WhatStove?

Franco Belge Belfort stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 28 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Franco Belge Belfort stove

The Franco Belge Belfort stove is a compact model and will therefore be able to fit into smaller fire place settings.

It has a 5kw output & you do not need to put an air vent into the room as less than 5kw output.

You can get the Belfort stove in enamel finish as well.

There is 1 plain door with a glass panel on the stove and the flue pipe can come out of the top or back of the stove.

Technical Data
  • Height: 550mm
  • Width: 420mm
  • Depth: 340mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • A little gem

    Stephen Tranter 4 months ago

    I got my stove 2nd hand 20 year''s ago and it''s been an absolute gem. I''ve replaced the baffle plate 4 times, oscillating grate once, the glass twice and the door seal once which is really
    minimal in cost. I mainly burn wood and it''s saved me a small fortune in heating bills. I wouldn''t be without it!

    Stove expert replied: Certainly a good but and a very robust stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Little Belter!

    Mitch 12 years ago

    After a lot of consideration we decided on this stove. We removed a cast iron Victorian fireplace and installed this in the cavity. It's a nice fit and we did not have to alter the existing
    hearth due to the compact size of the stove. I think it's an excellent build quality and seems very sound. It took a while to get used to the operation but now feel like a master! Lighting is dead easy with lots of paper and kindling of various sizes. The secret seems to be in leaving the vent open and door ajar for a good 10 minutes to allow the stove to heat enough to draw properly by the vent alone. I only burn wood in it and do have trouble getting a good heat output if the wood is damp. I don't expect this fire to burn overnight, I don't need it to, and it's not designed to, so it doesn't! If it's REALLY cold I just load it up before bed and let it go out in the night. It's not hard to get going the next morning if I need it. I use it to supplement our gas central heating which it does very well in our 4 bed house! I was tempted to go for a bigger stove but I think we got it right. I like to keep it going pretty well flat out if I can as that's when it burns very cleanly. I clean out the ash a couple of times a week but this is very easy and no hassle. It took me ages to get the controllability right as you really need to choke back the air to get it to burn slower, but as I said, I usually have it going flat out. I would recommend this stove for use as we do in a Victorian, two story terrace.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Franco Belge Belfort stove (page 1 of 3)

  • It’s the best stove to get

    Peter Connolly one year ago

    I've had this Multifuel Belfort for over 10 years, it's installed in my kitchen. I have installed it with the flue coming out the rear , into a "˜T branch" then vertically up to almost ceiling height and into an existing chimney, with an access 45 bend. It is sat on a standard 600mm paving slab. I also have a flue temperature gauge (simple magnetic) This arrangement gives maximum heat output into the room, the ability to cook on, and filled with logs, will stay in all night. The air control allows very fine adjustment, almost like turning a gas fire up or down ! It's a quality stove, I believe the negative reviews are due to poor installations. If this stove is installed in a small fireplace, with the flue out the top, through a register plate, to the chimney, the performance is not very good, the heat is lost, up the chimney and give very poor convected heat to the room. In my view, it is not the way to install to get a good performance. I find the output around 2Kw when full on, the flue pipe is adding a lot more surface area to give heat to the room, like an extra radiator!

    Stove expert replied: The key to any installation is to make sure that you adhere to the manufacturers guidelines. There needs to be a good clearance around the stove to allow the heat produced to radiate freely. With a register plate the heat loss up the chimney should be minimal. Using a rear flue option does leave the top of the stove for warming things if required.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Waste of money

    Stephen Price 3 years ago

    12 months & countless tests by hetas experts & it still fills the house with an acrid paint smell...I''ve tried all types of fuel I've tried to regulate the temperature...very little heat no
    smell....moderate heat acrid smell....then leave it to burn & freeze whilst the smell goes....surely someone knows how to contact Franco Belge to discuss this problem

    Stove expert replied: The smell is likely to be something to do with the installation, more than likely flue originated. Has the flue been lined and backfilled with suitable insulation? Is any part of it close to any combustible materials? Does the smell happen just on lighting or only when the stove and flue are hot with an established fire? The stove is a metal box, where can a smell be generated from once the paint has cured? There have been known cases where the stove paint itself does not cure fully (not specifically with this brand though) and an acrid smell can result. You could rub the stove down and respray with suitable paint or go back to the supplier who in turn should contact the Franco Belge importer.

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Franco Belge Belfort Gas stove

    John Rowe 3 years ago

    We have had our stove for more than 15 years and it has always been excellent. Unfortunately the insulation around the cable that joins the petzel starter to the igniter has crumbled and now
    the thermocouple has packed up. Is there a way of having the stove refurbished as the stove condition is just like new.

    Stove expert replied: There are several spare part outlets which may be able to assist but should the part not be available any longer it is unlikely that it can be refurbished using non genuine spares.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Belfort Franco Belge

    Neville Lanham 3 years ago

    The Cam Pin grub screw ceases up therefore you can''t tighten it up, therefore it''s NOT locking as it should, therefore insufficient. A stainless cam pin - grub screw would make more sense
    .I will have to take the whole door off to buy the whole thing, ludicrous yes I know. How do I take the door off, can''t fathom that one out either!!!!!I would NOT recommend anybody buying this particular stove.

    Stove expert replied: The manual states: Figure 7 The closing latch rotates around a pressure screw positioned cam. - Loosen pressure screw 1. - Turn cam to desired position 2. Tighten pressure screw 1. In the manual it appears that the hinge pin can be knocked out so that the door can be lifted off the stove, a two handed job or rather two person may be better. Please refer to the manual for available replacement parts that may solve the locking problem.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Door Lock/Door Handle/Cam Pin Locking Grub Screw Problem

    Neville Lanham 3 years ago

    I have a BIG problem regarding the handle which is loose now and I have NO way of tightening it up ie..... I can''t budge the Cam PIN locking grub screw as it has ceased up, it''s just hanging loose, loosing it''s efficiency, "sigh sigh".......... I would replace it if I could move it, hmm. How about a stainless steel Grub Screw?? I have bought some new ceramic rope for the door ( correctly sized for this particular stove, as in the manual). This particular problem is a BIG problem. How does the door come off by the way?? if I have to buy the whole thing, including the door handle, Cam PIN Grub screw. Looking forward to receiving your assistance, thank you in advance.

    Stove expert replied: Have you tried using something like a releasing spray on the ceased part? You may be able to get the grub screw / pin drilled out and get a replacement if the spray does not work. A little heat can also improve the chances of moving a stuck screw sometimes.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Positive review but require help

    Stewart Gould 3 years ago

    I bought a Franco Belge Belfort gas stove about 14 years ago and have been extremely happy with it. The smaller stove fitted into my small fireplace like a dream and its definitely my wife and I''s favorite purchase since buying our house 15 years ago. It''s very warm and cosy and for a smaller stove gives out the right amount of heat for our needs. We love it. That said I have an ongoing issue that is irritating but not pulling my hair out over it. Hopefully the stove expert can shed some light? After about 4 years of trouble free service I decided to get a service/routine maintenance. Since that time I have been getting a fault every year where the stove just cuts out when you least expect/want it to. I have changed the thermocouple 3 times as this seems to be the diagnosis from the engineers who have been called out. I still get this problem to this day and was wondering if this is a common issue with an explanation on how to fix as it has a habit of cutting out when I least want it to. Any help or advice much appreciated Thanks

    Stove expert replied: Gas Safe Engineers will need to undertake the annual servicing and the thermocouples are the parts that normally require replacing as they deteriorate through wear. If the stove is cutting out, even after replacement, it could be due to the safety cut out being activated and the reason for this needs further investigation. It could possibly be due to the flue gases not getting away from the stove fast enough, possible cause down draught but gas stove are not something I have a great knowledge of.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Franco Belge Belfort

    Jacquie Rayner 3 years ago

    My Belfort is now in its 4th winter. It is very well built. The air control is excellent and it is great to use. My friend has had one of these for ten years, it is a fantastic stove.

    Stove expert replied: Two happy customers, nice comments

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Burns well, but stinks the house out.

    Stephen Price 3 years ago

    Does anyone know how to contact Franco Belge..this stove is now an expensive ornament..had an engineer out..nothing wrong with the installation..it''s all down to the paint...top gets hot (
    no smell )...put a bit more wood on..& I mean just a little bit, & we have to evacuate the building.

    Stove expert replied: Any smell that comes from a stove can only be from the heat it generates and initially it will be the paint curing. After the first few firings any smell will be down to the installation or fuel used. It may be that something is close to the flue in the chimney that is the cause. The stove in essence is a cast iron box so there is nothing that can cause a prolonged smell.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Burns well, but stinks the house out.

    Stephen Price 3 years ago

    We''ve used this burner about a dozen times...and it still smells the house out. I''ve been told that the paint needs to cure then it''ll stop...how much longer will it take..

    Stove expert replied: Normally the paint curing smell lasts for just a few firings. I suggest that if the smell persists, get the installation checked to insure that there is nothing close causing the smell. The stove paint cures and hardens with heat and the smell should not persist.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3