary cylindrical stoves due to their height and the recommended 4.5 optimum flue length.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • A Glowing Review

    R Charles 6 years ago

    The stove was installed just over 2 years ago and I have to say it's made a massive difference. It lives on the ground floor of a 2 storey north facing extension which was always significantly colder than the rest of the house. The stove is mounted on a glass hearth, overlying wooden flooring and looks stunning. Even the chimney sweep commented on how attractive and stylish it was. Not only does the stove look great but it works brilliantly. The room regularly heats up to 20-34 degrees C, with the added bonus of bringing the room above (my bedroom) up to 18-20 degrees C. Previously both rooms could routinely reach 14-16 degrees in winter at best, no matter how warm the rest of the house became. The stove means that my gas heating bills have dropped substantially, and the heat it generates warms other downstairs rooms. Lighting is fairly easy, although I've found that living in a double glazed house means that opening a window slightly helps create the initial draw. Once the fire is going the window can be closed without fear of it going out. The door handle stays cool, but the airflow lever is made of a conducting metal and you'll need a glove to use it. Cleaning is pretty straightforward; the glass stays relatively clean but I usually go over it with a damp newspaper and some ash when I empty the ash. The only downside is that the door does swing back when open, and although it can be wedged with a piece of kindling this strikes me as something that could be fixed on safety grounds.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Disappointed

    Emily Ledson 6 years ago

    We have had the Morso S10-40 for a year now and I would agree with a couple of other reviews. The firebrick cracked in less than a year. Morso were good and quickly sent a replacement. However
    , that isn't the only disappointment.We have to have the door open to get it going and when we shut the door it dies. We rarely have it going well enough to be able to turn it down and it often doesn't really put out enough heat for the room although it is the right kW for the room. We were told by the stove supplier that an Airbrick is only required for stoves over 5kw. We bought the Morso based on some positive reviews and because of the brand reputation but so far we've been really disappointed. We had an approved hetas engineer fit it. I'd be really glad if someone could tell me if it is the stove or something wrong with the installation as it cost a lot of money
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Disappointed

    Emily Ledson 6 years ago

    We had our Morso s10-40 fitted over a year ago and so far we are quite disappointed, especially given how much we spent on buying and installing it. I'd agree with other reviewers. The firebrick cracked after less than 12 months but Morso did send out a replacement quickly. It never really seems to get going. I have the door slightly open to get it started but as soon as I close the door it dies. In fact, we are always running it at maximum and its extremely rare we can turn it down as it just never gets going. I've checked the moisture content on the wood and its OK. We were told we didn't need an Airbrick unless we bought a stove >5kw. It was fitted by a hetas firm. So far I'm really disappointed. I feel we could have spent less and got something much better. I'd love someone to tell me if there is something we can do to make it run better
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2