WhatStove?

Charnwood c4 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 29 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood c4 stove

This Charnwood stove is available in wood or multi fuel -

with or without a store stand.

You can use a rear flue connection kit in order to take flue out of the back of the stove but still be able to sweep through stove.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Regrettable buy

    Karen Lloyd 2 years ago

    I was advised by my installer that the Charnwood 4 would be a good buy for my home office. I''ve had it three years, have had the installer and seller out numerous times. First they extended
    the flu - twice - until it was 4 metres, but no difference. In accordance with other reviews on this site, the stove does not stay in when lit. I''ve had loads of advice - I''m sure it''s not just me. I really regret not doing more research and paying a bit more for a decent stove.

    Stove expert replied: What a shame that you are disappointed in your purchase. A short flue can be problematic but as this has been lengthened does not appear to be the case in this instance, unless it is mainly single skin and not insulated. Is there enough air in the space for combustion to occur? Is the fuel dry and well seasoned and with a moisture content of less than 20%?

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Brilliant Stove

    Deb 8 years ago

    I have come into stoves with no knowledge whatsoever. I was looking for something that would keep ambient temp ticking over whilst at work & maybe a boost of the central heating when I got home. For the last few years I have kept heating to the minimum to save money & also very aware that the gas could be switched off at any time depending on the political situation. I fill it with smokeless fuel before bed & before leaving for work.There are always enough embers to kick it off again. I have, since Sept, when it was installed, only had 8 times when I've needed to put the central heating on in the evening, because bathroom & bedroom were parky.. At the weekends I put logs on & get a roaring heat fast. It's not cheap with fuel. But I would never have my central heating running for the time that the stove runs. Plus I am never cold. I have a 2 bedroomed flat on the first floor. So all you flat dwellers can do this too. Although from the first floor, bear in mind dragging fuel up the stairs can be a pain. But I have to say I thoroughly enjoy the cleaning & refuelling part. All in all a brilliant piece of kit, plus I cook casseroles on the top. Most importantly, my dogs love it, they are in danger of being singed... I really can't recommend this highly enough. If I can work it, anyone can!!!!.......
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood c4 stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Worrying failure

    Ruth Cutts 2 years ago

    We inherited this three year old woodburner when we moved house. Our previous woodburner (not a Charnwood) at our home in Devon was still going strong with no issues after 16 years. Last night
    this stove suffered a major failure where the back plate fell forward as the retaining nut and bolt fractured. The throat plate fell behind the back plate. On taking it all apart today when it all cooled down, it is clear that the back plate is very warped and cannot be reseated correctly. Never seen a warp like this on a woodburner. Very dangerous failure. Will be contacting the manufacturer when they reopen on Monday morning. Having read about the same issues from other reviews, we are now looking for a safe replacement woodburner.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Poor qualitiy inner plates

    Chris Wilford 3 years ago

    Had this stove 5 years now. After the first year the inner back plate buckled. Tried to have replaced under warranty, they wouldn't do this. They said it was my fault for running it too hot.
    Paid for a replacement. Again almost a year and half later the replacement had buckled. I have been living with this for now, not sure if it affects performance. I have had Morso stoves before & never had this issue. Running too hot really?

    Stove expert replied: Yes a stove can run too hot, this may be due to operator error or an over-drawing flue that prevents the stove from being able to slumber. The stove would run with a fast flame even when all controls are in the closed position, it will use a lot of fuel for little output of heat. This continuous high heat can buckle and distort the metal of the stove.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Dirty glass

    Ruth Harme 3 years ago

    I''ve had this stove for two years now and I love everything about it EXCEPT the fact I can''t keep the glass clean. It only keeps a middle ''v shape'' clean and the sides get dirty. I thought
    I was doing something wrong but from internet research and seeing photos of other stoves, other users have also had this identical problem - it''s like the air wash only works in the middle. If this is not a problem to you then this stove is great, if it would annoy you (like it annoys me) then do not buy this stove. It is possible to keep the glass clean if you use bone dry wood and keep the heat high but as soon as you use coal or let the temperature drop the V shape appears. Every day I use it I find myself wishing I''d bought a different stove. As I said - great in every other respect but just not for me.

    Stove expert replied: Please note that house hold coal should not be used on these stoves only smokeless fuels are recommended.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Best stove I’ve ever owned.

    Alan Krasno 3 years ago

    The C4 is a mid price smaller stove but the quality is faultless. It can be controlled with one push lever with a clear click for each setting. One match and in a few minutes you've a roaring fire. If you're too hot a push on the lever and the fire subsides. To refuel the handle is wooden which sounds odd but you can open and close the door without gloves if you take care. The window is large but in proportion to the stove which looks contemporary but fits with a traditional setting such as mine. I went for the mutifuel so I can have an ash pan to make cleaning easier and it's great for logs about 10 inches long. Yes. Definitely the best stove I've ever used or seen.

    Stove expert replied: Great review

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Very poor wood burning stove

    Dave Sabin 4 years ago

    Within the first few months of use the back plate buckled badly. The stove was certainly not overrun, the plate is too thin - anyone with basic engineering knowledge will tell you that it is
    constructed from rolled plate that is too thin to resist warping due to internal stresses in the metal during rolling. In addition the plate is held in the back of the stove by a small nut and bolt that becomes almost impossible to undo and again is under engineered for the task in hand. If the plate cannot be removed then the stove cannot be cleaned properly by your sweep which will lead to the air control failing to work - effectively it acts like it is on minimum burn on all 3 settings. This is a very poor stove, badly designed with the use of poor materials. Other reviewers indicate that Charnwood are unhelpful, quite frankly I haven't tried as I am so disappointed with the stove. I have had installed in the last year in a small office a different stove made in the UK - it is smaller and puts the Charnwood C4 to shame. It has made me realise how poor the stove is and I will be changing it for a different manufacturer as soon as possible.

    Stove expert replied: First port of call with any warranty issue is with the supplier who your contract has been made with when purchasing the stove, they should act on your behalf with the manufacturer during the warranty period. It is a shame that you have not given Charnwood the opportunity to assist you with this as each case will be considered on their own merit.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Really pleasd!

    5 years ago

    I have owned the Charnwood C4 for 2 winters now. The first winter it was my only heating in a 3 bedroom large stone built cottage! I am very pleased with it . Quick to get up to temperature
    if you keep the door ajar for 15 minutes or so and use smaller logs for the first hour. I recommend you buy a stove thermometer. So much easier to use than my previous cast iron Yeoman. I have has no issues with paint peeling or warping or construction. Once the door wouldn't shut but I just waited a few minutes for the stove to heat up and it shut easily! I would definitely recommend and am considering buying another one for my other living room.

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments, wood of less than 4" diam is recommended on closed appliances to get the most efficient / effective burn.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Elegant, clean-burning and efficient stove

    Daniel Bebber 5 years ago

    The Charnwood 'C' range strikes the right balance between 'modern' and 'cottage' look, not too square and not too curvy. It took me a while to get used to the method of getting this stove going
    (keep the door open a crack for at least 5 minutes, to get proper draw). You can burn any wood in here as long as its properly dry (softwood is great). I sweep my own flues and there's very little soot, as this is so efficient. Air control is easy, there is one control. The windows stay nice and clean, if they soot up a bit just whack it up to max and they'll clean off quickly. This is installed in our 5m x 7m kitchen and can heat the room perfectly. I also have the big brother C5 which is a beast...so much heat!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Could be better.

    Anna Johnston 5 years ago

    This is our third wood stove in different homes and was recommended by the installer. It's a nice looking stove but there are a couple of annoyances which means we wouldn't recommend it. Notably
    that it make a very loud vibration noise if there is too much draught through - we believe this is caused by a design fault as our installer has seen it at another installation. The other irritation is that there is only one air control and no ash drawer. On a plus side the stove seems efficient, if not as controllable as others, and the wooden handle is a great way to reduce the need for gloves.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Great stove

    Kim Fahey 5 years ago

    Having done lots of research mainly from this site, we went for the Charnwood C4 stove. This is now our second winter and we are delighted with it. We use logs only on our fire. It is extremely
    easy to light, and throws out lots of heat. Tips to pass on are:- Use a stove thermometer, this means you can tell easily when the correct temperature is reached and the air wash works well, keeping the glass clean. Once you start to let the fire die down you will get some sooting of the glass, but this leads us to the next tip which was left on another review on this site, to clean the glass, use wet kitchen roll dipped into the cold ash to rub on the glass, then finish with dry kitchen roll, it works a treat!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3