WhatStove?

Jotul F 400 stove

Overall Rating:

3 flames

based on 18 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Jotul F 400 stove

The Jotul F400 stove is a wood burning stove - it is also available with a multi fuel kit for burning coal & smokeless fuel.

This stove is easy to recognise - it is quite wide and the door has a curved top.

It is available with lattice work on the door or plain glass.

Technical Data
  • Height: 727mm
  • Width: 670mm
  • Depth: 597mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3 flames
Ease of use 3 flames
Ease of lighting 3.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 2 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 2.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3 flames

Most Recent Review

  • jotul f400

    Pat Phillips 3 years ago

    Just recently fitted an f400. this was to replace a Morso Owl. the f400 is a really good stove. I burn seasoned wood and the stove has plenty of air supply. I find I am able to vary the heat
    output much easier than with the morso. It is the only heat source in an old cottage and every room is warm including upstairs. the big door allows for large logs to be used which keeps fire in all night. very pleased. The morso was also a good stove which will be put into outside office.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Jotul F400

    Jonathan Defrates 7 years ago

    I bought the stove at the end of September after a lot of research into buying my first log burner.For me the f400 is the GTI of log burners! It heats my timber framed Longhouse in Normandy
    completely. Rooms 15metres from the fire still feels its warmth. After being out for 11 hours I still have glowing embers to relight my kindling, after 8 hrs I could just put in small logs.The fire is well made feels solid. A bonus for me was the installers fitted a T shaped junction between the log burner and the flue pipe at the back of the log burner instead of an L.This means that to clean the flue I just unscrew the exposed end of the T and clean my flue pipe. Looks ugly but its practical and gives peace of mind to know the flue is "clean" between visits by the chimmney sweep. Great stove.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Jotul F 400 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Not getting better

    Robert Davies 4 years ago

    I have recently moved to a house with a Jotul F400. My initial experience exactly reproduces that experienced by Fergus 4 years ago. I have used smaller versions in the past that did not suffer
    these problems.Help

    Stove expert replied: You do not say what the problems are that you are experiencing so unable to advise specifically things to check. The installation is key and would be a good starting point along with having the chimney swept, making sure there is enough air in the room and the fuel is a good quality.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Jotul 400 Stice

    Rolfe Jaremus 5 years ago

    I have owned a black Jotul 400 for about 10 years now. I like it but have found it to be tricky to operate. One issue mentioned by many reviewers is the air flow. I assume that the slower air flow is due to the re-burner above the stove box. To avoid smoking, I only burn 2 year dried and split wood. I start with paper and small "sticks". I wait to add thicker wood until the sticks are burning quite well. Then add larger wood. Only open the door when the wood is well burned. Once the temp is up to 300 F I shut down the damper to about a quarter. For some reason the Stove will get nice and hot. To clear soot off the glass I get the temp up to 450+F this is no problem for me as our midwest temps get pretty cold and our country house has old windows. I do need to feed the fire at least once to get through the night but I've gotta get up anyway. Key thing is to load up the stove with thick dry oak or maple and turn down the damper to max Other than the occasional smoke issue which will happen if I have starting problems, I love the stove.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • cracking ceramic on f400 yotul

    Pat Gallagher 6 years ago

    after a few fires during 2014, two years after purchasing, I noticed top of stove, ceramic cracking and blistering in right hand top, far corner. I am careful with stove and have never dropped anything on it nor have I put anything on the top. What is happening? This was an expensive stove and the reason for purchasing model with ceramic finish was for 'pretty' finish as it is in more formal room.
    Overall rating:

    not yet rated

  • Jotul 400

    James Bailey 7 years ago

    I have had a Jotul 400 for 7 years. My experience is that stove is very sensitive to the layout of the flue. I had endless problems with smoke entering the room as soon as the door was opened
    and also smoke leaking out around the seals when lighting from cold. Initially the flue pipe went horizontally out of the back. Changing this to top exit orientation plus lining the chimney ( 6" double wall stainless) which is a 10 inch clay liner design, 7 meters, with 2, 45 bends has improved matters no end. An earlier stove, Villager with the flue again, straight out the back suffered no problems. Apart from that very satisfied.

    Stove expert replied: Different stoves can react using the same flue system due to the manufacturing process, style, flue diam etc.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • JOTUL F 400 WOOD STOVE

    OWEN BEAVER 7 years ago

    I WISH THAT I HAD FOUND THIS SITE, BEFORE I PURCHASED MY JOTUL F400. I AM IN TO MY SECOND WINTER WITH MY JOTUL AND IT IS KEEPING THE HOUSE CLOSE TO 70 WITH THE OUTSIDE TEMP AT OR BELOW ZERO.
    I HAD THE 1950'S FIREPLACE REFACED AND HAD THE SMOKE LEDGE OPENED UP TO MAKE THE JOTUL GO STRAIGHT UP WITH NO BENDS. I'VE HAD, RIGHT FROM THE START A "SMOKING" PROBLEM AND JOTUL IN ITS INSTALL MANUAL SAYS" CHIMNEY MUST BE 14' AND I HAD 12.5', PLUS THE PITCH OF MY ROOF TO THE CHIMNEY COULD BE A PROBLEM. I CHECKED THAT OUT AND THERE IS NO PROBLEM. SO I PURCHASED A 3' EXTENSION AND THAT HELPED PUT ME OVER 15' AND ON WINDY DAYS IT LET'S THE SMOKE GET OUT OF THE PIPE MORE FREELY. SO, THE ONE THING MY INSTALLERS DID NOT DO WAS WRAP INSULATION AROUND MY LINER AND NOW I AM THINKING THIS WOULD HAVE HELPED WITH MY DRAFT TO THE STOVE. WE NOW TRY TO FEED THE FIRE WHEN IT'S DOWN, BUT STILL THE SMELL OF SMOKE GOES THROUGH THE HOUSE. IT LOOKS LIKE I WILL HAVE TO TAKE THE JOTUL APART AND REDO IT FOR THE THIRD TIME. LAST YEAR I GOT THROUGH TO JOTUL AND LEFT A MESSAGE FOR HELP FROM A TECH. PERSON,,,,STILL WAITING. THE AREA REP. DID CALL, BUT MADE NO ATTEMPT TO COME BY AND SEE WHAT HE COULD DO. I HAVE SPENT £3,000 SO FAR AND IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF JOTUL COULD HAVE HELPED. I AM THINKING ABOUT HAVING THE TOP OF THE CHIMNEY MADE HIGHER BY ANOTHER 18 TO 24" AND THEN SEE IF IT HELPS. I HAVE WATCHED VIDEOS OF JOTULS AND OTHER STOVES WITH THE DOORS WIDE OPEN AND NO SMOKE. I HAD A WOOD STOVE BEFORE THE JOTUL, BUT EPA STANDARDS IT WAS NOT, SO I GOT THE F400. I WILL TRY AGAIN WITH JOTUL AND THEIR "CRICK IT" WEB SITE AND MAYBE, JUST MAYBE I WILL GET SOME HELP.

    Stove expert replied: Ask you installer for further advice or speak to a flue expert. May be an anti down-draught cowl is required.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Poor airwash

    Ian Sommerschield 7 years ago

    We had our F400 fitted 2 years ago and despite heeding all the advice about burning well-seasoned wood, using a moisture meter etc, the glass constantly gets black at both sides. I have also tried both the US plate and Euro plate. The stove looks good, is easy to light and control and well-built, but the poor airwash is a flaw.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Poor air wash

    Fergus 8 years ago

    We recently installed this elegant stove into our new sitting room. Positives The stove is reassuringly heavy and solidly build. The door handle is nicely designed and seals the door well. Ash pan is generous and despite claims by resellers that with wood only burning little ash will be generated regular (weekly) emptying of this is needed to prevent ash spilling out into the room when the Door is opened Heat output is about right and achieving the optimism heat range is easily achieved Negatives During startup it seems necessary to open the ash door to raz the flames. This results in rapid start-up but is a bit approximate and not controllable to much degree The ash pan in a stove of this price should really be stainless steel rather than cheap galv and design means that any spilt ash within the bay does not allow it to be removed easily. A backless pan would be a better design. The principal flaw however is the almost non existent air wash system. Initially we changed the fitted US plate for the EURO one believing that our uk geography required this. The manual with the stove was silent on this aspect. Having realised that something was wrong when the glass smoked up within 30 mins we spent an evening browsing the self help pages for an explanation only to discover that the euro plate was for smokeless fuel (thank you Jotul for further lack of clarity on this issue!). Having refitted the US plate the draft was clearly better through the 80 odd holes in the stove roof but the air wash for the glass seems unaffected. I had read that obscuring some of these holes will force greater quantities of air via the air wash and we will try that next. Jotul this would appear to be a design fault and needs rectifying. The stove seems unable to burn overnight even when almost fully damped and loaded with dry seasoned logs. These flaws have been overcome by other manufacturers, Clearview stoves do exactly what they say. Their simple twin adjustment with air wash system and raz bezel are a testament to good design. The glass stays clean and even with poor fuel recovers by raising the stove temperature for an hour or so despite the 2kW back boiler! Those looking for a quality wood burning stove look no further than Clearvies.. We've had a clearview for many years and love it. The construction whilst not cast iron is thick and of high quality. The advocates for cast iron stoves ought to be more open minded. Thick carbon steel seems to be perfectly suited to stove manufacture. The reason for changing to jotul for our other room was due to having had good experience with clearview and wrongly believing that a manurfacturer of Jotul's credentials would have reached similar levels of design and capability, also the perhaps rather rustic Clearview designs would be less suited to our more elegant sitting room. Unfortunately we now have an elegant ivory stove with no view of the flames and frankly something akin to a chocolate teapot. The stove suppliers clearly believe the hype from Jotul and are not especially helpful. Having looked forward to having a new log burner in our new living room for a year or so the result is especially disappointing.

    Stove expert replied: Disappointing review of the Jotul stove. Is there an airbrick in the room? The flue draw may be an issue and should be checked to insure that the stove can function correctly.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Follow up to smoke problem

    Daniel 9 years ago

    Had the installer come out to have a look. Yes the flue was blocked (tricky) the chicken wire we put around the flue to stop birds coming down the flue to nest build up debris because we were burning at low heat, (because of the mild weather) anyway I suggest those who have smoke coming out of there doors should clean their flue, once done the draw improved. Thanks to the expert who installed the heater. PS l learnt enough to now do it myself. Hope this helps

    Stove expert replied: Always give a stove a short period of fast burn (15 - 20mins) twice a day to insure that the residues produced during a slow burn period are burnt off and do not build up as this can cause chimney fires and smoking problems as described above. Regular checks should be made to see that the flue remains clear.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2