WhatStove?

Firefox 5 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 75 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Firefox 5 stove
The Firefox 5 stove is a classic stove with a good view of the fire through the glass panel in the door.
Technical Data
  • Height: 560mm
  • Width: 412mm
  • Depth: 374mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • question really???

    Rebecca Mckenzie 5 months ago

    is it normal for the back of the log burner on the inside to crack?

    Stove expert replied: If you are referring to the liners that protect the body of the stove then these can crack, providing they are staying in place and protecting the stoves body they can be used with no ill effect. If however, you are referring to the metal of the stove body cracking then this is not normal as the liners should prevent direct heat to this area.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • GOOD STOVE

    John Daily 11 years ago

    Good stove for the money, But if i was to buy again i would spend a wee bit more and buy a morso or woodwarm for more efficience and control features as my two friends have one of each and
    i can see the difference in them.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Firefox 5 stove (page 1 of 8)

  • Smoking burner

    Gina Kopsis one year ago

    Why why why does my Firefox log burner pump thick smoke into my room? I've done all the suggested tricks of lightning kindling well before adding the log so burner is heated, used coal, even
    used a hairdryer to heat the inside of the burner and aimed it upright to rid any cold spots etc, when it works it's great but this is not good and it's happened several times before! Please help...!! Thanks

    Stove expert replied: As this is not a constant issue (it would appear from your text,) it could and is most likely due to the installation. If the stove is affected in windy conditions do you have an anti-down draught cowl on the flue? What height and diam. is the flue system? Is there adequate air in the room to allow combustion, is the flue top or rear and are there any bends in it? As this appears to be intermittent investigation on when it occurs should be carried out as thee is normally something that can be undertaken to eliminate this. A chimney fan perhaps! Has the chimney been swept recently, is the air way clear or is there debris restricting is?

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Disappointed

    Richatd Gibson 2 years ago

    Nice looking little stove. I did want a larger one but had to make do with this one for flue size. And was very happy. Blasts out some good heat. Looks pretty. But 1 year later I noticed when
    cleaning it. There is a large crack on the top. For a 1 year old stove which is hardly used is a little disappointing seen as I've only used logs and kindling in it. Such a shame.

    Stove expert replied: Castings rarely crack for no reason, it may be that you have inadvertently operated it on too high a temperature for a prolonged period. It is a shame though agreed.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Top damper and smell

    Giles Moston 2 years ago

    Hello thereI have just moved house and in the house there is a firefox 5 installed. It was fitted about 6 years ago and the house being empty for the last 2. I have lit the burner for the first
    time and noticed a smell similar to a plasticy smell. Also the top damper will only slide a bit either way, as if something is stopping it. It is the clean burn model. Anything to worry about? There is loads of heat off it and great to warm the room.

    Stove expert replied: Make sure that the chimney has been swept to ensure that the flue way is clear of any debris that may have fallen down the chimney. The stove should not cause any undue smells when hot after the paint curing process has taken place (normally a few firings after installation should complete this process). I am assuming that buy the top damper you are referring to the top air control. As this is a cleanburn model there will be a restrictor fitted that will prevent it from being able to shut completely, this maintains diluted flue gases to comply with the smoke controlled areas and makes this a Defra Approved model.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Problems 4 years later. Nothing but scrap now. :-(

    C Eyre 3 years ago

    As previous review from Andrew McIntyre, I've now got the same problem with my Firefox 5 stove as him. Had installed 4 years ago & up until now it has been a great little stove. 2 weeks ago I was cleaning the stove when all of a sudden there was a clank & something dropped down the back of the stove. On further investigation I found a large circle disk, which was the flue blanking plate from the back. The fixing lugs/prongs had snapped off the back casing & were attached to the plate along with the fixing bolts. You can see clearly that they have completely snapped off. Also there is meant to be some kind of rope attached to the plate, like the rope inside the stove door. But this has totally perished. I rang the company who fitted the stove & they have had a few other customers with the same problem. To fix the situation would mean stripping apart & would actually cost more in parts & labour, so the stove is now rendered useless. To be honest this will now be scrapped as I do not want to take any chances, as I would feel i''s not safe and would be worrying about fumes, carbon monoxide etc. There's an issue with rope inside door, as that too is becoming perished & dangling off the frame. The stove company who installed also told me they no longer sell Firefox stoves as they have had a fair few bad ratings & complaints. I have now done some online research which has thrown up a few people in the same boat as me & the previous poster. Which is a shame really as it was a great budget wood burner at the time.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Love these stoves.But!

    Andrew McIntyre 3 years ago

    We have two of these stoves, the first one for about 5 years. today whilst I was poking the logs I''d just lit, there was a loud ''clank'', I didn''t know where it came from at first till my
    wife who was standing to one side said "a disc has dropped off at the back"! On investigating, sure enough what I assume is the alternative rear flue outlet cover plate was laying on the floor at the back of the stove. I fished it out and saw that the fixing ''lugs'' which are part of the rear casting had both sheared off. As an engineer, and on examining this, it would appear that the fixing bolts had probably been tightened up too tight, and with the constant cooling and heating causing shrinkage and expansion they had fractured and finally given up. A fault in design I think, as a slightly larger diameter disc and simply tapped holes would have been a better idea. This is how I intend to repair it. Just something to be aware of.

    Stove expert replied: The hot plate that is used to blank off the flue outlet that is not being used, can come off over time, sometimes due to damp / moisture coming down the flue system, corrosion due to damp moist fuels being used and sometimes not having been installed correctly initially or where the fire cement has dried out that was used to hold it in place. Replacement parts are available but in this instance it appears you are able to overcome this.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Baffled by a problem with my classic 5

    Mike Boyle 3 years ago

    Can anyone helpHad my fire 2 years no issue or no problems then one day tried to open the door as the handle just kept going round and round so could not open it. Ordered a new complete handle
    kit got it fitted and it worked fine till the next day same thing handle just kept going round and round completely baffled me and the guy that was fixing it and help I thought it might be heat related as it was always the next day after the fire was on but just don''t know getting really frustrating now

    Stove expert replied: This seems very strange, the locking mechanism should prevent it from turning round completely unless something has happened with the door opening. When tightly fitted the handle and lock should only turn enough to open the door. Sorry I do not have any specific advice to give regarding this problem.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • FIRE BAR PROBLEM

    KATHARINE DONNELLY 3 years ago

    MY FIRE BAR AT FRONT OF STOVE THAT KEEPS COAL IN HAS SUDDENLY STOPPED FITTING INTO THE SLOTS IT GOES INTO ANY IDEAS WHYALSO THE HANDLE YOU USE TO SHAKE COALS AND ASHES IS STUCK SOLID CANNOT
    USE I HAVE TRIED WD40 NO JOY

    Stove expert replied: Has the bar become distorted which is preventing it locating in the stove? When you clean the stove out can you see any small pieces of fuel or distortion to the grate system which is preventing it from moving. Does the stove operate with a steady flame picture or is it burning vigorously? If it is burning hard the flue draw may be excessive and a damper or stabilizer may be required to gain better control. Smokeless fuels can be used on the stove but not household coal, if you have been burning coal then this may have caused some distortion to the internal parts that are giving the problems that are being described.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Firefox 5 Enamel

    Catherine C.senger@sussex.ac.uk 3 years ago

    We've bought a dark brown enamel version of the Firefox 5 about 3/4 years ago and it's still going strong. We use it quite a lot and at times had it on for days on end. Admittedly the enamel
    has acquired a hairline crack on the top plate and the burner can go through fuel at an alarming rate but overall it's been a good purchase. That said it's our first burner. We really love the big window. With regards to the burning rate I always wondered whether it would help to convert the burner to wood fuel only as we don't use coal. Or is that not going to make a difference to the fuel consumption? If recommended would we need to get the installer in or is it easy to convert the burner ourselves? We have found the kit but no useful instructions (pictures/video?) anywhere to help with the conversion.

    Stove expert replied: The wood conversion kit should be something that you can undertake, it will mean removing the grate system and slotting in a wood tray. Have you checked the seals as this can lead to the stove being less controllable and then lead to overheating and hence cracking of the stove casing.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Crack on top plate.

    Liam Rabbitte 4 years ago

    Does this stove have a five year warranty. I am in Ireland. It''s a great stove but not happy the top has a Crack I got stove on 2/9/14

    Stove expert replied: These stoves come with a 12 months warranty so is no longer covered by the warranty I'm afraid. I would not recommend continued use of this stove now.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8