WhatStove?

Esse 200 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Esse 200 stove

The Esse 200 stove is a 7.5kw multi fuel stove capable of buyrning wood, coal and smokeless fuel.

It has the same width & height as the Esse 100 - but has a greater depth - so also has a bigger output and fire box.

The Esse 200 stove has 1 plain door with a relatively large glass window in it. The Esse 200 and Esse 100 are tall narrow stoves which maximises the area of the glass.

Technical Data
  • Height: 630mm
  • Width: 610mm
  • Depth: 350mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Simply the best!!!

    4 years ago

    Fitted my esse 200 seven years ago. I take it out every year clean and black it and sweep the flue etc. This stove has never let me down. Lights first time every time. In the winter it stays
    in all night with a small amount of ovals on. It is easy capable of running for 24 hours untouched. Best choice I have ever made.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • esse 200

    Jake Jackson 9 years ago

    Overall a very good stove which heats our lounge which is 30ft long fairly quickly.The only problem we have had is one of the firebricks kept dropping but this was rectified by our installer. I would buy this stove again.

    Stove expert replied: Minor issue with fire brick but glad to hear this is now sorted satisfactorily.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Esse 200 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • A good stove

    Gavin Collinson 5 years ago

    We had this fitted about 15 months ago. The room is large and not well insulated. We have been impressed by the heat output and have added a fan to get the heat to the far end of a long room
    . I particularly like that the window remains clean and rarely needs cleaning. My other woodburner needs cleaning every couple of days (same wood).I am irritated that on opening the door a small amount of hot ash falls onto the hearth. My other (cheaper) woodburner has a small metal grid to prevent this. Equally the handle gets very hot and you need the supplied glove to open the door. I find that you need to get the chimney warm before it will draw effectively and now as a matter of routine, burn 2 pages of newspaper before attempting to lay a fire. Previously, we would get smoke coming into the room.So in summary, I would recommend it. There are a couple of niggles, but you get used to it. It is a good value stove which produces good heat and is attractive.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Esse 200 XK SE - a fantastic stove at a reasonable price.

    Steve Brook 6 years ago

    We needed an 8kw Defra-approved stove with a 'landscape' form factor. After much deliberation (I've chosen cars with less consideration), we settled on the Esse. I am absolutely delighted with our decision. Construction and materials are of a high standard, and the degrees of controllability means it is very versatile. I season and cut my own logs, so the Esse's 18" capacity is a big advantage. We are heating a 10m x 4m x 4m space, and leave the room doors open to heat up the rest of the house - it's so efficient. We are burning seasoned logs mixed with Verdo briquettes and a little goes a long way over the course of an evening. The airwash works well, and the glass rarely needs a clean afterwards. If I had one criticism, it would be that the ash pan is rather small, meaning it has to be emptied after each use, but it is easily done and no hardship. The handle is chrome, and does get very hot so you must use the supplied glove. The riddling device is smooth and easy to use, and the door handle is easily adjusted to take up the slack caused by the rope compressing over time. I purchased mine from a company in Sheffield. Not only were they extremely patient and helpful, but they were very competitive, a great company t deal with. I also have had good support from an Esse technician when I phoned up with a pre-sale enquiry. Overall, I'm very pleased with our Esse 200 XK SE, which I expect to give many years of satisfaction
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Excellent stove

    JamesP 8 years ago

    I would say, however, that I was slightly taken in by some reviews on this site regarding the heating properties of stoves in general. Like any other large stove, the XK is effectively a big
    , very hot radiator. Unless you live in a box it won't replace central heating no matter how much wood you burn!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • 200 XK

    Ken Stares 8 years ago

    A very nice stove. Looks good and robust and certainly gives out a lot of heat. Not tried logs, but it burns anthracite and excel. Sometimes get a bit of smoke back in the room when you stoke
    it up, but not a big problem. I would recommend this stove.

    Stove expert replied: If smoke coming back into the room persists this should be investigated further and rectified.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Esse 200

    Gill Scott 10 years ago

    We love this stove and great(or should that be grate) news - it now has a riddler! Having read up in detail on multi fuel stoves we ordered the Esse with the only reservation being lack of
    riddler but we received the new model with riddler grate and we are delighted - easy to light, looks stunning and belts out the heat which we need in our very cold stone house on the edge of the moors - local fitter is also our chimney sweep and built us a lovely fireplace revealing the original stone lintel - go to Myevac Fireplaces or Buxton Stoves they were excellent.

    Stove expert replied: Good review of Esse 200 stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Esse 200

    David Bolton 10 years ago

    We have had this for coming up on three years. We took a long time to research the best stove of this output and settled on the Esse. It is good value with a good build and performance. We
    use it daily once the days get cold and it has slashed our oil bills. We use wood only. On the positives, it is very easy to light, heats a large room very well indeed, looks great (visitors usually remark on its friendly blaze or glow and looks), and we use the woodash for the garden. We like the fact it easily takes 15-16 inch logs. On the downside (minor points) a raddle would have helped to clear the ash and the controls are a bit insensitive - but with time we know how to make it work well. The airwash works well usually and only now and again does it need the glass to be cleaned usually depending on the quality of the wood. We seldom keep it in overnight but it works well when we do (or when we are out for the day and come home a warm firs that gets going quickly). Turf (peat) works very well and is great for an overnight fire. Usually the glass gets smokey when we keep it in but clears when we get a good blaze going. We usually heat a kettle on the top, or simmer stews and soups. Whilst with some minor imperfections, overall we love it and would happily commend to to others.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Esse 200

    Matt Driver 11 years ago

    A good hot stove excellent to look at and chucks out plenty of heat even from the smallest of logs. Once turned down you can get plenty of burn time from good size logs. Easy to use however
    the controls in my opinion are fairly poor, there's no indication marks to help with the controls and they're difficult to get in just the right spot for whatever you're burning. Simple marks showing where fully closed to fully open would be helpful. I use the end of the poker to tap them to the required position.The first time I used the stove it still had glowing embers the next day. An absolute doddle to keep in overnight by banking up very lightly and turning the air down.I'm not sure that the roof plate in the firebox will last the test of time as it's fairly flimsy steel. Other stoves that I've used have been made of similar weight material as the stove itself.Cleaning out. Unfortunately the stove doesn't have a riddle plate. The grate offers only small holes for ash to fall through and I found that very little ash ever falls through to the pan below without some serious pokering of the embers and ash above. Cleaning is therefore not too good and if you intend to keep the fire in for most of the winter you'll find it bit of a pain.Would I buy it again? Possibly not -- I love everything about the fire but other fires of similar output and size do have riddle plates.We researched the purchase of the fire very thoroughly based on allowed size and required output.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Beautiful and easy to use

    Fiona Bumpstead 12 years ago

    This is a beautiful looking stove. Easy to use & clean - the glass door stays clear and gives a lovely view of the fire. It heats our 5.7 x 9m lounge with ease (we have to open the door sometimes
    as it can get too warm!). We cannot rate it highly enough and would certainly buy the same again. Top tip - leave a through draft ie door open when first lighting as occasionally the smoke comes back into the room otherwise (it might be our flue but I thought I'd mention this anyway).
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2