WhatStove?

Glaisdale stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Glaisdale stove

The Glaisdale stove is a 10kw multi fuel stove with the option of adding a canopy.

The canopies on the Town & Country models can be added afterwards, without removing the flue pipe, as they slide on to the top plate of the stove & there is a cut out for the flue pipe on the canopy.

This Town & Country stove has one door to the fire box with a glass panel for viewing the fire.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Dangerous stove door

    Roger Bloggs 9 months ago

    I have just had a Glaisdale stove installed and, like others who have reviewed this stove, I too find the pin holding the door to the stove body continuing to work its way out. I fear that if
    I or someone else doesn't notice it when refuelling the stove, a dangerous situation will occur with red hot embers falling out and causing substantial damage. Obviously, there is something wrong with the door mechanism. In light of the reviews, I am surprised that the manufacturer hasn't already sorted it out, which could be easily done by extending the length of the pin and putting a locknut on the end.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Glaisdale Stove after three + years use

    Susannah Finzi 12 years ago

    The up side: Looks terrific, you can cook on the flat top, throws out masses of heat, stays in well at night, very economical when using good quality timber.The down side: Poorer performance
    (harder to light, poorer heat generation, hard to keep alight overnight, window and chimney soots up) when using wood which is not very thoroughly dry or seasoned or varieties such as willow. After two years of use, the glass cracked which is not covered by the manufacturers. It is alleged to be sensitive to even minor impact and spitting wood which is not very practical. The door hinges tend to "ride up" and come loose but this is easily solved with a hammer-tap.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Glaisdale stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Excellent performance over 12 years

    Sid Withey 4 years ago

    Some comments about firewood. It goes without saying that use only well seasoned wood. If bought ready cut it is advisable to stack and store it for a year before use to ensure moisture content
    of less than 10 - 15%. A moisture meter is well worth buying.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Excellent

    4 years ago

    Have owned the Glaisdale since August 1998. It is superb, totally dependable. The firewall needed replacing only this year (2016). It cost me £703.83 in 1998; It''ll cost you a lot more, but
    it''s still worth it. It heats a 20m long barn conversion.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • A warm friend.

    Wilma Totteridge 7 years ago

    We've had the Glaisdale stove for six years now. It has never given any trouble. The fire picture is beautiful, and the wood lasts for ages due to the excellent controllability of the stove.
    And thanks to the airwash system we never have to clean the glass.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Glaisdale

    Karen Sutherland 7 years ago

    I have had the fire for over 10 years. The grate has just broken and I was been advised by Town & Country to order new from my original supplier the cost should be around £45. My supplier
    has quoted £85+VAT. Not good. The door hinge does occasionally ride up but is easily resolved. Its a great fire and does all is expected. Personally I have found it a very good investment. Pity about the spares and the prices!

    Stove expert replied: You could try a different spares supplier to compare the price. Spares always seem expensive compared to a stove purchase, if this is the only spare you have required dividing it by the years of use makes it an inexpensive stove to run @ £10 per annum.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • qualitystove

    Anthony Mcdaniel 7 years ago

    Love it!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Town and Country Glaisedale

    P Vaughan 10 years ago

    I have had this Glaisedale for 5years plus and am thrilled each winter by it's ease of use, fantastic control, from glowing embers to full flow within a couple of minutes and a truly top rate
    performance. It has been a fantastic investment and easily heats the whole house. Once lit it will stay in for the whole winter season if needed. The only reason for it to go out is not to feed it because as it is so efficient...we are too hot! I agree with one criticism, the door hinge does ride up and we lost the glass when the door fell off. Nasty when every thing is very hot. This is a serious fault which the manufacturer should resolve... I have easily solved this by replacing the pins with nuts and bolts. I have not had any other problems with the stove and have recommended it to my friends.

    Stove expert replied: Easy remedy for hinge problem, well done. Sounds like a reasonable stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • GLAISDALE WITH BOILER

    D COLLINS 11 years ago

    TOO COSTLY FOR PARTS 3 GRATES, 2 COAL STOPPERS, 3 SETS OF DOOR ROPE,4 FLUE PLATES IN 5YEARS.NEVER AGAIN BUT CAN NOT REMOVE TO REPLACE AS TOO COSTLY.
    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Great Fire

    S West 11 years ago

    I've had my Glaisdale for over 5 years and it is one of the best investments that we have made. Heats virually the whole house in winter. Glass stays clean, Cant believe the reviews above,
    we've only changed our bricks once and it does get some stick! My glaisdale is great and it still looks great after all this time. I would highly recommend this stove, also its British made.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Glaisdale stove, 2nd hand bargain.

    Stephen Crompton 12 years ago

    I bought mu Town & Country Glaisdale secondhand on Ebay for £155. After replacing the seal around the flue outlet, and fitting new fire bricks and throat plate it now works very well.I
    have it situated in my front room, and by leaving doors open the heat it produces warms my 3 bed end terrace right through.At first it took some time to learn how to set the air controls so as to get the best performance, but now I have it burning as cleanly as the Clearviwew I owned some years ago. Also, by using large hardwood logs the Glaisdale will stay lit for 10hours, or more.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2