WhatStove?

Burley Debdale 9104

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 21 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Burley Debdale 9104

The Burley Debdale 9104 is a small, DEFRA approved wood burning stove with a multi fuel option

Technical Data
  • Height: 560mm
  • Width: 420mm
  • Depth: 315mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Just too fussy. Efficiency at the cost of practicality.

    Aleks Gray one year ago

    Having used many fires over many years, this is probably the least practical. Problems started with the top fire brick not having anything to locate it in place and had moved to the front somewhere along the line so the heat was going straight up the chimney. There''s a flimsy mesh plate which also does not fit well and had fallen off at the back. The mesh is so weak that my fingers went through it while trying to put it back. I''ve never had a fire that is so temperamental, that I had to follow the instructions exactly. Yes, I read the instructions again after being disappointed in its performance. It states: The maximum amount of fuel specified in this manual should not be exceeded. The weight of dry wood per hour is: 1.0kg for the 9103, 1.3kg for the 9104, 1.6kg for the 9105, 2.8kg for the 9108 and 4.4kg for the 9112. Overloading can damage components of the stove. The stove is not designed for overnight operation. So after following and even weighing the wood my conclusions are: It does not like logs bigger than 4" across, more than one log at a time or wood much over 15% moisture. It also needs a lot of kindling to give it a good base as it will not draw up from a low fire, let alone embers. But once up and running; one dry, 4 x 8 inch log once an hour will give you a lot of heat. Very efficient. Personally, I prefer a more practical fire, even if it does mean a bit more wood.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great Little Stove

    BenDodd 6 years ago

    Had this stove about 2 weeks now, great stove, well built, uses hardly any wood and kicks out a lot of heat, handle is an irritation sometimes as it does loosen, however, you do need to adjust
    this properly as per the instructions provided and tighten with both the allen key and a spanner and really tighten it up, I have found that once this is done its fine. Glass keeps clean and the fire ball effect is amazing. Very easy to use, I have the room sealed kit as well so even more efficient, gets going easy.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Burley Debdale 9104 (page 1 of 3)

  • A whole new way to burn wood

    Tim Hambelton 2 years ago

    In summary. The small firebox it a bit restrictive, however I have burned briquettes which poses no issue; but a gnarly bit of hawthorn poses a challenge!! It is a good looking well put together
    stove that lights easily and is very controllable and fuel efficient whilst still putting heat into the room rather than out of the chimney. Well worth the investment and I am thoroughly impressed with the design and ease of use.

    Stove expert replied: Ideally logs should be no more than 4" diam to get the most efficient burn - if you use larger then more energy is taken to burn them than with a smaller log and efficiency is lost.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Great little stove but needs attention

    Martin Ross 2 years ago

    I have rented many cottages with solid-fuel stoves and owned a narrowboat with two. The Debdale has the best flame-picture and belts out heat. It''s easy to light but does need to be run at ''full chat'' to get the best out of it. I find that it''s best to light it with a lot of kindling but that it can run with the door closed after about five to ten minutes. The firebox is not very deep (front to back) and it runs best on eight-inch logs. It needs to have air around all sides of the logs. It draws well on a windy day but needs the regulator almost fully open on a calm day. It really does burn the ash - I''ve just removed ash for the first time after burning for six hours a day for three weeks. Compressed peat burns well but the ashes are still red hot after twenty-four hours! If run slowly the glass does not stay clear as the air wash is also restricted when you close the only control. The construction is superb. It is an elegant, understated stove. I love that is supplied with paint to touch it up over time. If you try and close it down a bit, it will probably go out. But when you have ''the knack'' it is a brilliant stove. I use an IR thermometer to see if it is remaining hot or tending to cool. At full belt, it runs at over 220C on the glass. If this drops below 180C, then it needs more air or more fuel. Currently, I am burning kiln-dried pine or spruce logs at 15% humidity or less. I don''t think this stove will work with supermarket logs - you need to find a reputable supplier. I bought a builder''s dumpy bay of kiln-dried logs for £50, delivered and they have been an absolute joy. In three weeks I have used only a quarter of these. If I light the fire in the morning, it will warm the whole house. In my 40m3 room, with the door open, it''s now25 C !!

    Stove expert replied: No stove should be operated on maximum draw continuously. Short periods of maximum burn for 15 - 20 mins max is what is recommended with a more gentle slumbering period in between.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Problem glass

    Richard Wills 2 years ago

    This is it''s 3rd year of use .. the glass became cloudy in the first season of use . I've had wood burners for years . While it was still new I asked the manufacturer about this problem . They
    weren't interested and sent a generic email about how to use the stove ,etc . On the whole the fire is excellent for heat output and efficiency but the whole experience has been marred by the cloudy glass . After spending that much on a fire I will keep it going and maybe buy a new glass . I've never had a glass become acid etched , let alone this quickly .

    Stove expert replied: Glass can be affected by the flue gases if you are not operating the stove effectively and it is shut down or a slumbering mode for prolonged periods, this gives a spiders web affect that gradually creeps across the glass. The cloudy appearance is caused by the stove being over-drawn and the glass surface becomes damaged, it does not affect the integrity and can continue to be used. Both of these are permanent changes that can't be wiped off. I would suggest getting a flue pipe thermostat that gives you the recommended working temperatures for your stove and should prevent this from happening again..

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Excellent small stove

    Debbie Watson 4 years ago

    This is my second winter since installation and my first ownership of a logburner. I was limited by the size of the recess it was fitting into and particularly wanted a simple looking stove
    with no ornate trims. I researched carefully before purchase and was impressed with the claimed efficiency. It needs to be built up slowly when first lighting but is so easy to use, fantastic flame effect and extremely economical. Really pleased that I took the step of replacing gas with this very effective heater. Contrary to some I have had no issues with the handle, wondering if it has been updated.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Fantastically efficient

    4 years ago

    After a few teething problems (it lights and burns in a different way to ordinary log burners) once you have a good bed of ashes it burns forever on a basket of wood . This little 4 kW version
    is more than able to heat our double sitting room . With the aid of a stove fan it also pushes heat upstairs to take chill off if we leave stairs door open . Some comments I've seen note that it's hard to light . If you follow the instructions you should have no problem . I haven't in 2 months of use even on the calmest if days . It also seems to be solid and well made . Also made in Britain . Not the cheapest but for economy of wood you can't go wrong . The only thing I can find against is the air wash isn't the best I've ever used . Although by the end of burning you can still see the flames .
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Best stove in the world

    5 years ago

    Bought this stove last summer and fitted shortly after. It's unique in the way it burns, i.e a single log at a time, self-perpetuating air flow, bed of ash, etc. At the end of the winter we
    still have half our log store left and this is after regular fires. Ridiculously efficient and great flames throughout. I can't recommend this enough (previously had a Stovax burner before - nothing like as good).
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Great stove- utterly delighted

    Mae Mai 5 years ago

    We had the Burley Debdale installed in October 2015 and are extremely pleased with it. We find that it is straight forward to light, making sure the wood is dry, and gives out a great amount
    of heat. We find the door only needs to be ajar for about 5 minutes for it to get going. The glass needs cleaning every now and then, but that is probably as we are burning the wood slowly which is well known to cover the glass. When burning hot it is clear. Having a wooden handle to open and close the door is great, no hot metal to touch at all, and nice catch on the door lock to keep it ajar too. Would definitely recommend.

    Stove expert replied: Great review.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Absolutely perferct

    Daniel Osei 5 years ago

    Highly efficient, stunning flame ball effect. Heats the ground floor within 45 minutes before gradually heating the upper floor (with doors left open). Spent months researching into a stove
    and definitely proud we opted for the Debdale 9104.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • warm ad toast

    David Kirk 5 years ago

    Very good fantastic flame effect. Warms all the downstairs 17 foot conservatory 17 foot lounge we have to open all the doors best buy ever
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3