WhatStove?

Broseley Hercules 30b boiler stove

Overall Rating:

3 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Broseley Hercules 30b boiler stove

The Hercules boiler stoves come in 3 sizes to suit different output needed.

They have a built in wrap around boiler and the stove has a traditional look.

The front of stove has 2 glass doors and the flue can come out of the top or back.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3 flames
Quality of finish 3.5 flames
Value for money 2.5 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 3.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 2.5 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Best stove ever

    Nigel Stronge 2 years ago

    I have my stove fitted 11yrs now with no faults it''s the 30b and is used as the main heat source in the house, as a plumber I know and have fitted a lot of stoves I couldn't fault it for heat
    and quality, my grate is only showing signs of wearing out this Yr after 11yrs most stoves have to be replaced yearly.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments and a stove that is giving good service and reliability.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • broseley 30 b

    Gerard Deeney 7 years ago

    we have this stove now 3 yrs and its the best thing ever, I wanted the 20 b but was delivered the 30 b by mistake and came to an arrangement with supplier in price. I have to say the 20 b would
    have been better as the heat out put to main room is really warm, heat to radiators is fantastic and the heat to water is all dependant on what the thermostat to radiators is set at. I had to play with settings to get best heat all round. All in all this has been the best purchase of my life to date.

    Stove expert replied: As this is a bigger boiler that you wanted please make sure that you do operate it for short periods on max temperature as stoves should not slumber for prolonged periods as it can lead to flue problems. Nice feedback though!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Broseley Hercules 30b boiler stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Terrible stove

    Nick Deackes 3 years ago

    Doors don''t close correctly gaps on both doors leading to poor control of rate of burn, no adjustment has improved this. Glass appears too small to fit doors correctly. Baffle plate poor quality, air tube at rear of fire box has disintegrated. Seems a very poor quality build. Looking to replace soon.
    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Best purchase

    Claire Deeney 3 years ago

    I have had this stove now for 7 years and to date we have had no issues. It is lit 24/7 so much so that I do not burn oil. The only thing we have had to replace is the front bars which stop
    wood from falling out. They warp due to the intense heat and even so in 7 years, these have only been replaced twice. I have recommended this stove to other family members with four of them purchasing the same stove. None of them have had any issues with the glass breaking. I would have no hesitation in purchasing this same stove again.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • 10 years now,still love it!

    4 years ago

    Talking about our Hercules multi-fuel with boiler, not the other half, only thing we have replaced is a glass (that I broke) and a bit of the rope in the doors! (that some sticky stuff pulled
    to bits,again my fault) the bars at the front don't allow big logs to go in so I took the top 2 out, I've run it like this for the ten years, we renovated a cottage/country house and so while in the mess we built a fireplace and installed top to bottom liner, we have 3 different makes of quality burners in our house, this is my favourite, we burn coal and tons of logs that I cut myself, It heats about 6 rads plus 2 towel rails easily, and the hot water. If really cold out-side we run the oil boiler and top up with this beast at full/half chat, we have 20+ rads in total. It can't get/keep them hot just asking too much on its own, not to mention the graft filling it! Despite the claims it can't really manage this large type of heating system without it being a full-time hobby. Keep the air-wash system connected properly, working/clean, really get it blasting every now and then with really dry pallet type wood. Empty ash pans regularly. No cracks or anything to worry about with this piece of kit, bit surprised to read lids cracked etc on above forum, superb,xx Nigel,Market Drayton.

    Stove expert replied: Great review for a hard working stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Lid cracking

    5 years ago

    I purchased one of these stoves about 7 years ago. In that time I've cracked 3 lids. It costs £379 pounds to replace it. That's with delivery. I'm gutted. I bought it with the intention
    of having a good heating system with little trouble. I was wrong. At the time it was one of the most expensive stoves on the market. But really they are not fit for purpose. I'm getting fobbed of by saying I'm burning the wrong dielectric. Rubbish. If a stove can't burn logs forget about it. I rest my case

    Stove expert replied: Replacement parts will be required during the lifetime of any stove and by lid I am assuming you are referring to baffle plate which is subjected to the greatest heat when the stove is operating. Failure of these plates can be due to over-firing, incorrect fuels and even a strong draw on the flue system so further investigation would be advised to try to identify the cause of the failures. As you have had 3 in 7 years they are lasting over 2 years each which does not necessarily seem excessive though!

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Not impressed

    Bill Hogan 5 years ago

    Had the 30kw for several years now. I have other brands throughout my property and can say it's probably the last in line for praises. It looks superb and is of sturdy construction, but that
    's as far as it goes. My chimney dates from the late 1700's so is about three feet by two feet and is vertical and kept clean. The fire is clean and has a new stainless steel liner for about five feet up the flue but unlike my other fires, including the marvellous 'Clearview', it doesn't want to draw. I've spoken on several occasions to the tech guys who were very helpful, but I'm afraid in my eyes, once it's had its best - it's gone and I won't be getting another.

    Stove expert replied: The liner should go from top to bottom in the flue not part way. Is it insulated round the liner as you have a large gap round it by what you have written? If not insulated then this will certainly affect the way the stove can perform due to the cooling gases in the flue system. As you have other flues in the property they may be robbing this flue of a good draw and further investigation on all the stoves is recommended, it may not be the stove at fault and more to do with the installation.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • replacement of doors

    Tracey Lawlor 6 years ago

    Hi just replying to your comment about replacing the door I have no intentions of doing this as I would have to replace the 2 doors in my opinion a stove that is only 2 years old shouldn't have
    to replace the doors the glass in the doors started breaking after having it for only 2 months this is not acceptable

    Stove expert replied: I would suggest contacting Broseley regarding this as the stove is only 2 years old or go back to the supplier for a suitable way forward.

    Overall rating:

    not yet rated

  • problem with glass

    Tracey Lawlor 6 years ago

    I have a hercules 30 kw stove having a major problem trying to keep glass in the doors they keep cracking and breaking from the heat and now because the glass has been replaced so many times
    the hinges that hold the glass have become lose and won't hold the glass so it is now not sealed properly because of this the hinges and screws holding the hinges are badly rusted they can't be removed any suggestions on what to do

    Stove expert replied: You could look at a replacement door, it may be worth the expense but would solve the issues you have been experiencing.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Brosley Hercules 30b

    Tracy Niles 6 years ago

    We have a Brosley Hercules 30b and after 2 years the top cast has cracked, Brosley need to extend there guarantee as 1 year is no good for a expensive stove Lovely stove but uses a lot of fuel, We are looking to buy a new stove but must be a big stove as we have a very big house with lots of radiators. can anyone recommend one!
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2