WhatStove?

Jotul F250 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Jotul F250 stove

The Jotul F250 stove is a plain contemporary design either available in black or grey.

This stove can house logs up to 300mm long.

You can get brushed aluminium sides for the Jotul F250

&

there are also soapstone side panels available for this model.

Technical Data
  • Height: 897mm
  • Width: 460mm
  • Depth: 484mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Jotul 250

    Cameron Manson 2 years ago

    Needs a better fender to keep the logs in when the door is open Very complicated design with lots of parts to go wrong ( which they do ) Much prefer a square simple squirrel or similar which
    I shall certailly chose next time
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • jotul f250

    M Stevenson 12 years ago

    A fabulous little stove easy to light chucks out the heat and easy to damp down. ON the cons the ash pan is virtually non functional because it has no riddler so you need to scoop out the cold
    ash with a shovel
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Jotul F250 stove

  • Jotul 250

    Amanda Onus 6 years ago

    I love this stove but as I have inherited it I am having trouble working out how to best operate. What do the top and bottom levers do? How should I use them to get the best heat output. Thank
    you
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • excellent stove!

    Sumio Maeda 7 years ago

    I have used this stove for 7 years in Japan. Easy to use, easy to maintain, quick warm up but it doesn't stay warm for a long time. If the inside was a bit bigger, it would be much better. I just changed the baffle plate and gasket etc by myself but it was very easy! If this got broken and I had to buy one again, I would go for a bigger one and one you can cook on. Other than that, I'm very satisfied with this f250.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • f250

    Neil Guest 9 years ago

    To the post below, they obviously did not how to operate the Jotul 250 correctly if they think cheaper versions can perform as well, I sell stoves and this is the best Stove for it's size in
    the range, it is a superb stove with the best secondary I have ever used...it is just s gem.

    Stove expert replied: it may also be that the people below did not have a good chimney draw. Very efficient stoves tend to be heavily baffled which means that they require a better draw to work well. They also give more heat to the room and less up the chimney so this can compound the problem. In which case the 250 should either have gone onto an insulated chimney or one of the alternative stoves installed instead as it is not very suitable for a poor chimney as some other stoves are.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • F250

    Pablo 9 years ago

    This was our first wood burner that we had for three years. We were thrilled and had never been so warm. However and it is a big however. We have since moved and are the lucky owners of three
    other wood burners and without exception they each outperform the 250. One of them is a 'cheap and cheerful' stove that is so much more responsive and easier to light, another is a cook stove that burns all night with great ease, ( the Jotul did not).Soooo we were happy with the Jotul but realize that our happiness would not have been had we known what we know now!! We would absolutely not buy one again. Hope this is helpful to someone.

    Stove expert replied: it may also be the chimney draw is poor. Very efficient stoves tend to be heavily baffled which means that they require a better draw to work well. They also give more heat to the room and less up the chimney so this can compound the problem. In which case the 250 should either have gone onto an insulated chimney or one of the alternative stoves installed instead as it is not very suitable for a poor chimney as some other stoves are.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Jotul F250

    Raphael Hauser 11 years ago

    I've had this stove for a few months and used it almost every day during the winter. It's a fantastic little stove, great looks a great performance! I'm satisfied allround. We use the stove
    for extra heating of a room that is 6x4m and 4m high. It does the job easily and gives off enough heat to warm up the adjacent rooms too. If you want a larger firebox, I suspect you need to go for a higher heat output, and then you really need a larger room. The fire box is large enough for my purposes, but keeping the stove going overnight would be a problem if I wanted to do so. Still, I find enough embers in the morning to get the fire going again with a few puffs of air. The controllability is not so great unless the ashtray has been recently emptied (I empty mine about once a week) and the firewood is really dry. It is never a problem to create a raging fire though, as leaving the door slightly ajar brings in extra air. The airwash works great once the fire is hot enough (after 2-3 minutes) and a strong chimney draft develops. Until then, leaving the door ajar increases the draft and resolves the problem.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Jotul F250

    Kate Buller 12 years ago

    We are delighted with our Jotul stove. It heats a very large open plan space effectively. We hardly use our downstairs heating when the fire is burning. The glass stays clean so long as we
    burn dry, seasoned wood and we empty the tray every 3 or 4 days. It's a lovely looking stove, very plain and simple, with a big galss window so you really see the fire. The vents are easy to get the hang of and provide some control. We went for a dark grey finish with a stainless steel chimney pipe. The stainless steel has turned (at the bottom) from silver to purple over time, so if you don't like this look at getting a black pipe. Because it has a curved top, which looks lovely, you can't put your coffee cup on there or warm plates, that's the only disadvantage.

    Stove expert replied: One can also just spray the stainless steel flue pipe to a colour of choice, even once it is fitted.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • jotulf250

    Jane 12 years ago

    Have been very pleased all round with this fire stays in for 6 months of the year constantly...will just tick over slowly warming 3 large rooms in winter
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames