WhatStove?

Esse 100 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 39 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Esse 100 stove

The Esse 100 is a 5 kilowatt multi fuel stove. It has 1 plain door with a big glass in it.

The Esse 100 is tall and wide but relatively narrow so you get a very large glass window with a relatively low heat ouput. The Esse 100 is therefore a good choice of stove where you want a big window but not too much heat or where there is a restricted depth of hearth.

The Esse 100 is made of steel and cast iron.

The Esse 100 SE version is approved for woodburning in smoke control areas.

Technical Data
  • Height: 630mm
  • Width: 610mm
  • Depth: 310mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Would not buy one again

    Frank BORTOLI 8 months ago

    The stove is one of the best looking stoves around which is why we bought one. Having said that its control ability leaves a lot to be desired. I shouldn't need to get up every twenty minutes to adjust the vents when its either roaring away or about to go out. I burn seasoned oak on it with less than 20% moisture content and its still so unpredictable. My friend has a Clearview and that knocks spots of the Esse, wish I had gone for a Clearview. I also purchased fire bricks from Esse and the back one lasted 3 weeks, when I complained their attitude was they didn't really care.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

Most Popular Review

  • The Esse 100

    Chris Turner 13 years ago

    The Esse 100 is great it works really well but can often be too warm so if youve got a small room the 100 is more than enough. Ours heats the whole cottage we often shut it down overnight an
    we only empty the ash once a month remembering that wood burns with air from the top. We are absolutely stunned by the difference between the esse and an open fire.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Esse 100 stove (page 1 of 4)

  • handle sticking

    Allison Barrett 2 years ago

    I have had this stove for a few years now and am mostly very happy with it, but of late the handle is sometimes impossible to move, especially when the fire is hot. this is a pain as I have
    to let it die right down before I can open the door. Wondering if anyone else has had the same problem and found a solution - I have tried oiling it but this helps for a very short time only.

    Stove expert replied: Graphite oil / spray is a good option for easing handles, it is readily available.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Esse 100 SE

    Andrew Lyons 4 years ago

    Recently installed an Esse 100 SE. Firstly I chose this stove as it met my requirements perfectly and it looks really great. Heat output is only 5kW but this meets the needs of my living room perfectly. My fireplace is quite large so I needed a large stove so that it didn't look out of place in the space. Plus it has a large glass window. I paid £100 for a log store underneath and it also raises the height of the stove. Controls work very well and the airwash system is very controllable. The only 2 negatives are the warranty of 1 year which is a let down. And the stove handle gets very hot - however they do supply a glove.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Nice looking stove. A little disappointed though.

    Glen Anderson 4 years ago

    Would I buy another? No, I don''t think so. Not because of the warping baffle issue, that was easy enough to rectify, although it shouldn''t have happened; but I''d definitely look for something
    easier to control. The "Little Thurlow" I had in my previous home was much easier to live with.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Esse G100 gas fire stove

    4 years ago

    I have had this fire two and a half years it has never worked properly I could sit trying to light it for 40 minutes. Door glass cracked had to order a new one £58 told it was normal for this type of fire Would not recommend this fire waste of money.

    Stove expert replied: Faults with any stoves should be reported initially to the supplier which in turn would be fed back to the manufacturer which in this case is Esse, if the supplier is not able to rectify the problem. Esse would then send out their Gas Engineer so this review seems strange when you say it has not worked in the time you have had it! Have you reported the problem, was any action taken by the supplier etc? Glass in stoves can crack at any point, it is something that is not covered by the manufacturers warranty and is not specific to this stove.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Baffle plate

    5 years ago

    Had this log burner in for 9moths now and company we bought it from went bankrupt so we can not go back to them.The baffle plate has bent really badly so needs replacing, but I cannot find out
    how to take it out to replace and where do I buy one!

    Stove expert replied: Spares can be purchased on line and the manual has been sent to your email for guidance on removal of the baffle plate. As this has distorted in such a short time you are advised to get the installation checked as you may have an over-drawing flue that is subjecting the internal components to higher than normal working conditions.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Stylish and feels like a tv not a stove!

    Victoria Russell 5 years ago

    I bought Esse 125SE stove last September and haven't looked back. its stylish and the large glass window feels like you are watching a telly in fact its great to watch! I have had a recent problem
    though - the top air vent is stuck and without a hammer is difficult to move. any ideas stove lovers??
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Brilliant stove

    Cheryl Jewell 6 years ago

    Very impressed with the Esse 100 stove. The airwash is very good and the glass keeps clean, very rarely have to clean. The efficiency is also very good and does not need to be re filled often
    . Very easy to get the fire going and do so with kiln dried logs.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • A few years with the Esse 100 MF

    Andrew Cichocki 6 years ago

    Excellent stove now but not without it's initial teething problems.The initial installation left quite a bit to be desired plus the stove went through wood like there was no tomorrow as the
    draw was too much up the chimney, this caused it to burn too hot which warped the baffle plate and cracked the vermiculite bricks as well as sucking all the heat up the chimney and the constant noise of air whistling into the stove.So I redid the whole thing myself, properly. I got a new baffle plate from esse which is now thicker as well as new firebricks, I also found the hinges were different lengths causing the door to not seal properly at the top, Esse sent me new hinges for free 12months outside the warranty!, excellent service. I also converted the stove to rear flue box with damper. I extended the handle so it can be controlled from the side of the stove. Always open this before opening the stove door to prevent smoke getting inside.It burns so well now and is so controllable and uses less than half of the wood it used to, flue temperature has dropped by 100 Dec C whilst stove temp has gone up by 100 Deg C. It is easy to light and leaves very little ash, and is quiet.I have put a Vulcan fan on top of the blanked top flue plate and point it backwards which increases the room temperature by a full 2 deg C for no extra fuel and keep an open stove top kettle on top for adding humidity as it gets to dry otherwise. I keep the door open to the living room where the fire is and put a Bionaire mini fan just by the door opening blowing air at floor level into the living room with the stove in it, this displaces the hot air in the room and circulates the heat throughout the rest of the house, also the ionising function quenches any smoke which may escape when opening the door to the stove.With all this it can get too hot after a few hours and the stove hardly burning, no need to use the central heating at all.My ratings are now after my changes to the original installation.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • esse 100 mf

    Michael English 6 years ago

    I've had this stove for about 18 months now, we bought the stove because of Esses good reputation and I feel I should have bought a cheaper one from china. We've never managed with seasoned
    wood, smokeless coal etc to have an overnight burn and the glass always blackens up as soon as we shut it down. the worst part is though when we shut it down the smoke builds up and puffs out of the door. We've had Esse out to check the stove and fitted a flue damper, and anti down draft cowl but nothing has changed so remain very unhappy with this. Our In laws runs theirs for 24hrs on wood and its like a gas fire they just open it up and it lights up straight away.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4