WhatStove?

Lovenholm stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 39 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Lovenholm stove

The Lovenholm stove comes in several variations, single door and double door as well as wood burning and multifuel The clean lines are typical of the Scandinavian style. With the multifuel stove you have a riddling grate, which you can change quickly to make it suitable for burning wood. This model has a 'cool-touch' handle in stainless steel. This sturdy stove sits on four legs and the large glass panel in the door gives a good view of the fire.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Slight disappointment

    Richard Hancock 6 months ago

    I just loved having my first woodburner.But it does take ages to get going. I have only used wood under 20% moisture. Sometimes it feels that it really doesn''t want to go!The primary and secondary
    air controls are easily confusable.But then, a few weeks ago, I installed a Clearview woodburner. It takes off like a rocket! The controls can''t be confused. My only criticism is that the secodary air control is much too sensitive, in that a tiny difference in the position makes a big difference to the heat output.But I love my Clearview!
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Nice Little Burner

    Mr Warm 12 years ago

    An efficient little stove, good value, quick and easy to light, burns and draws well.The only negative points are:i) the top airwash lever is a bit hit and miss - it's best to listen for the
    air flow stopping when closing the lever to be sure the airwash vent is closedii) you have to remove the front "Wood Plate" to get to the ashpan, so trying to empty the ashpan when the stove is burning is a little tricky - and the ashpan needs emptying daily. This may not be such a problem with the single door model, but the 2 door model needs the front plate in place because the door latch locates in a slot in the plate.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Lovenholm stove (page 1 of 4)

  • Dreadful stove - one of the most loathsome things I have ever bought

    Unhappy Customer 3 years ago

    With a long history of using multi-fuel stoves I recently bought the multi-fuel version of this stove. The riddling mechanism is certainly ''not the best in class'', the door does not close properly, it would be cheaper to keep warm burning £5 notes than forever having to refill the stove, and Hunter (the manufacturer) appear, to date, perfectly happy merely to leave everything to the installer. From my experience with this stove thus far I would never again buy a Hunter Stove. The stove has now been confirmed as defective and needs to be replaced - the door is warped, the secondary air inlet control is also malfunctioning. It will be taken out this week and replaced with a Dovre.

    Stove expert replied: What a shame that the Hunter stove has not provided you with a stove that is efficient and that it has required replacing.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Great little stove

    4 years ago

    After doing a huge amount of research we had one of these installed in April. Our previous stove was a Morso Squirrel but our budget was tighter on this occasion. Reading the reviews on this site helped us with one or two issues with the stove. Having been used to a multi fuel stove I was originally expecting an ash pan; my only issue at the moment is that the door is sooty and this wasn't the case when it was first fitted. I'm currently using it with both air vents fully open but the flames are almost totally obscured by the blackened glass. So my ratings would have been higher if I'd rated it when I first used it. Any feedback would be really welcome.

    Stove expert replied: Clean the glass with a cloth dipped in vinegar or wood ash, stubborn stains may need treating more than once. Do check the glass gasket and rope seals to make sure they are intact. Wood needs to have less that 20% moisture content and short periods of fast burn are required and should help to keep the glass clear. Clean out the inside of the stove thoroughly and drop the baffle / throat plate down to check that this does not have debris on it causing restriction of the flue gas flow. There is likely to be a cause if this was different when first installed so investigating and eliminating will need to be undertaken so that it can be rectified and clear vision can be once more achieved.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Good but no cigar.

    4 years ago

    Had this (Lovenholm, single door) ordered a double but online supplier sent the wrong one, (refunded the difference, we live at the end of Cornwall) fitted by professional and certificated to
    boot, October 2015. With the addition of a stove top fan, more than capable of heating our open plan granite house in the mid to late evenings. Tends to gobble wood, the airwash control is, as many say, fiddly, riddling bar can kick the grate bars out if moved too harshly and you definitely need gloves for use when up to temperature but all in all a good worker. Problems emerged early 2016 when we spotted paint failure across the top (front) of the stove but as it was the end of its usage for the autumn/winter season, simply ignored the matter, had the chimney swept and discussed this with the installer. Recently re-lit the stove and recalled/noticed the problem again, thus sent the supplier an e-mail and have tried to source Lovenholm to discuss the matter (latter part similar to catching a rainbow I might add) Supplier says that the issue is due to damp cleaning creating rust. Absolute rubbish as the ''fail'' line follows the air wash front area and the stove has never been damp cloth washed. Ergo there must be a temperature related weakness and, as I write(sic) this review, I await more feedback from the supplier and continue to chase a contact link with Lovenholm (any clues/hints greatly appreciated)

    Stove expert replied: It may be the case that a simple re-spray over this area will solve the problem as perhaps the paint was thinner here than the rest of the stove. Rust will form is a damp atmosphere (could be due to building work) but likely to be surface only. The supplier should have followed this up with the manufacturer as it was reported within the year.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • SMELLY

    4 years ago

    Lovely burner in looks and heat output. I have the single door log burner so good view of flames. The only gripe I have is the noctious fumes given off when burning. The installer said it would
    smell initially as the paint "cures". We built up to 4 hrs burning as instructed, but its been 2 months now and the small makes me feel ill. Puts me off using it which is disappointing.

    Stove expert replied: A stove, once the paint has cured should not produce any unpleasant smells so I would get the installation checked to ensure that there is nothing causing this (something too close perhaps to the flue system!). What fuel are you using and how hot are you operating your stove? It is a shame not to enjoy your stove and there will be a reason for this smell I am sure.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Griddle rack problem

    Jayne Evans 5 years ago

    Hi we have a Lovenhom one single door and inside our fire at the back, our bar across the back griddle is buckled. Our supplier and fitter say it's been burning too hot and we know it's not
    as we have a thermometer on our chimney and the fuel is good quality. We have a crack on the fire board not in fire but outside around back off the fire place that the fire sits in. Please can you advise thank you . We only use our fire at weekends and clean it properly as my husband is very particular it's like new and three years old.

    Stove expert replied: The fuel used may be one of the hotter brands (anthracite), if this is the case a small bed of ash should be allowed to build up on the grates to help protect them and it is very important to remove the ash once you have riddled the stove (do not over riddle, only until red embers start to fall in the ash pan then stop). If you leave hot ash below in the ash pan the grates can get distorted over time especially when the ash builds up close to the grate system, The board cracking behind the stove, is it special fire proof boarding, is it the plaster that has cracked? What clearance have you between the stove and this board, ideally 150mm gap should be left.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Great log burner

    Nick Moon 5 years ago

    Recently had this log burner installed, the large window and clean design made me choose this model. A few reviews had me questioning whether I had made the right decision and I was a little
    worried on the relatively small size of the firebox however, I can confidently give this stove a great review. It heats my open plan home and the large window gives a great view of the flames. The fire is easy to get going and the air wash works great, I had no trouble finding the optimal settings. Very pleased with this burner and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. The only thing I can find wrong with this stove is the handle... After only a few uses the paint came off, it also gets too hot to open without gloves. A small gripe in the grand scheme of things.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Helpful advice

    Christian Robinson 5 years ago

    Thank you for that advice. This was not offered or suggested by the retailer. I will look into it.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Hot embers faling out worse than ever

    Chris Robinson 5 years ago

    After a few more days' use it is clear that this stove has a major design fault. The lack of an upstand at the front means that more often than not hot embers fall out when the door is opened
    . The bits that don't end up on the hearth sit on the lip and prevent the door from closing. Putting further logs in the relatively small firebox is a risky business as this often results in further glowing lumps falling out. Luckily I have the know-how and can fabricate something to (hopefully)prevent this from happening. Others may not be in this position. Unfortunately it's not something you can easily return having had it installed so will have to live with it, but it seems a huge (and fairly basic) oversight on behalf of the manufacturers.

    Stove expert replied: There are two options that you may find useful to overcome the difficulties that you have explained one is a multifuel front extension which is an optional extra for this model should multifuel (wood and smokeless fuel) be the fuels of your choice. If you only wish to use wood however, then a wood burning conversion kit can be purchased which will give a larger firebox for logs and a more solid base to allow the ash to build up and provide the most efficient conditions for wood burning. There is no need to consider returning a stove when the options are available from the manufacturer should they be required and once you use an appliance often you find what it is you are really looking for and can then bespoke the stove to suit your needs. The manufacturer has covered both options and perhaps the supplier should have made the customer aware of these at the time of purchase.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • No grate to stop fuel falling out

    Chris Robinson 5 years ago

    This is a well made, nice little stove. A little slow to get going, but this maybe a flue height issue (we run with door ajar to get it going). The main gripe is that when you open the door
    hot wood falls out due to a lack of grate at the front. This also makes adding more logs a bit fraught as the hot embers tumble out. Can you remove the riddler and ash pan and run it with logs on the base? This would increase the capacity and keep the logs in. I wonder.

    Stove expert replied: The riddling mechanism should not be removed, normally a woodburner only will have some protection on the base and the stove has not been designed to use in this manner. Try to load the fuel as far back into the firebox as possible which should help.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4