WhatStove?

Hunter Hawk stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 17 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Hunter Hawk stove

The Hunter Hawk 3 and 4 stove is available as a multi fuel or wood burning stove. The Hawk is available in 2 different types -

one has a contemporary plain door design and the other a door with a more traditional design.

It will fit into small fire place openings and is available as a double sided stove.

Technical Data
  • Height: 553mm
  • Width: 390mm
  • Depth: 342mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Hunter Hawk 4 - a really good little stove

    Ali Haley one year ago

    We moved into a 1980s built house and inherited this stove- it's fantastic. I'm surprised to read the negative reviews about it on this site, only because this has not been my experience. It fires up easily and keeps our living room toasty easily. Have had no problems. Just sweep the flue annually. I used to live in an old house with a couple of large wood burners that gave endless problems, expense and still disappointment- so really appreciate the Hawks easy heating! 5* We're going to move house this year and I will be installing a Hawk 4 wherever I go.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Hunter Hawk

    Peter 11 years ago

    If likened to a car the Hunter Hawk would be a Lada. It does the job (just) and is nothing special but will get you there. After 5 years it looks tired and even after new firebricks and an overhaul
    it still does not quite cut the mustard. Now if you want a cheap but very average small stove go for the Hawk but you may well find that you change to something that gives a better performance after only a few seasons.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

More reviews for Hunter Hawk stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Rubbish

    PaulaCouzens Couzens 2 years ago

    I have had several stoves in recent years, and this does not send out the heat even at full blast, if you open the door half the contents fall out, hot sinders, they say clean the ash pan out
    daily, completely the opposite to everything I have ever understood about burning wood in a stove. It was recommended by my installer, becuase it is British, I have had Morso in the past, fantastic stoves.

    Stove expert replied: It would appear that you have a multifuel stove and not the designated wood version that is available. If you are only burning wood then the wood version is bette,r as it does not have a grate but a solid base on which the ash can build up readily, the downside is there is no ashpan so you need to remove the ash when it gets too much using a fireside tool. Have you got full control over the stove, if it is working hard and not producing heat then check the moisture content of the wood (should be below 20%). Have the flue draw tested. Make sure that this stove is the correct output for the space that you are trying to heat.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Awful non practical design!

    Private Private 3 years ago

    I have used this for nearly a year now and cant wait to get rid of it. The main problem is that there is no gap between the ash shelf and the door. Every time you open the door, solid fuel and
    ash falls out of the fire onto the shelf which then stops the door from closing! So you end up with ash everywhere. Its a real shame, because the build quality would be quite good otherwise, but that doesn't help if you dread opening the door every time.

    Stove expert replied: Have you tried to push the fuel to the back of the firebox and not putting so much on at any one time. Smaller logs are also important in situations where ash falling when opening the door is reported.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Poor Quality

    5 years ago

    I have owned the Hunter Hawk from new. I was being patriotic by buying British.I found it was impossible to control the air intake.I finally discovered the door is twisted, unfortunately by
    the time I realized this was the problem it was out of warranty.I will be buying a new Wood Burner this year. It will NOT be a Hunter

    Stove expert replied: Hunter warranty on doors is 5 years providing the stove has been installed and operated as per their manual. The cause may be down to over-drawing due to the installation rather than a fault with the stove itself. A flue draw test should have been taken when installation was undertaken. (There are methods to overcome an overdrawing flue should this be found to be the cause.) Your warranty claim should be taken up with your supplier to investigate if you are eligible for a new door should the stove be less than 5 years old. Cast doors do not generally twist, it may be the stove body that has distorted.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Hunter Hawk 4 double sided single depth

    Simon Davies 5 years ago

    Had the Hunter Hawk 4, Double sided, single depth, and installed it 3 weeks ago, if your expecting heat from this then don't buy it. Ideally would like to sell it back!

    Stove expert replied: There are several factors why a stove fails to produce the heat expected. Firstly is this the correct size stove for the space you are trying to heat? Has this been installed correctly with adequate air for combustion? What fuel are you using and is it dry and seasoned with a moisture content on less than 20%? I would suggest that you go back to the installer to check that the flue draw is correct ect. The output that can be expected is 4 - 6kW.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Not as hot as predicted

    Richard Pearson 6 years ago

    Lovely looking little stove istalled a few weeks ago. Dissappointing heat output. Flue does not exceed 120degs C and stove has cooler spots between back and front of around 50deg C difference
    . Purchased a fan to circulate the heat but no real improvement. Lovely when the door is left open but not the intended way of running the stove.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Farewell to an old friend!

    Louise Clarkson 6 years ago

    We have moved house now and left my Hunter Hawk 4 behind. I was very sad about that. It kept my house toasty. With it's tertiary vents making the flames spiral it was better than tv most nights
    ! Very relaxing as well as warming. I was amazed at the power of something so small. I had no problem with the window and never had to change it. The house it is in is a 1930s semi. I had the brick chimney lined with a six inch liner. It is a lovely little stove. I had no problems with it. It belted out the heat so mostly we had it on tick over once it got going. Again I didn't over heat it. I found I couldn't damp it down without it doing regular "blow backs" which were a bit alarming. Firey hickups!!. I didn't really need to damp it down as it wasn't my only source of heating. I let it take over when I was around to enjoy it, but over night I relied on the central heating. It did save me on heating bills as I got hold of a fair bit of free fuel which kept me going.We had to make sure the chimney was well swept but that was about all. You should do this anyway. Once we didn't get the chimney swept all the way to the top and that caused problems. Not the stoves fault at all. Symptoms were difficulty lighting and getting going and smoke coming out into the room shortly after lighting. Eventually I was a bit more rigourous with the brush and got round the bend and up to the top. Not much came down but it was enough to upset the airflow at the top of the chimney and form a "bung" of slower moving air which caused all the grief. I would happily have another one.. in fact, having tried an open fire in our new house, and got very little heat of it, I have just bought a Cleanburn stove. This is from the same stable as the Hunter Hawk. Fingers crossed it is as good! Looking forward to getting it going.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Nice little Stove

    Berenice Anderson 6 years ago

    This is a lovely little stove, the only problem is the glass keeps cracking and at £35 a time it's getting beyond a joke, had the door replaced once by Hunter as they reckoned it could be
    twisted but when we sent it to them they lost it. If you can afford to keep replacing the glass then the stove is worth having

    Stove expert replied: Please insure that the fixings on the glass are not over-tightened as this may cause it to crack. Start with a gentle fire and gradually increase the heat may help.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Lovely stove but the replacement glass isn't cheap

    Berenice Anderson 6 years ago

    We have had a Hawk 4 for nearly 7 years and we love it, gives out brilliant heat, sometimes too much if that's possible, the only downfall is the glass keeps cracking, after numerous replacements
    we have had the door replaced as Hunter said it was twisted and all has been fine for a while but the stove hasn't been lit since January and the house has been empty for the last 3 months but we came back to find the glass has cracked again, no sense out of Hunter, they say it could have been knocked which is rubbish but at £30 a time even on the Internet replacements are cost prohibitive, may have to find a more reliable stove.

    Stove expert replied: Check that the fixings are no being over tightened and that the gasket between to glass and door is in tact, a shame about the glass problem when other aspects of the stove are so good.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Fantastic Little Stove

    John Adams 7 years ago

    I can't understand the negative reviews on this stove. I have had one for over 4 years now. I live in a 200 year old cottage (2 up - 2 down). The stove is in my lounge and is the principal heating for my whole house. I also have a twin walled stainless steel flue going up through the lounge and bedroom which acts as a massive radiator. The temperature remains between 19 and 22 deg C all winter. I use anthracite as fuel - whilst I like logs and have burnt them for years in other houses this stove is not large enough to make them practical for 24/7 use. With anthracite I basically light the stove October, tend it 3 times a day (breakfast, mid afternoon and last thing) and it stays in 24/7 until April unless I choose to let it go out to give it a good clean. I have had to replace the glass once (over enthusiastic riddling) and replace the door fire rope seal. Both easy jobs with a little WD40 and elbow grease. If you are looking for a small efficient stove then look no further. PS I have no connection at all with the manufacturer other than choosing their stove from dozens of others in a local specialist store.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2