WhatStove?

hunter Herald 5 slimline stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 20 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
hunter Herald 5 slimline stove

The Hunter Herald 5 slimline is available as a wood or multi fuel model.

This stove is suited for a big fire place opening in a smaller room -

as the stove is quite big but is 5kw only in output.

You can have this model with a flat top or a low or high canopy -

this stove has a top or rear outlet for the flue pipe.

Technical Data
  • Height: 567mm
  • Width: 575mm
  • Depth: 344mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Very poor quality

    Caroline Clarke one year ago

    We bought our first hunter 5 slimline stove in 2013 and it was so good that after we moved house we decided to have the same again, unfortunately the new stove is not the same.The new stove
    took at least a week of burning to get rid of that new just painted fumey smell, within weeks the paint started to flake and has even rubbed off the door handle, this stove does not shut down to a slow burn like our previous one and after just one winter it looks like a cheap bit of tat. When we can afford to replace this stove it will not be for another Hunter model.

    Stove expert replied: As this is a new stove site the reason that the stove does not shut down may be down to the flue draw being excessive and this needs further investigation, if this is the case then the stove is not at fault. As you have had a problem with the paint soon after purchase, did you go back to the supplier for comment from Hunter under warranty?

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Hunter Herald 5 slimline

    Sarah Fowler 12 years ago

    This is my first and only wood burning stove, so I've nothing to compare it with - apart from the open fire that it replaced. I love it. Looks good and very neat in situ. Easy to light, easy
    to control the rate of burn, no tarry deposits left on the windows, provided that the ends of logs aren't pointed right at the glass or it's not closed completely when left to burn down, and any tar deposited in these situations burns off very quickly. Economic consumption of wood, too, despite being lit most mornings and every evening in cold weather, sometimes all day.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for hunter Herald 5 slimline stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Excellent stove

    Amanda Holdstock 2 years ago

    We bought this slimline stove for our apartment in the French Alps and it has proved to be an excellent choice. We had wonderful assistance from the online supplier who gave expert flue advice
    as well as great sales advice. Wonderful service.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • New stove

    Michael Bone 4 years ago

    We had this stove fitted a couple of days ago so a proper review will be coming in a few months. However after firing it up twice now to get it burned in and get rid of the smell of the wax/
    paint that needs to burn of I have to say how impressed I am with it. It couldn't be easier to light, a couple of firelighters and a bundle of kindling to start with. I have the bottom vents and the top vent open to get it going and the flue warmed up then after a few minutes put some logs on close the bottom vents right up. The top vent then closed to halfway for a nice steady burn. It heats our 5m x 3m breakfast room / kitchen no problem I can't wait for next winter :-)
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Seven years of service.

    4 years ago

    We had our multi fuel stove installed in 2009 and have been more than happy with the performance. Anyone not happy with a 5kw stove is not using it properly. It is starting to show it's age now but it's had so much use I can hardly complain. I recently replaced the fire rope seals and next year will need to replace the fire bricks.

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback for a stove giving good service.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Warm but not the best quality

    4 years ago

    Initially did nothing but make wood disappear, after fitting a damper it works fairly well to warm our small living room. Quality-wise they're not great - the paint on our doors peeled after our first real fire and then a couple of weeks after getting them back we've found that despite taking great care there's now lots of paint missing already. Note that the body is made from sheet steel so ours clangs and bangs very loudly when warming up and cooling down although is fine once up to temperature. The size looks great in most fireplaces but is annoying when it comes to log size, most that we've bought were too large to fit two in at a time... Not necessarily the stove's fault but as it is a slimline keep this in mind. For the money they're a nice looking stove but next time I'd spend more and get something with cast body and more than a single spray coat of paint.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Door handle

    Shaun Bainbridge 5 years ago

    The fire is very good the heat it puts out is amazing only problem I'm having is I've had it about 14 months now and the door handle keeps on slipping when I close the door I sometimes go to
    open the door and the handle just unloosens but it doesn't open the door so have to take of handle and open the door with some form of pliers put the handle back on then tighten it up and then the same happens again when I put any pressure on handle it just unloosens it self any idea to what I can do.

    Stove expert replied: Go back to your supplier for further assistance and if they are unable to advise how to overcome this see if you can get a replacement under warranty.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • hunter herald slimline 5

    John H 5 years ago

    just fitted the stove but there is just a metal base. It's a wood burning stove . Do I burn wood on the base of the stove or should there be a grate ?
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Good little stove

    Ryan High 5 years ago

    I had this stove fitted about a year ago and I have to be honest it's been excellent. It burns fuel quite efficiently and the heat it gives off is also very good. If there is one downside to
    mine it's that if it's really windy outside it can be a bit awkward to light and when lit it won't burn as well as if it was not so windy.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great stove poor heat

    Terry OCallaghan 6 years ago

    I love everything about this stove, but the heat output for the room size is not great. It says its a 5KW stove my room is only 3.30 cm. x 4.80 cm Height 2.90 It really has to be driven on
    to get the heat required, and I have tried all types of fuel.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Not so HOT Hunter

    Chris Verburg 7 years ago

    After Reading reviews here we chose a Hunter Herald Slimline stove. We've been using it for about a month now and the heat is decidedly disappointing. After reading reviews about the whole house being heated, or the downstairs I expected so much more. We've followed Instructions on lighting how to use it but it barely warms the room. We can get the fire going and put in our logs which start to burn well so we close the bottom vent, half close the top one and the fire goes out after about half an hour, if we leave the top vent open it makes no difference the fire just goes out leaving partial burnt logs. Are doing something wrong? Or are the reviews exaggerated? We've tried a number of different logs, hardwood last longer and the fire is hot to touch, but I'm sitting here in my coat! Would buying "proper" logs from someone like Certainly Wood help? Also the handle is faulty, though the fire door definitely does close.

    Stove expert replied: Is the flue lined? Is the wood being used dry and seasoned with a moisture content of less than 20%? If you leave the bottom vent open a little does this help to maintain the fires momentum or try leaving the top vent fully open with the bottom closed once the fire is established. Logs that are no bigger than 100mm (4inch) diam should be used. Is this is a room that is well insulated where little air circulates as an airbrick may be required (depends on insulation, double glazing, cavity wall insulation etc)

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2