WhatStove?

Newbourne 40FS stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Newbourne 40FS stove

The Newbourne 40FS is the smaller version of the Newbourne 50FS stove. It is DEFRA approved from smoke control areas. The Newbourne 40FS has great controlability with both the primary and secondary air controls.

Technical Data
  • Height: 580mm
  • Width: 503mm
  • Depth: 374mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Excellent choice

    Alan Ross one year ago

    I've had this stove for five years. I've just bought another property and I'm going to buy another Newbourne although the price has gone up.. I can't complain at all about this stove. The build quality is excellent with no faults at all. I love the minimal look, the cheaper option stoves have too much decoration or a badge. The handle does get warm but what would you expect? I always use gloves to open the door to put in another log. Again, this is the only choice of fire to go for.

    Stove expert replied: Purchasing the same stove again is a good recommendation for any stove, great comments.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • new stove

    4 years ago

    The look of the stove is great , I have a couple of niggles , the glass is getting sooty even though this should be clearview. The second niggle is that I can constantly hear the air flow and
    it gets a bit annoying ,I didn't get that with our old burner.

    Stove expert replied: Is the flue lined? Does the air flow noise continue if the controls are fully shut? It may be that the flue draw is excessive for this stove!

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

More reviews for Newbourne 40FS stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Top slider

    Jeffrey Wells one year ago

    Top slider jams so cannot operate stove properly. Called out some firm to take a look at it and all he did was spray some WD 40 on it which lasted a couple of days.There must be a proper solution
    .

    Stove expert replied: You do not say how old the product is, if under 12 months I would advise that you go back to your supplier to see if this can be addressed under warranty. A longer lasting fix might be to use graphite powder on the moving part, it may need this again in the future if no obvious way of loosening the slider is evident. Graphite powder is not affected by heat whereas WD40 will be. Does this only happen when the stove is hot?

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Pevex 40fs - a bit smelly,

    Angela Muston 2 years ago

    Great burner, but the house smells of smoke. Even smells when the fire isn't lit. Is this normal?

    Stove expert replied: More information is required to be able to advise fully. You haven't said if this is a new installation, if the chimney is lined and if it has been swept, what fuel is being burnt, if there is a room vent etc etc. Sometimes you can get a smell but generally it is when the stoves paint is curing when new, if the chimney needs cleaning, a down draught and there are other causes so I would suggest further investigation to establish the cause and then you should be able to find a remedy that is suitable.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Hot handle but lovely fire

    Ashley Harrison 3 years ago

    Purchased this stove in both my old house and now my new one. In my old house the handle never got too hot but with the new one I have, the handle isn't touchable and is a problem? It doesn'
    t feel right for some reason...

    Stove expert replied: Have you gone back to your supplier? This may be a change that has been made and often a manufacturer provides a glove for opening the stove due to the handle getting hot.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • AWFUL AVOID!!!!!!

    Lee Frost 3 years ago

    Please take my advice and buy an alternative make. Although this stove is by no means cheap for the size (£1200) the quality of the interior is awful..... I've had the stove for two months, during this time we've not used the stove everyday however the ''fire brick'' material inside has degraded massively, the back is heavily pitted, the two bottom sides have cracked and the roof of the fire box has fallen in. I contacted the manufacturer explaining my complaints and he basically said I would have to buy replacements for about £50 and wait 10 working days. Essentially now I don't have a stove for winter / Christmas, the customer service is very poor, at best blunt and worst rude and it would appear I would be advised to buy multiple sets of the interior bricks as due to what must be a design flaw these have only lasted five minutes. I haven't burnt the stove super hot, and always take care to achieve a rolling flame, I've been super careful loading the stove as the material looked cheap and flimsy from the start and my chimney is restricted so it doesn't burn too hot either. If I had my choice again I wouldn't buy this stove and I'd have the manufacturer collect it and give me my money back. THERES MUCH BETTER OUT THERE

    Stove expert replied: The internal liners can continue to be used if they are cracked providing they are protecting the metal of the stove. If they have become damp they will deteriorate more quickly and care when loading the stove is important not to heavily impact them with the fuel if possible. They are not covered by warranty as deemed as consumable. You could try reversing the ones that are showing most wear so that you can use the stove and purchase replacements when required. Both faces can normally be used.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Burning problems

    Helen Wilkinson 3 years ago

    Having problems with The log burner burning to hard. Even with both top & bottom totally shut.As a result burning a lot of fuel.We had the burner fitted by a heatas approved fitter.Putting a
    new flue liner down.Please can you advise.

    Stove expert replied: The flue may have an excessive draw on it and you may need to have a damper or stabilizer fitted to gain better control of the appliance. This requires further investigation, as a matter of urgency, as leaving it burning too vigorously can lead to permanent damage to the appliance and will invalidate the warranty.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Extremely controllable

    Barry Daniels 3 years ago

    We had this stove fitted in February & it is only now coming into its own. We already have a Stovax in another room but this is so much more controllable. It gives out heat much quicker & the
    logs last longer. Seems very efficient. Any noise when the air intakes are open disappear as soon as they are partially closed. The large glass window gives a perfect view of the flames and the heat output is phenomenal. The only minor niggle for me is the various nooks & crannies below the grate & in the back of the door where ash accumulates but use of an ash vacuum cleaner solves this. Great choice of stove for us.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Update after one year

    Colin Anderson 4 years ago

    its now a year since I bought the fire , how time flys The fire performed well over the winter months, still no problems to report after a lot of use , like all fires I guess if you are a novice, like myself, you learn as you go on how to use the controls, and most important is the fuel you use with this fire, my fuel of choice was logs so would recommend a good quality and not use wet or unseasoned logs, to get the best from your fire , Next job, before the new season, would be to get the chimney swept, but as mentioned previously, am still very happy with this fire regarding its construction and output of heat etc.

    Stove expert replied: Good review. It is paramount that the fuel used is dry and seasoned and has a moisture content of less than 20% not only for the heat that is generated but to maintain a clear flue.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Fire bricks

    Anne ValentineSmith 4 years ago

    We have had our Newborne 40fs since the end of November (3 months) and had to replace the top (roof) fire brick 3 times already! We are definitely not banging it and seems to split and fall
    into the fire when it is burning? Already spent £90 for 2 replacements so quite frustrated that this is happening. Please can you advise why and suggest what we can do to prevent it? Thank you. Also the glass has a foggy, white look which does spoil the effect a little.

    Stove expert replied: The glass discolouring with a white milky shadow is normally caused by the stove over-firing, this may be down to operator error or an over -drawing flue. If the stove is not controllable, so that you can achieve a gentle flame picture, then the flue draw should be taken and if it exceeds the manufacturers guidelines this needs to be rectified. Either a flue damper or stabilizer is required to prevent further damage. The top brick breaking 3 times in such a short space of time may indicate an over-drawing flue and if you get this corrected the problem may be resolved.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2