WhatStove?

Sonderskoven stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 8 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Sonderskoven stove

The Cleanburn Sonderskoven is a 7kW multifuel stove, available with legs, on a pedestal or on a column/stand.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Great looks and performance

    Jackie Ord 3 years ago

    I''ve had this stove for 5 years now and am delighted with it. Visitors often remark about how good it looks, and winters are no longer something to dread as it''s well able to heat the whole
    of that part of the house. It''s easy to operate once you get the hang of it, and lights easily. I find it''s best to get the wood glowing red hot before I shut it right down, then it kicks out the heat for ages and the glass stays clear. I only burn wood, so it doesn''t always stay in all night but it''s not a problem because the room is still warm next morning.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Very disappointed

    Lally Walford 8 years ago

    We put this multifuel burner into our house 2 years ago and have regretted it ever since. It is incredibly difficult to light without smoking the entire house out and the firebox is far too
    small. If you open the doors to load more fuel everything falls out. What's more, the handle sheared off two days ago. I would not recommend this stove.
    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

More reviews for Sonderskoven stove

  • Sonderskoven - Great So Far

    Bill Loughrey 4 years ago

    Having had a few early issues with poor quality logs, I must say, that now that has been sorted, what a great looking and performing stove. With the new dry logs we get very little distortion
    on the glass and can now even adjust the controls to give us the showroom appeal of a woodburner in action. We also purchased a Skagen 6 for another room and this is also a great stove. We have a largish old farmhouse and whilst it would be great to heat the whole thing with two woodburners, that''s not going to happen, that said, when on full blast we do need to leave the lounge and snug room doors open - and if you want a fire to fall asleep in front of, you won''t go wrong with one of these, I promise.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Very disappointed

    Helen G 6 years ago

    Jan 2015. It was installed in Feb 14 and (so far!) we have had to have the handle replaced, the steel/iron that runs across the front of the grate in behind the bars is buckled. One of the
    bars keeps falling out as the little catch on the end has fallen off. The seal around the door has come off. The stove was broken in gently and due to very mild summer when stove was not used has really only been in continuous use for a max of 6 months. Happy with the look of it and the heat it radiates but maintenance of this stove is going to be a nightmare. The supplier is very unhelpful about it all which really isn't helping matters. Would not recommend this stove due to problems experienced so far.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • sonderskoven traditional

    Alan Barbone 6 years ago

    I cannot understand why there is negative feedback. The stove is great and has technology that is as good as practically anything on the market. The firebox, glass window is massive and the
    airwash / tertiary air is excellent with stunning flame pattern. The stove is heavy, well built and looks lovely. anyone who says it does not run well has clearly had a sub standard installation (perhaps without a flue liner) and is running it on poorly seasoned wood. These are great stoves and look fantastic in the right setting.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Sonderskoven Inset

    Steve Paull 7 years ago

    We have fitted many of these and have received good reviews from customers. A properly fitted stove with an insulated flue or liner will not smoke into the room. These stoves are designed to
    go into an existing fireplace with minimal work, invariably replacing a standard 16" or 18" fire back. Conversely the fire bed is smaller than a traditional free standing stove, that's the trade off!
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Sonderskoen inset

    Steve Paull 7 years ago

    We have fitted many of these stoves, customer reports are all positive. Having read other reviews it would be prudent for owners to look at the installation and flue conditions, a properly installed
    appliance, invariable to an insulated liner would not cause smoking in the room.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Disappointed with my cleanburn sonderskoven.

    Mr Dowley 9 years ago

    The fire pit and ash pan is too small and shallow and does not burn up very well compared to my 30 year old stove i,ve removed.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames