WhatStove?

Westfire 23 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 21 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Westfire 23 stove

The Westfire 23 stove is a contemporary 6kw output wood burning stove.

It has a direct air supply at the back of the stove as standard - you connect this with a 100mm gas pipe to the outside to comply with building regulations for rstoves above 5kw output.

Presently available in black -

this stove will be available in grey shortly.

The plain contemporary look of this Danish stove makes it fit in with modern design.

The Westfire 23 is now available with side windows, with a range of three different sized pedestals.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Update on earlier review

    4 years ago

    Also not surprised they give you a glove as the door handle and air controls get very hot, the door latch and hinge pins have worn badly, fortunately they are adjustable but they are not going
    to last. All this on a fire used 20 times a year. Fortunately my Woodfire C12 used daily is still going strong.

    Stove expert replied: Is the flue draw excessive on the Westfire installation as it is surprising to have cracks in the stoves body which is robust under normal conditions, this may be worth checking before you either update the stove or repair the one you have to prevent similar happening again

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

Most Popular Review

  • WESTFIRE UNIQ 23 Looks good........BUT VERY POOR CONSTRUCTION!

    A G 7 years ago

    CANNOT CONTROL HEAT OUTPUT: Cannot close the air intake sufficiently to have the fire glowing nicely, it will only burn brightly. the stove will always allow at least5% air to be taken in. DOOR NOT SQUARE: Despite the metal is laser cut, the door and carcase would never align and be 'square'. DOOR HANDLE is HOT Handle is close to the glass and gets very hot DOOR LATCH NOT ALIGNED: The supplied latch had a pin that was too short, leading to the door handle wearing it down one sided. After emails and repeated phone calls was eventually sent a replacement, which had to be cannibalised to make it fit! NEEDED TO RESPRAYED: Paint peeled after 2 months. CRACKED INNER FIRE BOX: at the top of the fire box, cracks appeared. aparently i have 'overfired' the stove. Strange you may think, as i cannot turn the fire down any more than i already had. AIR WASH: Works only in the middle of the glass, leaving the top and bottom 2 inches black. the wood is 2 years old ash and oak Think about this ! Having been told that the fire CANNOT be shut down any further than it normally is, how can the stove be 'over fired' to the point of cracking ? If I have been burning the fire with such fury, it would be unlikely that the glass would blacken so badly. They are a good looking, but BEWARE ! The fire has now been replaced

    Stove expert replied: The manufacturer has replaced the stove after 2 years of use after first offering to re-weld it under warranty.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

More reviews for Westfire 23 stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Six years on...

    David Styles 5 years ago

    We have this stove and having used many and varied stoves over the years it's one of the very best. Ours is installed in an open plan living room diner a 100mm pipe to an outside source was not installed (my choice). Lighting is easy, adjusting the burning temperature is easy and maintenance is next to none. The trick? I use the position of the ash pan to give more air when required. And yes you can bank it up to stay lit overnight. And yes the log retaining grill does distort over time.

    Stove expert replied: Nice review and as with most things some parts may need replacing overtime and the log retainer may need replacing after 6 years if the distortion gets too bad.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Great fire!!

    Richard Williams 6 years ago

    I had the uniq 23 in my home for 3 years. It's perfect in most ways. It kicks out some impressive heat with total control. I do fit fires for a living and have noticed other reviews saying that
    they have no control over it. It caught me out once and couldn't understand why I couldn't control it.. Realised that it was the ashpan draw wasn't closed properly causing to much air for combustion in the firebox. Hope this helps guys. Replacement bricks are costly as well the the door seal.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Smoke in the room

    Dirk VanGenderen 6 years ago

    For some weeks we have had a Uniq 23 Westfire. It's a good stove, but I've a problem. When I open the door to fill the stove with new wood, smoke comes in the room. Also the airwash doesn't work very well. Perhaps someone can help me with a good advice. Greetings from Holland, Dirk van Genderen

    Stove expert replied: If you have smoke coming back into the room when you open the door then you need to get an anti downdraught cowl fitted, and possibly provide more air in the room for combustion. This is an installation issue and not caused by the stove, the height of the flue system may also need to be checked.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Westfire Uniq 23 on 100mm block

    John Moore 7 years ago

    I've been using this stove for about 3 months now. It takes a while to get it going but it looks great and kicks out loads of heat. The controls do get very hot and can be fiddly to use with a glove. I have had a number of issues with the quality of the stove. Firstly, when heated up, the primary air leaver becomes so stiff it's virtually impossible to move it. The gap at the side of the door measures 4mm at the top and 9mm at the bottom, and I've now noticed some surface rust appearing inside the stove and on the front of the ash tray. Very disappointing considering the price of the stove and the short amount of time it's been in use. Customer service have been helpful and sent some grease for the leaver. unfortunately it didn't help. Now waiting to see how they respond.

    Stove expert replied: Rust on the inside of the firebox may be due to damp wood or the stove not working hard enough allowing condensation to form. Wood should have less than 20% moisture content for use in a stove. Great to hear that the customer service has been responsive so far.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Westfire Uniq 23 insert

    MichaelMcBride 7 years ago

    We have had the Westfire 23 insert stove for one year now. It has totally transformed the way we use our home. Before we got it we had a gas fire in the main lounge, a complete waste of time
    and money. After all this time my wife and I still marvel at the heat from the fire, the effect of the flames, the ease of use. It is easy to light, just read the instructions and follow them, it's that easy. People make the mistake of thinking they know how to light a fire and try to light a stove, it's completely different. (I was one of those on the first day of ownership). If the fire is slow to start just pull the ashpan out 2 or 3mm with the front door on the fire closed, you'll be amazed at how this feeds the fire. Very little ash from the fire if burning kiln dried logs and heat beyond belief. I cannot sing the praises of this fire highly enough, so much so that 2 of our friends have now fitted the same fire having seen ours. The only negative, the handle gets extremely hot, use the glove provided.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Help and advice with Westfire 23

    Gabriel Tang 7 years ago

    Hello, I have a Westfire as well. It has been great until recently, the stove is throwing smoke back into the room. And the door seals seem to have become loose. When we look at the door from
    the right, we can see that the distance is smaller at the top than at the bottom. We have changed the seals once already and wondered if the hinges are loosened and misaligned and not making stove airtight, making bottom valves inconsequential! Help.

    Stove expert replied: There is a technique to adjusting the door, as there are hinges on both the body of the stove and on the door itself. It would be best to speak to the importer direct, Eurostoves number is 01934750500.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Westfire 23 well used

    Tom Kilner 8 years ago

    The only fault I can find is in the instructions - they described the LH and RH controls the wrong way round. LH is top air so open when running, RH is bottom air so open to get the fire started
    and closed once hot.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Westfire 23

    Anke 8 years ago

    I had a Westfire uniq 23 on 100 cm legs installed in September 2012 and love it. It is very efficient and creates little ash. It sits on a 30mm thick granite hearth plate on wooden floors. The hearth extents 400mm in front of the stove, but not quite far enough to cover the extent of the door. The floor in front of the stove does get fairly hot, so I have added a small semicircular glass hearth to the front edge to protect the floor better. Lighting the stove is easy, though as others found, controlling the burn takes a lot of trial and error. I found that if the stove burns too fiercely the ash pan may be pulled out too far forward. Equally, if there is not enough air movement, pulling the ash pan out until it reaches the door helps increase airflow more than just operating the leavers. Don't know if this is specific to my stove, but works for me. The stove is not meant to burn overnight, so I have not tried to bank the fire. The handle and levers get very hot and I use a silicone (cooking) pan sleeve to operate the door, or gloves as advised. The air levers are rather crude, a bit too short to operate easily as well as fiddly to reach and fine tune with the door closed. This might not be such an issue with taller stove legs or where it is placed on a stand. The large window is fantastic and gives a great view of the fire and keeps clear for most part except behind the log barrier. The only problem I have is that the top bar of the log grate is already distorting. Overall I am very happy with this stove.

    Stove expert replied: When components distort in a short space of time it would imply that the stove has got to higher than normal working temperature, perhaps not run it quite so hard or run hard for short periods only, a miaximum of 15-20mins twice a day.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3