WhatStove?

Burley Wakerley stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 16 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Burley Wakerley stove

Larger output stove in the Surefire range of Burley stoves

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Brilliant

    Maureen Tristram 9 months ago

    We have had this wood burner since 2013 Had it installed by a very good company into our old house was given good advice on how to use it and about the wood we burn and they sweep the chimney
    and check it over replacing what is needed every year It lights well and when it gets going it heats the whole house Would definitely buy another one!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • parts wakerley

    Lee Ibberson 7 years ago

    I have owned this stove for twelve months. I have only one issue and that is parts . The steel perforated baffled warped within 6 month or less the mesh is none existent . I explained this to
    Burley and was told I must have over fired the stove . I burn logs of varied kinds and pine to light it. I have burned maybe 100 times since owning it. I was told I have to buy a new part for it . Once I removed the baffle it seems very flimsy and not fit for purpose. I had an engineer look at it and he laughed at the quality of this and said a match would warp this if left on long enough .
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

More reviews for Burley Wakerley stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Perhaps needs another 1000 or so years design work?

    Andy Keely one year ago

    Finally, a question for you ''fire expert''... If ash finds it''s way outwards through the holes that supply air to the base of the fire, how can it be removed? Presumably, your answer will
    be that the natural flow of air will be inwards so it shouldn''t happen? I''m not so sure & reckon that a blast of compressed air will be about the only way to shift any accumulation & potential blockage.

    Stove expert replied: The stove will have been thoroughly tested before going to market, so the holes that are referred to should not become blocked during normal usage.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Great stove

    Nick Sellers 2 years ago

    Had a couple of Holywell stoves so when we moved to a house with a huge living room Burley was the obvious choice. The wakerley is great. Lights well but takes a few minutes to get hold. This is probably as the flue is a tad short though. Overall great and chucks out loads of heat and quite efficient
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Smokey

    Jude Knox 4 years ago

    We've had this stove for under a year after moving into an big old house- we replaced a Rayburn oil cooker with this. We deliberated a long time about the make & size we wanted but as we had a smaller burley in our old house settled on what we knew. We live rurally on a hill but find the draw to be very poor on a still day and find the smoke & ash swirling into the room when we open the door a total nightmare. We find that the better the fire is going the less smoke we get - so the problem improves with time. I think the problem is that the door is very large compared to the depth of the stove - most stoves are square in shape this one is rectangular. Plus points are the physical amount of logs you can fit in but despite this we can''t get it to go all night. We wish we had bought something else

    Stove expert replied: The flue draw seems to be the problem from what you say and this is not the stoves fault! Is there an air brick in the room? Are there other flues in the property that may have a stronger draw that is affecting this one? Have you an anti-downdraught cowl fitted? Is the chimney lined? What height is the flue system? As the draw improves when the flue is warm this shows the flue is the problem. Wood burning stoves are not recommended for use over-night, the slow burning period produces too many tar residues and can lead to chimney problems. Do get the installation checked as the problems outlined should be able to be improved on.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Smokey and getting more and more difficult to get/keep going

    4 years ago

    I have had my Burley Wakerley since Sept 2014. Originally I wanted a Clearview 750 but the installer said that was not ideal due to the diameter of the chimney/flue so I went with his recommendation
    of a Burley Wakerley. Initially it was great but as time has gone by it is evident that this Burley stove is a cheap alternative to the Clearview. It''s smokey, difficult to get and keep going due to no draw and I am forever having to clean out the bottom as there is no removable ash box and if I don''t there is no hope at all of getting the fire going. This Christmas we had to put the thing out shortly after lighting it as there was smoke coming out of every possible orrifice, back of the stove, around the door seals, between the flue joins as well as pouring out of the door once opened. Eventually we closed the vent right down and opened all the windows. There doesn''t seem to be enough draw to get it going. From a quality perspective: The wooden door handle has fallen off, the stone slab at the back of the stove has cracked in half because the metal sheet in front has bowed and no longer sits straight, more on a slant. I have never burnt anything other than kiln dried wood, as recommended. But now once I have been lucky enough to get the fire going, I almost have to be sitting on top of the stove to feel any heat at all. My sister bought a Clearview stove at the same time and has used her as much as me and the two are not comparable. Basically my Burley is rubbish whilst her Clearview is the real deal.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Smoking Wakerley

    Ade Phillips 6 years ago

    I owned a Charnwood 8 and needed more heat in the house. I chose a pair of Wakerleys for their efficiency, large glass and external air feed. On this basis they meet requirements and, as the
    only heat source, have kept our house warm. However, what I did not expect was that from new, with both a new and an old flue, the products of combustion would be expelled into the room every time the door was opened for refuelling i.e. ash, dust, smoke and/or flame. I have tried everything that I can think of e.g. opening the door at different points in the combustion cycle, ensuring the 10m long flues are sealed, checking baffles in the fires and I even fitted an inline flue fan. This was all before I came to the conclusion that the design of the Wakerley is the most probable cause. The fire is shallow and tall so the fuel is close to the door opening and products of combustion have far to travel to get to the flue. Additionally the baffles create extra resistance to the products of combustion as they try to reach the flue. In addition to these factors there is a flue to fire opening ratio of 10:1 i.e. fire opening should not exceed 10 times the size (area) of the flue. However, the Wakerley exceeds this ratio by approx. 50%. So, combining all of these issues results in products of combustion taking the path of least resistance through the door opening and into the room. Burley's recommendation to only burn the "correct" fuel i.e. well dried wood merely masks the true problem. Excellent product until it needs refuelling and then it becomes a filthy, stinking nightmare.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • So good we bought another burley

    Alan Hastings 6 years ago

    After struggling for years with an old Charnwood stove in my wife's art studio we decide to go for this stove with the reviews on here as they were so positive. Her art studio would take at
    least half the day to heat up but it would burn the wood to, you'd be feeding it 4 logs per hour at least. The Wakerley on start up , the way I start it is with plenty of paper and kindling, the stove glass after the start up has condensation but after 15 minutes its gone, once the kindling has burned right down to charcoal, I will put about another 4 to 5 logs in and that will last about 3 to 4 hours, the fire is usually going properly with in an hour and a half (at this point the damper is down to half). I can't fault this stove but its early days yet.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Burley Wakerley 12Kw

    Guy Kerry 6 years ago

    Having heard and read stories about the difficulty of starting these stoves I use the top down method with good dry kindling and have no problems at all - it heats up faster than the manual
    suggests it might.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Great Stove

    Mike Ruell 7 years ago

    I bought this stove 8 months ago, supplied with an outside air supply. Having lived in houses with various stoves including a Clearview this stove is in a different league. It has now stayed
    in for four months with only the slightest attempts to put a log on at night, often not looked at until four the next day. chucks out huge amounts of heat only a problem if you fall asleep with the stove open. I have installed a log boiler and under floor heating which has not tripped into action for five months.

    Stove expert replied: Please make sure that monthly the stove is let out and thoroughly cleaned insuring that the flue is clear, slumbering the stove leads to more debris being produced and leaving so long without checking is not good practise.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2