WhatStove?

Woodwarm Fireview 6KW Flat top stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 23 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Woodwarm Fireview 6KW Flat top stove
The Fireview 6kw multifuel stove is a steel stove with cast iron fittings.  A boiler can be fitted for hot water and central heating. There is an optional low or high canopy that can be fitted as well as a pedestal or plinth. The maximum log length for the Fireview 6 is 368mm.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Faultless

    Ruth Cutts 2 years ago

    We had a 6kw fireview in our home in Devon for 16 years. It was truly excellent. The only thing replaced in all these years were the fireboards and one new door handle. Airwash worked well and
    it is a simple but incredibly well engineered stove. If only we could buy one in Spain where we live now.

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments. I am sure that you could get one transported to Spain if this is the stove that you require. Transportation is not an issue these days with many carriers making routine deliveries to European countries.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Woodwarm 6.5Kw Multi-fuel Stove

    Colin Fitt 12 years ago

    This stove does everything the manufacturer claimed. The airwash system works well, we only have to rub a piece of newspaper over the glass before lighting and it's clean again. I recommend
    these stoves to all prospective purchasers, and in preference to many supposedly 'more stylish' stoves that do not actually work that well. In addition, if the flue is not correct then no stove will work properly.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Woodwarm Fireview 6KW Flat top stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Fireview is the true ''Clearview'' Wood burner when correctly installed

    David Housiaux 4 years ago

    Our Woodwarm Fireview 6Kw performs fantastically, so controllable, it has been in 6 years now and is on its second rear insulation board, the second one had to be changed, as the sweep did
    not read the manual prior to dismantling internal parts of the stove. Our friends had a Clearview, but when they saw our gearing / operating controls etc in the Woodwarm Fireview they changed theirs to a Woodwarm as well and are really pleased with its performance, controllability and clean screen.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Woodwarm fireview

    4 years ago

    How can a 20 year old design stove square box be so different, I have had various stoves over the past 30 years and always been happy to live with there faults as I thought that was the norm
    , then I bought a fireview , you can not possibly get better than this stove, glass always clear , lights easily, brilliant customer service, burns all night through, never puffs smoke into room when refuelling , cheap parts . I bought it as local pub had one and it's the best money I have ever spent .

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Odd noise eminating from fire

    Liz Garrigan 5 years ago

    Recently had our fire fitted and although we love it's look and performance, we are aware of a strange clunking noise every now and again, even when the secondary air control is closed. This
    appears to produce an inrush of air although this has no effect on the flames within the firebox. The front grill appears to vibrate causing it to rattle. Can anyone advise?
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Something Wrong?

    Mary Saunders 7 years ago

    WOODWARM 9kw DOUBLE SIDED This was installed in 2011 and, although efficient, has given us problems. We are careful and only use recommended solid fuel and well seasoned wood 1. The glass on both doors quickly became opaque. It didn't crack or break but simply became 'crazed'. The glass was replaced at some expense this year with exactly the same effect. We must be doing something wrong - but what? Any ideas? 2. We are least impressed with the function of the operating handle. What an infuriating thing! If it's turned gently clockwise it is difficult to return to its original position due to small bits of fuel becoming stuck both between and at the end of the bars so that the bars cannot be closed properly. We prefer to use an old fashioned poker!! This stove seems to have such positive reviews that we can only assume that we are the weak link. Any advice anyone?

    Stove expert replied: Crazing of the glass: Explanation of the phenomena of “Crazing” in Glass Ceramic Materials: During the combustion process, fossil fuels evolve combustion by-products.  These vary both in their composition and concentration, and are heavily dependent on the composition of the fuel being used, and the burn conditions within the appliance.   One of the most reactive combustion by-products found is sulphur. Under certain very specific conditions, it is possible to set up a combustion environment where a chemical reaction between the glass ceramic and sulphurous deposits, which attach themselves to the glass surface (through condensation), can take place.   Initially, this may manifest itself only as a series of white deposits on the glass (which can be cleaned off with ease).  However, if these deposits are left on the glass surface over a prolonged time period and subjected to repeated thermal cycling in non-ideal burn conditions, an effect known as “crazing” (fine cracks appearing in the combustion surface of the glass ceramic window) can occur. However, the necessary combination of effects required for this phenomenon to arise in the first place, makes this a very rare condition indeed.   As the chemical resistance of all glass ceramics, falls within a very narrow range, the solutions are limited here.  In extreme situations, one can look at the potential of using a high acid resistant glass such as Borofloat, however factors such as thermal shock, really need to be carefully considered before this option is considered.   Factors to be considered for minimising “Crazing” in Glass Ceramic Windows:   In-Use Guideline’s -          Minimise the use of high sulphur content fuels -          Ensure glass ceramic windows are regularly cleaned using approved (non-abrasive) materials, and any residues are completely removed prior to use   Appliance Design Guidelines -          Create an effective “air-wash” across the glass -          Maintain the inner glass panel surface to temperatures of 250 – 320°C -          Limit the use of out-gassing materials in the appliance construction  

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • A GREAT STOVE

    David Smith 7 years ago

    After a lot of research of other makes we opted for the Woodwarm for its build quality, parts availability and service, you actually get to talk to someone who knows their products if you want advice and they are in the UK. The stove has performed beyond our expectations and the Airwash System keeps the glass really clean. We know three other people each of whom bought stoves at the same time as we did and all of them have stoves of well know makes in respect of which they have regrets. Glass smoking up/staining, fuel capacity, difficulty in lighting etc. etc
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • my trusty companion

    Laura Moir 7 years ago

    Perhaps not as pretty as some on the market but I want ease of lighting, good control and reliability, bags of heat and essentially a view of the fire as it roars up the lum. It's the envy
    of my friends. Glass stays clean for weeks on end. Hot water by the bucket load with no need to employ electric immersion EVER! Love it to bits and would not hesitate to recommend.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • look no further

    Susan Burgin 7 years ago

    I have been using a woodwarm fireview for the past 5 years and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a stove. It looks good, is well constructed, easy to light, easy to control, gives out a comfortable heat and brings a tremendous amount of joy to all the family. So stop searching - just buy a Woodwarm. You won't be disappointed.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • woodwarm 6kw flat top woodburner

    Martin Watts 8 years ago

    We got our Woodwarm stove Oct 2003, the best 700 quid we've spent. Drove down to Devon for a wknd away and brought it back with us to Sussex {planned purchase} So 10 years on would I buy another
    ? NO!!! Cos I'm never getting rid of this one! You burn the third of the wood that you'd get through on an open fire and make the place 3x as warm. Its a doddle to light, totally controllable as its welded steel, no cracks to let in any air, apart from the tiniest amount through the air control. I retro fitted the 90 degree flue manifold, so our cat now has more space behind it, which was a worth while mod. I have changed one glass due to scouring, after 7 yrs and one back board also. Woodwarm are a good firm to deal with and very helpful. I recently redid the fire place tiles etc and got some dark red stove paint on it, looks really good. Build and design quality is really excellent and it is easy to use, light and service. We cook on the top and boil kettles on it, and its the real centre of the home! You can look forward to the evenings drawing in and getting colder if you've a Woodwarm stove to light up!! { the draught and the airwash system is brilliant, and I have no connection with this Company at all, in case you're thinking different.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments from a very happy customer.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Totally in Love

    Yvette 8 years ago

    Having had an open fire for 12 years I decided to have a woodburner. I did my research and visited about 5 different shops. I saw the Woodwarm and loved it, the quality was obvious to see and I loved the large window. I asked my neighbour who is a woodburner supplier to find out about Woodwarm and he came back with very positive feedback. I went ahead and ordered my 6KW Fireview in honey glow and I absolutely love it. Once I realised Kiln Dried Logs work better than other types I was extremely happy. It's so easy to light, it's easy to keep clean as it seems to produce little unwanted ash, it's so easy to control and achieve the type of burn you want and with a nice chunky log I get a good overnight burn. I can get it up to temperature within 15 minutes just with some newspaper and a little kindling. I just cannot fault this burner it's brilliant.

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3