WhatStove?

Burley Brampton 9108 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 40 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Burley Brampton stove

This is part of the Surefire range of Burley stoves -

with a 8 kw output it is quite a high output stove for smokeless areas.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Poor stove

    Harry Langworthy one year ago

    My mum and two sisters have a Clearview, easy to start, forgiving of sub optimal fuel, clear glass etc, it''s interesting that there are no comparative reviews with other stoves, if it is "
    the most efficient wood burner available, why is not mentioned in which or similar reviews? Not really interested in tanks!
    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • I LOVE THIS STOVE

    Craig 8 years ago

    I am a life long chimney sweep second generation Hetas Nacs reg for the last 13 years, I love stoves and have a builders opening with a telescopic flue pipe. I buy and sell stoves its easy for me to pop it in and try it out but after you have experienced the Burley nothing compares. The flame pattern is beyond belief, I strongly recommend you buy this stove. I am in no way connected to Burley this is just based on my experience.

    Stove expert replied: Good feedback from an independent installer.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Burley Brampton 9108 stove (page 1 of 4)

  • Waste of money

    Adam Naser one year ago

    I bought this stove last winter after going through some good reviews.My issues: back brick cracked, baffle / mesh filter disintegrated, flames inside the stove always go to the top left corner
    although all bricks are pushed back every time before starting the fire in order to allow air to come out of all inlets.I have contacted Burley technician and he gave me the golden magic answer "over firing the stove" in order to wiggle out of their very poor quality consumables, he wouldn''t understand that air inside the stove is not equally distributed due to poor engineering which causing all the flame (heat) to go to one corner only.I will not recommend Burley stove at all, I went back to read the reviews and found out that many customers had the same problems, stay away.Replacement consumables are ridiculously expensive.I have followed instructions to the letter, never over fired the stove.Paint did faint away after about three weeks but in fairness Burley sent me a spare can of paint, what a quality!!

    Stove expert replied: Disappointing review. Manufacturers do not cover consumable items in their warranty and liners can easily crack for several reasons but providing they stay in place and protect the metal of the stove can be used. Was a flue draw test undertaken to ascertain that this is correct for this stove? Have you a stove thermometer which indicates the correct operating temperature? Were the air controls on the stove responsive? Burley has supplied paint you say to cover fading paintwork, and once the paint is cured may be required to keep the stove looking in pristine condition. Operating and routine maintenance are also of great importance to the longevity of any stove and flue system.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Great Stove

    Nicholas Cheevers one year ago

    Have had the Brampton for about 5 years.I think it is very well made and design is excellent.I have a long flue and the draw is good.The glass is still crystal clear and I find it easy to maintain
    . Just clean off any deposits with damp newspaper before use. Leave any sticky deposits to burn off.I have not had to replace any parts, the inside looks fine.Be gentle when putting in large logs as the vermiculite slabs are soft.My only regret is that the stove is probably too large for the room. These modern burners need burn at a reasonable temperature to be efficient and clean so the room gets too hot!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Burley Brampton 9108

    Darren Abell 2 years ago

    Having done loads of research for this stove we purchased on in 2015. We didn''t get to fit until 2016 and then used it all winter. It gives amazing flame effects and gets the room nice and toasty. However... Its not quick to light, sometimes takes 3 goes despite following all the instructions, which I feel now is a case of getting the flue warm to get the draw going. When opening the door to refuel, despite the slowest of techniques, a plume of smoke escapes. The damper control at the bottom came loose and wobbly after a couple of months use. The door hinges need a daily oil to stop a binding hinge. The glass. Well, like a fool I didn''t clean every day, so when you light it and a bit of condensation occurs it reacts with what''s on the glass and an acid etches into the glass. It does not polish out. This was only a couple inches diameter and now we clean the glass before EVERY use. The other day my wife did get it too hot and now its fogged up nearly half the screen. The top baffle is a piece of tin mesh and will need replacing after 2 winters for us. No issues with the front log holder. The fire bricks are in tact but they''re very soft and again may only last use 2 winters. Reading through other reviews and some replies that have been made, these are some common faults. The replies imply operator error or fitting error but that''s not the case in all these complaints. Our previous stove was a morso squirrel and that was incredible, easy to light, little smoke billow, easy clean glass even after 5 years, well made. I bought the Burley due to efficiency ratings and wanting a large stove. I do like it and can''t afford to replace it. It does give off great heat and when the glass is cleaned daily the flames are awesome. But it will cost in consumables which the Morso didn''t. Even based on this I would consider another but I haven''t explored the market since 2015. Writing this in Oct 2018.

    Stove expert replied: The review gives a great deal of information which is informative. The flue draw appears to be an issue with regard to finding lighting a problem and smoke coming back into the room, this may be a case for the need of an airbrick in the room or the flue length not being adequate to get a good draw. Were both of these checked prior to installation? Some flues require a fan to assist in these circumstances. High temperature Silicone Spray for metal parts are available and should not require daily usage and may be worth investing in. Glass can be affected by long periods of slumbering, where the gases stay in the firebox too long and this will become evident with a spiders web effect, that creeps over the glass, short periods of fast burn (15 - 20 min max) should be undertaken during burning periods to prevent this. Likewise if you over fire the stove a cloudy appearance is evident that will not clean off as the glass surface has been damaged. The integrity remains though so there is no need to change the glass it just means you are not able to enjoy the full flame picture unobstructed.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Best move ever.

    James Paterson 2 years ago

    After years of electric heating(storage) we bought this stove. Had to remove double doors to dining room to dissipate heat. Easy to clean, little residue. Need to replace glass as corner broke
    off, cannot determine if it`s one or two panes of glass with a seal in between. Great stove.

    Stove expert replied: The spares suppliers will be able to assist you with the glass replacement, good review for this model.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Not a great stove in the long run

    Andrew Ellis 3 years ago

    Our initial few months of the stove where great. It chucked out a lot of heat. However in the long term there are issues. The glass is cloudy (etched). I burn wood that has been under cover
    for 3 years. Friends with air wash system still have glass that one can admire the fire with. We can barely see in to ours. I am not spending my hard earnt money on glass that will go milky in a season of burning again.The metal baffle and mesh are just not man enough. The cost of replacing the consumables with this stove is ridiculous. You will probably need to replace the baffle every 2 years. The vermiculite insulation panels have a serious flaw. Someone thought it would be great to have the Burley logo etched in them. This causes stress points. Both back panels cracked from the corner of the letters in weeks. I was extremely careful with the second one and not a single log rolled against it. It was in three bits after a few months. Again, I feel it is pointless buying new panels when I know they are going to self destruct infant of my eyes.The rope seal doesn''t quite make it through the winter. Again a very specific seal to the stove. Regular stove rope doesn''t work.good points.Efficient it is. Nice and hot. Can be hard to to control on windy days as even fully shut down it wants to draw. Conversely on still days we have it almost half across. Chimney is nice and clean.

    Stove expert replied: The problems experienced sounds as if the stove has been over-drawn and the cloudy glass is indicative of this, the last sentence would also lead me to say the problems with parts failing prematurely are also signs that the stove is getting too hot for prolonged periods: "Can be hard to to control on windy days as even fully shut down it wants to draw." A stove is designed to work at an optimum temperature (I would suggest a stove thermostat is invested in) but if exposed to higher temperatures for prolonged periods then failure of parts is inevitable.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Great stove

    Andrew Millar 3 years ago

    Have the stove about 3 months. Extremely efficient - more heat from same amount of fuel than other stoves. Easy to light, by simply making sure the kindling is at the same level as the air
    supply holes. I put in 3 logs about 2" dia each first, then a firefighter, and then kindling on top of that. No problem at all with glass. Ignore poor reviews, they are using wet wood or not lighting properly. I have no connections to Burley.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • extremly poor

    Jamesd Wootton 3 years ago

    i have recently purchased a burley and installed by registered fitter. what a mistake! impossible to light, very smoky, glass opaque within a few months. poor quality fittings.
    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Perfect purchase!

    Gillian Mostyn 3 years ago

    We had our stove fitted 3 months ago and couldn''t be more pleased with our purchase. The stove is easy to light and warms our large lounge really quickly. Any soot deposits that form soon burn off once it gets hot, and the view of the vortex of flames is stunning. I did notice after purchase that there were no air inlet holes in the back left pillar. On enquiries with the manufacturer, I discovered that they have removed them in that location to try to reduce the ''frosting'' that others have noticed on the glass. It seems the airwash was too powerful, forcing ash onto the glass which may have been etching it. From what I can see, the change certainly hasn''t caused any reduction in the flames and our glass is still perfect. I would be happy to recommend this stove.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Not Impressed

    D McArthur 4 years ago

    We are singularly unimpressed with this stove. It is only 2 years old and the insulation panels have cracked,the top metal plate has buckled and the mesh burnt away. The stove has never been
    ''overfired''.This stove is very efficient when operating as per the instructions, however it then burns wood so rapidly it is hardly more efficient in wood than an open fire, although it does give out more heat. But hardly economical.The glass keeps reasonably clean if burning the stove fast, but turn it down and it soots up rapidly. Would we buy one again? Definitely not, there are many better stoves on the market.

    Stove expert replied: Internal parts are classed as consumable but it is a shame that these have not lasted very well. The liners do crack sometimes but providing they stay in place, to protect the stove metal, they can continue to be used. The baffle plate buckling does raise concerns that the stove may be working harder than it should be and this needs to be carefully monitored.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4