WhatStove?

Charnwood Island I stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 20 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood Island I stove

The Charnwood Island I is a small 2-6kw stove, it has two doors and sits on 4 legs. The grate can be converted for multifuel use using the lever on the side of the stove. The stove has an air control button on the front of the stove under the doors which controls the fire.

Technical Data
  • Height: 578mm
  • Width: 535mm
  • Depth: 312mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Charnwood Island 1

    B Meetca 3 years ago

    This is our first ever stove which we've had for nearly 6 years. Our room is 3.8 x 8m with an open arrangement and we have never been let down with the amount of heat this little stove chugs
    out. Lighting is simple and the operation is great, even for overnight burning, we turn the grate to half open and slightly open the inlet air wash system and it's still warm in the morning. Cleaning is simple with a large ash pan which easily pops out and in again. Lovely stove.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Charnwood Island 1

    Becca 10 years ago

    Very easy to light, easy to use with minimal fuss. No gadgets and gizmos just simple controls, pull out/push in for air control and side to side for riddling and multi fuel burning.Have only
    burnt Kiln Dried logs, which although may appear an expensive option, when taking into account seasoned wood will take at least 2 to 4 years to be anywhere near moisture content for optimum heat. You would be burning at least three times amount of seasoned wood to kiln dried to try to achieve same heat output, whilst paying in weight for moisture in wood, messing up your flue and blackening your glass. On working out costs and weighing up pros and cons there appears to be little in it,so will continue with Kiln Dried Logs, buying in summer for best deals.This stove does exactly what you want with minimal fuss. Only downside, it is a little more expensive than competitors but it is supporting the British economy not the Swedish, French etc. To quote 'you get what you pay for' and 'buy cheap buy twice'All in all we love our Stove. A million times better than the gas flame effect, no heat option we have replaced. With Gas prices on the rise we couldn't be happier with our Multifuel Stove, many thanks Charnwood.

    Stove expert replied: Value for money all in all. Great feedback. Comments on fuel very interesting.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood Island I stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Island 2

    Mark Meleady 3 years ago

    We have this stove for years. Very easy to use. The only downside we have is that the Air control has never worked. It makes no difference if you push it in fully or pull it out. It burns fuel
    at the same fast rate. I have checked the doors and had them resealed but no improvement. Any suggestions?

    Stove expert replied: Have you had the flue draw taken as this may be making the stove work hard with little response from the air controls? You will use a lot of fuel for the heat that is generated as it is being sucked out of the stove more quickly than it should if the draw is excessive.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Waste of money

    4 years ago

    I had this stove installed 1 week ago. Despite following the instructions on lighting and running the fire the room just does not get warm at all. I am using kiln dried wood and lots of if but
    the heat from the stove does not warm the room at all. I now have 2 fans on the stove which are supposed to circulate the air out into the room but these have made absolutely no improvement. I'm so disappointed, I've stopped using it as it feels like I've been gimmicked. I've told the installer and he has told me to go back and talk to the dealer where I bought the stove. If anyone has any suggestions that would be really helpful. I'm at the point where I want it removed and my money refunded such is the disappointment from this.

    Stove expert replied: This model should be producing and average of 5kW and depending on the room size should make a noticeable difference. I would discuss this with the supplier but it is unclear who suggested this stove - supplier or installer. Was the chimney lined? How much space have you round the stove? Is the stove working hard and not producing heat or is it sluggish? Your installer should be able to do a flue test to check that it matches the requirements suggested by the manufacturer. Check the manual to ensure that you are operating the controls as suggested and perhaps get a stove thermometer. Persevere as I am sure there will be something that can be done to improve the performance.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great stove!

    4 years ago

    Had this brilliant multifuel stove installed 3 years ago. It took me 4 weeks reviewing/ ringing round for advice. I also rang yourself and must say that this is the best site so far for help
    and advice. Best thing about this stove is ease of use and cleaning.the riddling grate has a very good design allowing quick and easy cleaning which I really appreciate as I have seen other good stoves that don't have this design. airflow control is brilliant as its done with 1 control knob. Looks brilliant and very good quality. The stove can also be serviced very easily which really helps. My brother had a Stovax installed... Good stove but I think this Charnwood island 1 is preferred by both of us.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • DELIGHTED

    Richard Hotston 5 years ago

    I was recommended this stove by our local (small) retailer. It is well made, easy to start, easy to control with the one knob and seems very efficient. I use a bed of SuperTherm briquettes as a base below the logs (kiln-dried). I also use 2 fans on top of the burner either side of the flue, to gently blow the heat outwards instead of most of it going upwards.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Worth every cent

    Julian Popple 6 years ago

    I am an 'ex-pat' living in Cape Town and whilst we enjoy mild winters compared to the UK, the houses are not built for the cold and lack decent heating. I inherited my home with a large cast
    iron stove from China ('rated' at 14KW). I installed a second stove - Island I (7KW max) - in a second lounge where our TV was sited. The cost of the Island I was just short of double the cost of the much larger Chinese product so I had every reason to be sceptical that I would feel a strong sense of good value for money. However, my extra investment paid off. Whilst the Chinese product crudely does the job, the refinements on the Island I, were really worth the extra money. The air in take is very easy to use. I successfully conducted an over-night burn (unable to with my other stove). Heat resistant handle did its job (none with the other stove). I also went with the cream (Charnwood call it 'Almond'). Yes, I did pick up dirt marks but I was made aware of this prior to purchase and supplied with a can of 'touch-up' should I need it. I am also very chuffed with the output on this little stove. I feel like I am getting 'what it says on the tin' and it seems to perform as well as the much higher rated larger stove. All in all, it was a winner for me! PS, I had to pay in 'Rands' (18 to the pound)!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Pricey stove, poor output and cream finish disappointing

    Jane Poretsis 6 years ago

    Should have been delighted with the amount this cost, but it does not work as well as the other stove I have that was a Fireline, and 1/2 the price! I operate both with lots of clean dry well
    -seasoned wood and yet the Charnwood does not burn as well, nor give out as much heat. The cream paint discolours and has to be re-touched, all in all a lot of money for a mediocre stove.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Charnwood-Island I

    Sue Flower 7 years ago

    A LOVELY FIRE,EASY TO USE, ONLY FITTED END OF OCTOBER 2013-but neighbours were complaining of the strong smell of smoke. Have had it serviced last month. Neighbours still complaining so had
    to stop using it. CAN YOU PLEASE ADVISE.

    Stove expert replied: Get the installer back to check all is well, you may need to extend the flue. Is the flue lined? An alternative cowl may also help to solve this but further investigation is required.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Charnwood Island 1 - Excellent Performance

    Peter Jones 7 years ago

    Fantastic stove, purchased seven years ago and with very heavy usage is still working as new, extremely easy to use, excellent build quality and performance, good customer care from Charnwood
    .

    Stove expert replied: What a great review!

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Charnwood Island 1

    David Smith 7 years ago

    Just purchased an Island 1 (Charnwood). Fantastic looking woodburner, easy to light and gives of great heat with kiln dried logs. Only down side is there is no advice in the instructions about
    the use of having the griddle in the 'open' position. It only describes use of the griddle in the 'closed' position when lighting. Any ideas for the 'open' setting??

    Stove expert replied: Open grate are normally used when smiokeless fuels are used as an unde draught is required, the closed grate is for wood so that the ash can build up on it nd wood burns best with an over draught.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2