WhatStove?

Little Thurlow stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 52 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Little Thurlow stove

The Town and Country Little Thurlow stove has been designed for the smaller fire place - as it is not very tall.

For a taller setting there is the log store model.

There is now a smoke control, Defra approved model that can be used in smokeless areas.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 5 flames
Ease of use 5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Little thurlow

    Robert Milsom 10 months ago

    We bought this stove 9 years ago to heat our snug 13ftx15ft and its been brilliant.No problems at all. Just replaced the rope door seal this year. In winter room gets so warm have to open the
    room door to let some heat out!!Definitely didnt need a higher kW output.We only burn wood.

    Stove expert replied: Good to hear Robert - thanks for your review.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Brill Lil' Thurlow

    SHughes 12 years ago

    Made in Yorkshire out of British Steel, Town and Country once supplied Clearviews in the north of the UK, until Clearview did the dirty on them. The result of this fall-out was that Town and
    Country began making their own stoves, based on the Clearviews that they were previously selling.The result is magnificent. A stove which burns as well and operates as well as a Clearview but, in my opinion, is more attractive to look at and more reasonably priced.I used to be a Clearview snob, but since discovering this stove, my eyes have been opened.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Little Thurlow stove (page 1 of 6)

  • My little furlow

    Marcus Insall 3 years ago

    Had this fire now for about 10 years +, has been a cracking little fire, lights first time, every time, going to be sorry to see it go as replacing it with a double sided fire. Well done
    town and country for producing a great fire!!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Little Thurlow

    Sean Pipe 3 years ago

    I''ve had my little Thurlow for 4 or 5 winters now. It''s a good solid stove, made from steel . It lights easily , burns well and is very easy to control. In the really cold months it stays
    in overnight with some coal and a log or two. The glass does black up somewhat when slumbering overnight but quickly burns itself clean when the draw is opened up next morning. . In the past I''ve had mine burning constantly for 7 or 8 weeks , empty the ash pan every day or two and no problem at all. This stove is thoroughly recommended by myself. I wouldn''t be without mine now.

    Stove expert replied: Good comments. It is best not to leave ash to build up in the ash pan as this needs to be clear to allow air to pass below the grate.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • fantastic value and performance.

    John Anderson 4 years ago

    This is the third full year using the Little Thurlow Multifuel Stove. I can honestly say it has been one of the best investments we have made, with outstanding performance and ease of control
    . Keeps alight all night with a little smokeless coal and burns dry wood very efficiently. The guy who swept the chimney said it was the best of its size on the market

    Stove expert replied: Pleasing comments for this stove, giving good value for money!

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Cracking little stove

    Jamie Grose 4 years ago

    We have had this stove for approximately 7years and must say it''s as good today as it was when new. Easy to use and once you get the hang of it the glass stays crystal clear with dry wood.
    My lounge is 18ft x 13ft and this stove heats it more than enough. Highly recommended.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Brilliant little stove

    4 years ago

    Four years ago, after lots of research, I chose this made-in-Yorkshire beauty. Everyone admires it. Although it's recommended for smaller spaces it heats up my 24'' x 10'' room brilliantly.
    Lights first time with minimum effort, easy to clean, simple to control and looks so stylish with a large plain glass door. I tried different logs at first but now I only use kiln dried seasoned hardwood (oak if I'm feeling flush). Genuinely recommended.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • A reliable stove

    4 years ago

    I found this site very useful when buying my first log-burner - so I thought it only fair that I add my experience. I have had this stove for nearly three years now and it has been totally reliable
    . It heats a room 3.5m X 4.5m with no problem, using air-dried hardwood logs. It has always lit first time every time, and within 10 - 15 minutes it is throwing out a reasonable amount of heat. The four air vents provide good control and allow you to adjust the heat output accordingly. I do find the door soots up after 3-4 burnings, but is very easy to clean off with damp newspaper. Being a novice log-burner I did find a flue thermometer extremely helpful in ensuring that the stove was running at the optimum temperature. As this is my first stove I cannot compare it with any others, but I can say it has been reliable and efficient and I would certainly recommend it.

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Little Turlow Log Burner

    Ian Lawrence 5 years ago

    After much research and a recommendation from a friend decided on the Little Thurlow. Wow! We are more than happy with it, burns beautifully and so easy to control, the heat which is almost
    instant just like turning a gas fire up or down. Glass stays clean once you get the hang of the controls (don't be like me - read the instructions and its easy)
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Fantastic Stove

    Will Armstrong 5 years ago

    I did a lot of research before buying a stove and the Town & Country ones seemed to always receive glowing praise. I can see why. I've had the Little Thurlow installed for a couple of years
    now and I have nothing but accolades for the quality and how well it works.After two years use, it still looks just like new. It's obviously well made (in Yorkshire, which is a bonus) and vents and door feel solid and accurate when used.It's incredibly easy to light (I realise draw from the chimney etc play a part in this) and once going the two front and two side vents make it effortless to control the temperature. I have a thermometer on the stove pipe and it is no problem at all to get it burning at the required temperature.The firebox is on the smaller side, but that's just because it is a smaller stove. I calculated 5kW was the size stove I needed and it easily heats my lounge and provides a fair bit of warmth to the rest of the house too.The airwash works well and keeps the glass clean, which is good as the large front pane is great for sitting and watching the flames. This might depend partly on the quality of fuel, but I've only really tried well-dried wood, so it's hard to say.It wasn't the cheapest option, but given the cost of installation it would have seemed foolish to then try to save a little more on the most important part. I am absolutely delighted that I chose this stove and entirely confident that it is the best option available to meet my needs.100% recommended :)
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Very happy with the Little Thurlow

    Saskia Tallis 6 years ago

    After much deliberation I chose the LT stove to replace an open fire. I have now used this little stove a couple of months (using seasoned wood topped up with some recycled wood briquettes)
    and I am extremely pleased so far - very easy to light, very easy to regulate the airflow, easy enough to keep clean etc.It's too early to comment on its durability, but so far so very good.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6