WhatStove?

Firefox 8 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 59 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Firefox 8 stove

The Firefox 8 is an 8.9kW cast iron stove which can burn wood or coal.

Technical Data
  • Height: 607mm
  • Width: 566mm
  • Depth: 363mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Firefox 8 wood burning stove.

    Lewis Burton 10 months ago

    I thought I would give it a few years until i wrote a review of my stove. It's been in constant use throughout the cold months for two years now. This stove has not missed a beat. Easy to fire
    up, easy to regulate and it really does pump out some heat. Can't say a bad word about it. We have no central heating but this little beauty has kept our two bed cottage nice and toasty. I honestly would rate the higher than most of the popular brands. Yes it's made in China. So what, this stove works perfectly. I would highly recommend the brand, and would definitely buy another one if I move house.

    Stove expert replied: Sounds like your stove is doing a grand job for you Lewis. Nice to hear. :)

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Firefox 8 Stove

    NVB 11 years ago

    We have recently had a Firefox 8 Stove fitted in our dining room. We paid just under £400 for it and found it excellent value for money. Ease of use is fab and it gives off a great amount
    of heat.....and our house is exceptionally cold! We haven't left it burning overnight yet as it sets off the sensor on the house alarm due to the heat coming from it!The only downside I have found so far (and this is incredibly petty!) is that the lip just below the door is a nightmare to sweep ash from. It should come with a warning that it turns you into a recluse as I don;t want to leave the house now when it's on :-)
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Firefox 8 stove (page 1 of 6)

  • FIREFOX 8 CLEAN BURN

    Stephen Foster 10 months ago

    I've since learned the law is changing in 2022 and you can only Buy a SIA Stove? Does anyone know or has anything been said about the stoves already installed i.e. what will happen to them?
    Would you be forced to upgrade to SIA in 2022?

    Stove expert replied: What a great review Stephen. Some useful feedback for Firefox there - it sounds like, if they agree with your suggestions, that some minor mods would improve this stove a bit. I will feed that back to them. It sounds like you may have strong chimney draw which would make the controls not seem that responsive. It might be worth looking at what sort of cowl you are using on top of the chimney. In terms of the SIA question - it's not an SIA only stove that comes in in 2022. From 2022 newly manufacturered stoves need to comply with EcoDesign legislation, although stoves already in stock that do not comply can still be sold until stocks run out. This sets a minimum efficiency as well as limits on emissions, NOX and OGC. It's an EU-wide policy which the UK plans to also adopt after Brexit. The SIA (Stove Industry Alliance) are running another scheme which aims to go further than the EcoDesign legislation. This is a star rating - as yet it isn't part of UK policy as far as I know, but it may become so. There is no plan that I know of to make these legislative changes apply retrospectively. I'd personally like it if the ban on open fires in cities/Smoke Control Areas was actually enforced, and a scrappage scheme put in place for older stoves - because open fires, old stoves, and garden bonfires are likely to represent the lion's share of emissions. There's currently little appetite for that type of legislative change - I have argued for it and will continue to. Thanks for a great review! Sune

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Firefox 8 rusting!

    Lauren Hillary one year ago

    Hi, I've been living in my house for almost a year and have only turned on the gas stove probably 4 times the whole time I've lived here. Mainly because I never felt like it gave off enough heat! Anyway, the previous owners were in the house for 3 years and refurbished it all, so I reckon the stove has probably been in the house a short while. I noticed 2 weeks ago that rust is starting to appear along the bottom edges on the left and right side of the stove (above the legs it sits on) and along the top of stove where it's connected to the flue where some kind of crumbly paste has been applied around to connect them. Could it be from the heavy rain we've had in the U.K. the last week? It actually looked wet along the right side of the stove and the rust is really noticeable - surely rust wouldn't appear that quickly?! The model is 944 if that helps?! Can anyone recommend a good matte polish to cover it up? Is this normal? I also have no idea if it's even been serviced as no history has been left I have no idea if anyone still checks this??! Thank you.

    Stove expert replied: The stove should be serviced annually by a gas safe engineer so this would be a good starting place and he can re fill the flue connection as required. If water is getting down the flue system this should also be investigated and work undertaken to prevent in the future. There will be spray paint that can be purchased to cover affected areas once they have been cleaned and prepared, do mask the surrounding area to prevent further damage.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Best thing we ever did

    Jeff Robinson 5 years ago

    Gallery firefox 8 cost £400 fitting £700 with 904 flue down draft & bird guard signed off by Hetas Engineer. Did all dirty work myself. The fire is great can't get round it for grandkids,had 4 small fires to break it in boy does that paint stink or what on a big fire. Handle gets hot, ash tray is easy to clean, good airwash system, bottom air vents allows simmering when you shut it off and turning the knob clockwise to seal it a 20 kilo bag of stove fuel mixed-up with logs about 2 Barrows full lasted 5 days. Only using gas for hot water now so saving lots of money. I fitted a small air vent in floor, a carbon monoxide alarm is required for these. Warm air rises slowly to the top of stairs after about 4 hours. I put a closure plate in with hadibacker cement board so you don't loose any heat up the chimney. It's cold and foggy out side 2300 hrs I'm sat in my shorts 3 logs burning down how can you beat that. I've had logs split and drying out for 18 months conifers need a good 2 year's no tar and hardly smokes. My wife now makes the fire she's happy I'm happy.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • fire fox 8

    Matthew Eteson 5 years ago

    Had this fire for 2 years and it has split and the cast has cracked. I would not buy one again, they are cheap and made in china but nonetheless I can't recommend them due to what has happened
    . Very disappointed.
    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • firefow 8 top adjustment never worked

    John Pollock 5 years ago

    Great wee fire but the lever at the top doesn't move. I am assuming it is for adjusting the flue but it doesn't move or do anything. Is it supposed to?
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • 2nd firefox 8

    Darren Mole 5 years ago

    I'm in the process of fitting our second firefox 8. the first one is in the conservatory, the second one is going in the dining room. During the winter last year we only had the one in the conservatory and found it to be fantastic. Snow on the ground outside and me sitting inside with a pair of budgie smugglers on feeling toastie warm. The burner in the conservatory heats the living room as well with ease. Fitting another one in the dining room will hopefully heat the dining room and kitchen, and combined I'm hoping they will heat the upstairs too. Apart from looking good, they work perfectly, apart from the two fire bricks at the back cracking down the middle, which doesn't affect the burner at all. I've got an MDF skirting running along the back of the hearth in the dining room, does anyone know the safe distance from the stove this needs to be? I don't really want to remove it.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Firebricks

    Fions Mac 5 years ago

    My parents have been very pleased with the Firefox 8 stove, but now having great difficulty fitting in the new replacement firebricks. Is there an easy solution to this or does it require
    a trained expert?
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Fab stove and would recommend.

    Tom Cook 6 years ago

    Only had the stove installed for 1 winter and have loved getting to know it. At first it wasn't giving out much heat and eating wood like you would believe. Installing a flue damper has solved
    this problem somewhat. This year I'm wondering about leaving it as a multifuel stove or converting it to wood only. This winter the fire has been lit most of the time and has seen us use about 9 tonne bags of hard wood over 6 months. Any advise appreciated? The build quality is good and would recommend it.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Door jam

    Jo Peter 6 years ago

    Really like my Firefox woodburner. However a log has become lodged behind the lock on the inside making it impossible to open the door. Any solutions appreciated!
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6