WhatStove?

Stovax Stockton 8 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 10 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Stockton 8 stove

Stovax Stockton 8 stove is available in a wood or multi fuel version.

This range of stoves are clean burn & have got airwash.

Please note dimensions are for the Stovax Stockton 8 flat top stove -

there is also a low & high canopy option plus you are able to buy the stove with 1 or 2 doors.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Stockton 8 airwash

    George Arman 9 months ago

    My airwash lever is stiff and often stuck. If fully open fire is uncontrollable Same problem from new, less than a year old.

    Stove expert replied: As this is less than a year old please go back to the supplier and report the problem under warranty.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Brilliant

    Mark O. (South Shropshire) 12 years ago

    As a first time buyer, we did a lot of research into the various manufacturers and shortlisted 'Stovax'. Where we live everyone buys 'Clearview Stoves' (we are near to their main showroom,)
    and they all say they are the best. We looked, we compared and we bought Stovax! They are as good, if not better and cost about half as much. We went for a single door as you see more of the logs/flames. Can't say more than that, briliant, would recommend Stovax without hesitation. * Doesn't matter how good your log burner is, it's all down to the wood - MAKE SURE IT'S SEASONED WOOD!!

    Stove expert replied: and to make sure it is seasoned look for cracks in the ends grain, smell it (you will over time be able to smell wet wood), use a moisture meter. Or buy in cheap wet logs in the spring/summer and store them somewhere dry where the wind can get at em and you should have something useable by the winter.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Stovax Stockton 8 stove

  • Not very efficient

    Matthew Hayden 4 years ago

    This stove is used to heat a big room ( 6m x 6m x 3m high) however I cannot get the door tight (even with new rope) we have a two door version and it rips through wood like there is no tomorrow
    . Glass stays clean (purely because so much heat is let into the box) my flue has been lined and I would not recommend this stove for heating control at all. The handle (part of the door that opens) - has had the pin fall out multiple times as well.

    Stove expert replied: As the flue has been lined I would suggest a flue draw test be undertaken to ensure that it meets the manufacturers guidelines, if too high a damper or stabilizer fitted to the flue should provide more control and reduce the fuel being used. It will then allow the generated heat to stay in the stove longer which in turn will provide more output to the room.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Very disappointed, heading for scrap!

    5 years ago

    Having had a wood burning stove ( Jotul No 3 ) for over 20 years we decided to upgrade our system and install a new stove with a boiler system to assist heating our house and water. Chose the Stockton 8 after a fair bit of research. Disappointed completely for the following reasons, 1. It's incredibly dirty. Clean it out, set it, light it fine, then open the doors to add wood a few minutes later for burning and you get ash all over the hearth and indeed the sitting room as well. Cracking up! Impossible to operate without mess everywhere. 2. None of the four air regulation controls appear to make any difference to a greater or lesser flame and the stove output can only be regulated by what goes into it. ie wetter or drier wood to assist or slow down burn rate. With the jotul you could stock it up close it down, come back two or three hours later, and it came back to life in seconds, not a chance of doing this with the Stovax. 3. Riddling grate often has gaps as big as 20mm and seems to let too much burning material through too quickly. So in summary, very disappointed with stove, had it for four months now and seriously thinking about scrapping it and giving up on Stockton!

    Stove expert replied: If you are only using wood I would suggest investing in a wood tray as this will provide the best conditions for burning wood effectively and efficient and should overcome the problem of ash falling out when you open the door. A boiler stove will behave differently to a room heater only as the heat needs not only to heat the room but water as well, so getting used to the difference will take time to get to know the stove and settings required. Use wood that is dry and seasoned only (with a moisture content of less than 20%) damp wood will not give a good performance.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Stockton 8

    Nick Everall 6 years ago

    I have just installed my Stockton 8 stove and its superb. It replaced my 4kw Chelsea Villager which I found to small for the size of logs I burn. Nothing wrong with the Villager stove I might
    add. You must Know and understand how these stoves work to get them to run properly. Proper seasoned wood is a must. So don't try and burn damp or unseasoned wood. If you can't get the wood try Homefire Ovals smokeless fuel, it works well in all stoves. If you bank it up at night it will still be in come the morning or load first things in the day for it to be in when you get home in the afternoon. Good luck.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Brilliant stoves, 1/2 the price of a Clearview-and as good

    Miss C. Thompson 9 years ago

    Ummed and Aahed between the Clearview and this - found the Clearview company to be very rude and unhelpful when I asked a few questions and the dealer could not give me a delivery time - somewhere around 8 weeks, might be more?? So I chose the much cheaper Stovax. I have been delighted! It was in stock and so I had it fitted in a week - produces a fantastic amount of heat and I have had no glass discolouration issues, but my wood is very dry and well seasoned. A friend has the boiler version and reckons that the airwash does not work, so I took my wood over and it was fine. Trying to do too much with a poor fuel it did not work well at all, but she now knows and gets good, dry wood in.

    Stove expert replied: Good seasoned fuel is a must to insure you get the best from your stove. This customer has found out how much difference it makes.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Stockton 8

    Aston Coleman 9 years ago

    This is a good stove and boiler system if used correctly. Having read other peoples reviews on it I believe some of the comments to be a little hash. We have had ours installed just before the
    winter kicked in of 2011. It's heated our house up nicely through out the snow and freezing weather. It gives a nice temperature to all radiators and provides enough hot water for a family of 4 to have a shower or bath well. We were fortunate enough to be shown by our installers (Vaughans in Maidstone) how to use it correctly and taught the basics of the system. When we decided to get this system we were told what wood we need and that should we get the wrong wood or if it was to wet then the system would fail to work correctly. The wood has to be seasoned or kiln dried we have use around 9 cubic meters of wood this winter which was kiln dried to have less than 20% moisture in it (Timports). This will burn very effectively over night without tarring up the glass or sides and all air vents can remain closed to slow down the combustion rate. During the time it snowed we used smokeless coal this helped as it burns at a much slower rate. I would recommend this system to anyone we have saved a huge amount in its first winter on both gas and electric.

    Stove expert replied: What a great review, customer understands how to get the best from the stove and system. Thoughtful comments for boiler stove users. Thanks

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Stovax Stockton 8 - get what you pay for

    Neil Goodwin 9 years ago

    Stockton 8 now in its third winter. Never the easiest to control, poor airwash (air hits glass door cold and leaves brown fingers down the glass from where the glass has been cooled), doesn
    't stay in overnight without tarring up the glass. Stovax customer service very unhelpful - they didn't want to know when asking questions (maybe we weren't running it correctly?). Overall - not good, bordering on worse. Installed a Clearview in the second room, now in 2nd winter - totally different experience. Even though significantly more expensive, worth every penny. Does everything simply, responsively, stays in overnight and glass doesn't tar up like the Stovax. Bit like comparing a 60s Cortina with a current Mondeo.

    Stove expert replied: Great to be able to compare two stoves in one dwelling, fair feedback as obviously disappointed with this model.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Stockton 8

    Carl Pickup 11 years ago

    We chose this stove because it suited our budget but also the combination of steel body & cast doors is the same as clearview and others but around half the price. Overall it is a good stove
    but I think the quality of a fire depends as much on dryness of wood and the chimney as it does on the stove. Given dry wood and a clear night it gives a great fire but less than perfect wood soon starts to reduce its efficiency. I guess this applies to all stoves but I do know of other stoves that seem to cope with slightly damp wood better than mine.Another point I like about the canopy version of this stove is that the canopy is part of the chimney meaning it acts like a radiator unlike some canopy stoves which are just a flat top with an ornamental canopy. This means that it gives plenty of heat. On the down side the airwash is definitely not up to clearview standards.This is a good stove for the price but considering the amount of time we spend looking at it I might spend a bit more next time. That said a stove installer once told me the money would be better spent on more sheds to ensure guaranteed dry wood.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • con

    D.Peppiatt 11 years ago

    Latest wraparound boiler seemed to prevent heat transfer to both room andcentral heating.Good hot fire but could hold both flow and return pipes atrear of stove!Freezing12 days over xmas & new
    year,unable to get Installer to do anything.Insisted they reconnect aged Gas Boiler,and remove the beast. A very expensive attempt to go "Green", and we still will have to change our Gas Boiler to suite the new "Rules" although it works perfectly.

    Stove expert replied: sounds like a combination of problems to me. A boiler stove does not generally give much heat to the room. Most boiler stoves are fairly simple in that they have a firebox surrounded by a water jacket. Even if one had been very badly designed (which is not the case with a Stovax) it is more or less a matter of how hot the firebox gets that determines how hot the water in the system is. Now when it is very cold the heat load of the house will be huge. The boiler stove will have a hard job keeping up with it and because it have to heat up the whole volume of water in the heating system this can take a very long time indeed. A solution to this is fitting a load unit which will get the boiler stove up to temp fast and keep it there - raising efficiency and responsiveness. The fuel may also be partly to blame if it is badly seasoned wood as this will not give out good heat. The fact that this user has rated the airwash as low does suggest wet wood to me - it would also reduce uncontrollability. The main cause is probably that it has been very very cold. A gas boiler generally has a high output - ie 30-40kW is not uncommon. People have been reporting gas and oil usage of at least twice the normal rate in this cold snap so no wonder a boiler stove may not be able to keep up.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames