WhatStove?

Clearview 650 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 30 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Clearview 650 stove

The Clearview 650 stove is available in many colours.

It has 2 doors with a curve on the outside top edgeof the glass .

The measurements stated are for the flat top version - you can also have a low or high canopy model.

The Clearview 650 is available with a multi fuel kit and you can also have a smoke control kit for wood burning in a smokeless area.

A direct air supply is also available with Clearview stoves.

Technical Data
  • Height: 703mm
  • Width: 625mm
  • Depth: 440mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Can''t fault it.

    Gary Walker 4 years ago

    Installed this stove in my house upon moving in, over four years ago. I chose the 650 because in the bungalow I previously lived in, I''d installed a Clearview 500 and it was the envy of everyone who sat in front of it. My 650 is fed with air from a fire brick and has about 30 feet of draw. I share business premises with an export packer and therefore have an inexhaustible supply of softwood. I have actually overnighted this stove with only softwood, by packing it to the rafters before turning in for the night. I probably added 5lb of creosote to the chimney, but hey, theories must be tested. It''s a hot stove and a clean burning one. At 500 deg F, the smoke from the chimney is definitely "there''s a new Pope". I prefer to burn a softwood/hardwood hybrid load and once up to temperature with only the cold wash open, it''s my pleasure to damper the vent down until the stove allows just enough oxygen in to cause that mesmerizing condition where multi coloured flames sporadically billow downwards from the top of the combustion chamber. Reading some of the critical reviews here, I would implore those reviewers to ensure they have; Sufficient draw. Good seals. Dry wood. If these conditions are met, there''s no reason you shouldn't experience a first class stove with a 650.

    Stove expert replied: Do remember to give short periods of fast burn at least twice during every 24hr period of use to burn off the tar residues that occur in prolonged slumbering mode. These periods of fast burn should be 15 - 20mins and no more.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • clearview 650

    John 12 years ago

    A stove that is grossly overpriced with mediocre quality. The stove quality is poor the stove was delivered with rust coming through the paintwork with thin plate steel sides. There are a lot
    better quality stoves on the market for a cheaper price. When seals go on the doors,ash pan it is very difficult to get a decent seal. The interior fittings are poor and need frequent replacement.I have been very disapointed with this stove. The Charnwood replacement is in a different class. In summary overpriced poor quality and inefficient in all its functions
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

More reviews for Clearview 650 stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Clearview pioneer stove

    Tim Miller 4 years ago

    Had this stove in our front room since 2005. Previous experience of Clearview in 2 houses made this decision easy, Great stove, easy to light and control. Will always be as good as the care
    you put into it so regular chimney cleaning and replacement of fire bricks, baffle etc keep it running at full efficiency.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Poor SERVICE

    4 years ago

    We had this stove fitted and we had a problem with it over heating and roaring. We had little confidence in our fitter after he removed the chimney lining, on this second visit.. He did not
    replace it. Now we have problems with the room filling with smoke. l have contacted Clearview and was given a number for a service engineer. Nearly one week later and lots of telephone calls l still have no appointment date for an experienced engineer. l spoke to one who told me to ring back the next day as he didn't have a diary with him. I did so at the time that l was told only to get another answer phone. Still no joy. We have another clear view stove which is very efficient and have never had a problem with it. I didn't find the staff helpful when l rang the office.

    Stove expert replied: Not sure why a liner would be removed and this could be part of the smoking problem now being experienced. A liner will keep the flue gases warm and increase the lift of gases away from the stove. Contact a Hetas engineer who should be able to re-install the stove as per the manufactures guidelines. I would suggest getting a flue draw test done to check that the draw on the chimney with a liner does not exceed those recommended - a damper or stabilizer will give further control should either be required.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Great Stove

    4 years ago

    Had our 650 high canopy for 25 years. Extremely pleased with it. Very fuel efficient, easy to use once you know it and understand your wood. Replaced some ropes and rear fire brick a few times
    . Repainted twice and definitely doesn't look its age.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Longevity

    4 years ago

    Ours was installed almost 20 years ago to the month and we remain very pleased with it. Installed by a local specialist, it has had three changes of rope seals and two changes of the internal
    firebricks - but such maintenance is only to be expected. It is robust, very nicely engineered, and gives exceptional performance. The airwash works well keeping glass cleaning to a minimum, and the burn too is remarkably clean. I sweep the chimney once a year because it is the *done* thing, but the resulting debris does not even half fill a breakfast mug. Were we to move house and be unable to take the 650 with us, we would buy another Clearview in a heartbeat. I only wish we had opted for the flat top, rather than the low canopy, since it would look less bulky in our fireplace - but then again with less radiating area the flat top would probably marginally trim efficiency.Well done Clearview!

    Stove expert replied: A great review for 20 years of service with little maintenance as well!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Never would have anything eles.

    Naomi Darling 5 years ago

    After many years of many stoves in many rented properties, my last rental property had a clearview 500. I feel in love with it so very efficient easy to use, never really had to relight just
    keep going all winter, it was a big open plan 3 bedroom house and it warmed the whole house up no need for oil central heating, The house went up for sale so I had to move, could only find another big detached house with open fire place. So asked if I could put a clearview in - the answer was yes, I found a 650 for bargain price of £400 lined chimney and installed, it has transformed the big old damp house into a warm dry cosy house. I swear by my clearview and wouldn't be able to live without it.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • A stove from heaven

    Paul Murray 6 years ago

    Bought this stove 4 years ago after doing quite a bit of research on a stand alone burner, having had a couple of wood burners with built in back boilers and acquired some knowledge and experience
    . So, after four rather long and cold winters I can say it has without any shadow of doubt been brilliant. It burns nicely and cleanly, very easy to control, I load it up at night and shut down the air intake come morning open it up and through another log on and it is roaring within minuets. I boil the kettle on it, with the aid of a couple of different size trivets cook on it. A casserole put on top in the morning is nicely cooked by evening.Couldn't recommend it more, the only down side it that it doesn't come cheaply, but would still buy another.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Update

    Peter Mahaffey 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Excellent Stoves

    ChrisandZoe 8 years ago

    Finally , a warm house thanks to clearview stoves and the supplier. We have lived in a large house for the last 14 yrs, dreading every winter. At last no more, the Clearview Stoves are excellent ( we now have 4 ), we didn't use the Oil Central Heating all winter season, for the first time ever. Easy to use stoves, very little cleaning, and easy on the eyes. I would recommend the stove to everyone, the 650 is very easy to use with big log space. But we love all the stoves we've had fitted from the Clearview range, simply the best !
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Nice stove, shame it gets too hot and gobbles up the logs.

    LIONEL WHITCHURCH 8 years ago

    We bought this stove in 1998, never having owned a wood burner before. A friend of ours had an identical model and we liked the look of it, so we bought one for our house in France. It is still going well and we still think it looks great. It is incredibly easy to light and takes good sized logs. However, we have one problem with it and that is it burns too hot and romps through logs even with both vents closed. I spoke with somebody at Clearview who asked had we changed the door and ash can seals and when I told her we had, she said we probably needed a damper for the flue, especially if our chimney is long and straight, with a tall stack. It is, so I fitted a damper but it hasn't made any real difference. It's weird as the stove seems to burn quietly and steadily throughout the day, but at night when we want it to tick away slowly throughout the night, it almost becomes an inferno even though everything, including the damper is closed. A friend down the road has two Clearviews but doesn't have the problem we have.

    Stove expert replied: It seems very strange that control is possible during the day but not at night even with a damper installed. I would recommend further investigation of the flue and do check that the seals have been put on the stove in the correct place. Try shutting a piece of paper between the door and the body of the stove, if this can be pulled put when the door is shut then the rope is not sealing properly.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3