WhatStove?

Stratford EB 12 HE stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 14 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stratford EB 12 HE stove

One of the Stratford boiler models -

giving 6kw to room -

and 9kw or 3900btu to water using wood

or

12kw or 41200btu using coal.

Technical Data
  • Height: 603mm
  • Width: 533mm
  • Depth: 412mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Really nice stove

    Phil Chadwick 2 years ago

    We fitted one of these a few months ago, connected to a thermal store. The plan was to use it to supplement the gas boiler, but so far we''ve been able to heat this very large house using just
    the woodburner. It does use a lot of wood to do that, but that''s inevitable.It draws like a demon and gets up to heat really, really quickly. It''s helpful to have the thermal store and a fairly sophisticated control system, but it can comfortably supply 15 radiators once it''s up to heat. Very well made, doesn''t smoke and is easy to use

    Stove expert replied: Please make sure that you do not over-draw the stove - can you shut it down if you want it to. If the flue draw is excessive this could lead to damage so worth checking you are able to shut it to a slumbering mode. Great review.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • EB 12

    Eeeeesh 8 years ago

    A nice looking stove but have fitted two in the last month. The one thing I will say is the heat to the rads is excellent getting 7-8 roasting hot rads, but absolutely no heat to the room. I have left 6" at the sides and 4" at the back and 12" at the top. Very disappointed In the heat to the room especially for the price of the stove.

    Stove expert replied: It is always good to have a radiator in the room to insure that enough heat is generated as once the water and heating are up to temperature the stove will automatically close controlled by the thermostat.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

More reviews for Stratford EB 12 HE stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Love it

    Abigail Green 4 years ago

    I had this boiler fitted 2 weeks ago.It''s a little gem. After having no heating it''s a joy to have this in the house.Don''t expect it to throw heat into your living room. It is a boiler after
    all. We have had a large radiator fitted in the living room and it provides enough warmth to make the living room really cosy.My only bugbear is it doesn''t produce a great volume of hot water. I love my baths and the water has run cold before the bath is full. I was expecting oodles of hot water.

    Stove expert replied: The stove size should be calculated for the size of tank and kW required to satisfy this and the central heating requirements, it will also depend on the quality of fuel being used and the thermostat temperature setting. There should be priority given to the domestic hot water circuit with central heating only coming on when the returning water is up to temperature, do discuss with your heating engineer who may be able to adjust the system to suit..

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Stratford EB 12 HE stove

    4 years ago

    We installed this stove last winter and are very happy with it. It's a nice looking stove and when the fire is burning it's good to view the flames. Before lighting the stove we put the oil on for an hour. This heats up the radiators and then the stove keeps them nice and warm. We keep a radiator on in the living room, 15ft x 16ft, and leave the door open allowing heat into the hall, keeping it warm as well. We burn mostly wood and have the secondary air control, on the front of the stove, just over halfway; this seems to keep the glass clean. The primary air control on the side we keep at 3, sometimes we'll raise this slightly if it's very cold. We have noticed, that when the stove has been on for some time, the control knob on the side will have no resistance when turned, until we reach 2 1/2 or 3. Is this normal? It's as if the knob is not connected at all. We don't feel it connecting until we're between 2 and 3. We run 2 double and 5 single radiators, there's a couple of tiny radiators in wardrobes as well. We don't have them piping hot, just enough to take the chill out of the bedrooms. Raising the control to 4 or 5 would probably increase the heat but then we would be put out of the living room, so it's a question of balance. We would probably burn a lot more wood as well. Overall we're happy, it's a LOT better than the back boiler we had with the open fire, and when our daughter complained that the house was hotter than at any time during her 21 years of existence; well that speaks for itself. Did I mention it's very easy to light? A small fire lighter, a few sticks, then a log or two on top, open the control at the bottom of the door and away you go. In about 5 minutes I can stock up the stove with logs and relax, until I need to restock that is, which unfortunately is quite often. On the plus side, no oil bought this winter and hopefully none for the next one either. I hope this helps some people, and if anyone can tell me if the knob control operation I've described is normal then I'd be happy. Thanks

    Stove expert replied: The thermostat knob on the side of the stove is a sensor that measures the water temperature in the boiler jacket, it operates a flap behind the panel that will open and close automatically depending on what number it is set at. Therefore it will appear to have little resistance at times which is normal depending on the water temperature and the setting of the dial.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Poor Radiator performance

    Robert Henderson 4 years ago

    Just replaced open fire with Grants triple pass back boiler. Open fire heated 6 standard double radiators and 1 single, getting them to around 60 degrees.Had the Stratford EB12 installed and
    downgraded a double to a single rad (bathroom). Sadly with 3 of the double rads switched off and burning smokeless ovoids (same as open fire) we cant get the rads much hotter than 50 degrees.so after spending 4k getting this stove fitted its actually performing worse than the open fire!The other thing we have noticed is the airwash system doesnt perform that well, having to clear the glass door on a daily basis as it gets dirty each night. even when burning the stove full out it gets very dirty quickly.Heat to room is poor but as this is our first boiler stove we cant say whether this is normal. I would say 6kw to room is some exaggerated figure! we have a double radiator fitted to the room within the stove.

    Stove expert replied: Did you have the heat load calculations carried out to check that the 12HE boiler is large enough to drive the system you have? The stove will give between 2 - 6kW's of heat to room so the average would be about 4kW. Have you an airbrick in the room? Is the chimney lined? What height is your flue system? The installation as a whole needs to be looked into so that you can ascertain if the stove is performing as expected or if perhaps you are asking it to do too much. The glass should not blacken with the air wash control fully open and hence my question about an airbrick. Was your flue draw checked to ensure it meets the manufacturers requirements. On what number are you keeping your thermostat? Further investigation suggested as it may not be the fault of the stove.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • FEDS PLATE

    4 years ago

    Has anyone had a problem with taking the feds plate out the stove and refitting it after cleaning lugs that the plate sits on ok just cannot get it to fit

    Stove expert replied: Have you tried moving them as they sometimes slightly distort and may slot in another position than the one it came out from?

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Not very impressed.

    Louisa Morgan 6 years ago

    I have to say this wasn't any good for us, we work all day and the only way we can get this stove to produce any heat to the radiators or any hot water is literally to sit in front of it all
    day and put loads of wood in, we didn't want to use coal as it's not very eco friendly and it is expensive. At weekends not too much of a problem as we were in all day but then if you go away for a few days you are worrying about the pipes freezing and no heat in the house for the animals. We had gas put back in and we'd like this stove to be converted to a normal woodburner without the boiler but nobody will touch it with a bargepole they all say we need to ask the manufacturer to do it - any suggestions?

    Stove expert replied: I am afraid that if the boiler is not being used and has been disconnect then the stove should not be used as a room heater only. This is manufactured to heat water and no modifications can be made to alter this with regard to safety etc.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Stratford EB12 HE

    Robert Brown 7 years ago

    Stove looks really good,have it linked to oil system for summer months. Heats radiators and water well but feel there is not enough heat from the stove itself we have radiators in same room
    as stove
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Excellent stove

    Martin Loughran 7 years ago

    I use this stove for my central heating and hot water. I burn coal in the winter, and run the stove day and night. I put coal on at night and the stove will stay lit until I come home from work
    at five o'clock. I use logs in the spring and early autumn and light the fire every day, the stove is very easy to get going. The only small problem with the stove is that ash builds up, in front of the fuel retainer, as there is no hole provided to let it into the ash pan, it has to be vacuumed to clear it up.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stratford EB12

    C Murray 8 years ago

    Great stove, works really well. I live in a 3 bed semi and it heats hot water and rads easily. If I had to give a bad point it would be that when it is windy the stove makes a tinkling noise
    . Something to do with the main air inlet.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great Boiler Stove

    Daniel McAdam 8 years ago

    Had this stove installed for over a year now (One Winter's use) and I love it. Heats up Rads easy but you do need one in the room its in as the stove doesn't give out much heat when the thermostat reduces the air flow. Build quality is great with attractive design. The stove does use a lot of wood and doesn't seem to work very well with smokeless fuel. I've used Taybrite in many of my previous stoves with great success but with this model I just cant seem to get the water to a high temperature, even with all the air vents open. Overall I'm very please.

    Stove expert replied: It may be worth trying an alternative smokeless fuel as they do vary greatly, otherwise seems to be working well.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2