WhatStove?

Heta Inspire 40 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Heta Inspire 40 stove

The Inspire 40 stove is a multi fuel stove with an nominal heat output of 4.5 kW. The stove is highly efficient at 81% and is also approved for smoke control areas.

Technical Data
  • Height: 585mm
  • Width: 460mm
  • Depth: 367mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Glass has cracked !!

    Stephen Norris 2 years ago

    We had our Inspire 40 installed in March when we moved into our house used up to April/May. Have started to use it again in October and noticed lots of tiny marks on the glass we burn mostly logs but do use coal as well. Got in touch with our installer who then spoke to his supplier the response was astonishing apparently we are using the wrong type of coal!!!! and they will not replace the glass. We have checked our paperwork and there are no warnings regarding types of coal! What makes it worse is that we had multi fuel stoves in our last property half the price of this one and had no problems burning the same coal. Very disappointed with reasons given looking into where we go from here. It seems that the stove we have is now not fit for purpose regarding being classed as a multi fuel burner. Very unhappy

    Stove expert replied: Household coal is not recommended on a closed appliance. Most smokeless fuels that end in ite are suitable eg: phurnacite, anthracite, maxibrite, taybrite. If the marks are like a spiders webb, that creep across the glass then this is due to the stove not be used correctly.Iit is being left to slumber for pro-longed periods and the flue gases are staying in the firebox for longer than normal, setting up a chemical reaction with the glass surface. It will not clean off, and has not affected to integrity of the glass. Short periods of fast burn are recommended, at least twice a day if continuous burning is taking place, these should last between 15-20 mins max.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

More reviews for Heta Inspire 40 stove

  • I love this stove

    Paul Gray 2 years ago

    I have owned and used this stove for 2 years - super quick to light and super fast to heat up ! With the addition of smokeless fuel it burns for 8 hours through the night ! Actually thinking of buying another to replace the kitchen one ! That or an Aga !
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Heta stove

    Rob Stanes 3 years ago

    Some reviews are positive and some not, you have to decide when buying something who shouts loudest, when I purchased mine I listened to all the singing, However I have to say that tonight it
    has taken my stove 1hr 50mins to actually produce heat. Am I doing it wrong ? No, I have watched YouTube (I'm sorry) and spoke to my installer and retailer. Very harsh review but I am certainly not impressed by this stove. Sorry Heta I'm sure you have lots of happy customers but I am not one of them!

    Stove expert replied: As with most things peoples experiences will differ and this is a case in point!. If the stove was working hard but not producing heat the likely cause is an over-drawing flue that is sucking the heated air up the chimney before it has time to heat the stove and radiate into the surrounding space. You do not give much in the way of detail except the length of time it took to produce heat. What fuel were you using? Was it dry and well seasoned with a moisture content of less than 20%. It may well not be the stove at fault, it is certainly worth investigating this further.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Great stove

    Ian Kyle 3 years ago

    Now that the cold weather has returned, I am once again using my Heta Aspire 40. I can thoroughly recommend this stove to anybody considering which unit to buy. The stove is quick to light and
    reach temperature. It radiates a significant amount if heat, easily warming my 18 by 16 high ceilinged Victorian room. I use a mix of kiln dried hardwood and Taybrite smokeless fuel. Start the stove on wood then add Taybrite to the hot ashes. Don't become obsessed about having a Ëśroaring" fire all night and the fuel usage is excellent, holding the temperature at 180-200c for 5 hours with 30 or so Taybrite nuggets and 5-6 decent logs. Looks great and works well. Get one !

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Instructions

    John Edwards 3 years ago

    The stove is good. And gives out great amounts of heat. Instructions are poor. No reference to cleaning out the stove after use. No mention of riddling with the control lever provided .
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Excellent Stove - makes cold winter nights enjoyable

    Paul Whiteman 3 years ago

    This was our first stove so we a little nervous about what to buy given the large number of stoves on the market, however for ease of use and the fantastic visual appeal of the fire through
    the large window we have been thoroughly pleased with our Heta stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Not what I expected !

    Christine Hughes 4 years ago

    Had this fire installed as restricted space. Pleased with look of fire and great when burning wood but had hoped it was multi fuel and wanted to burn anthracite. I have tried with not much success
    . I feel it does not get enough air and ash pan is tiny.

    Stove expert replied: Perhaps try an alternative smokeless fuel as anthracite may not suit this stove, do leave the bottom air controls open and have a clear ashpan so that air can pass through the grate and fuel. Different fuels do burn at different rates so if you try a few you may find a more suitable product.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Fantastic stove

    Ian Wortley 5 years ago

    I can't recommend this stove enough. I've had it installed for a few weeks now and it's fabulous. I installed it myself and I was able to find little in the way of instruction for doing so. I drilled a 5" hole straight through the wall at the back to fit the 4" semi-rigid aluminium pipe I settled on for the external air supply. I filled the gap with fire rated expanding foam (my new least favourite thing on the planet! - found the gloves in the lid too late). I put a bull-nose vent cover on the outside. The pipe was rated to 250 degrees C and before the install I was a bit worried in the event of a down draft that it would get too hot. I need not have worried though. After a couple of initial burns I let the stove run very hot for about 4 hours - so hot that I had to keep the windows open. The inlet pipe barely got warm. At normal burn temperatures the pipe remains cold with the cold air drawn in from outside. The huge amount of glass at the front offers a great view of the fire and also transmits the vast majority of the heat. There is a second sheet of metal at the back and this draws room air up keeping the temperature at the back down to a level where I was able to use standard paint on the wall behind at a distance of 11cm with no overheating problems. The stove is massively efficient. Once it is going it is sufficient to burn one or two logs at a time (alternating) to provide plenty of heat to our 25m2 room. The level of control over the external air is fantastic. I removed the stop on the controls which is there to comply with defra and keeps the air inlet at at least 40% open. This means that when the stove is not in use I can stop airflow completely which stops air whistling through it on a windy day from the draw through the chimney when not in use. I found no problems with heat underneath the stove. It gets barely warm in my case. I experimented with burning as low as I could go. The result was that when you go too low the glass will start to blacken. That was really low though. The airwash is superb. It would need to be really with the amount of glass. Burning wood taken from a removed hedgerow (ash and thorn) that is not as dry as it could be proved to not be much of a problem as long as I build up a good layer of embers. Ideally though I think properly dry wood is a good idea. I have only emptied the ash once in the last few weeks (another empty due soon I think). The burn is that efficient. However emptying through the grate (always fully closed when burning wood) to the pan below is not efficient. It's easier to take directly from on top of the grate. The build quality is excellent and the airflow design is exceptional. The unit came with a hefty glove, but although the top of the door handle can become hot I haven't had to use the glove once, even during that ridiculous burn I did. We are delighted we chose the Heta stove and when we eventually replace our other stove it will most likely be with a Heta again due to our experience with this stove.

    Stove expert replied: Running a stove on max should not exceed periods of 20 - 30mins at any one time, they do need to work but not flat out for prolonged periods. Ideally short periods of fast burn should be undertaken with a slumbering period in between. Wood that is picked from hedgerows should still be dried and used only when the moisture content is less that 20%. Finally as this is a self installation, do get it signed off by your local Building Control Office, this is important when a Hetas Engineer has not been used.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames