WhatStove?

Bohemia 40 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 20 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Bohemia 40 stove

The Bohimia 40 multi fuel stove is the 4kw version of this series.

As it is a multi fuel stove you can burn wood or smokeless fuel on this model.

The stove is built out of a 5mm heavy steel body

&

comes with a 5 year guarantee on the body of the stove

&

a 2 year guarantee on the grate.

Technical Data
  • Height: 606mm
  • Width: 545mm
  • Depth: 293mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Great Stove

    Gary Brion 3 years ago

    Been in 3 yrs now, excellent bit of kit, lights easy throws out tons of heat, easy to control can not fault my Pevex in anyway what so ever. Any neg feedback on this stove I would say lies with
    the owner and the stoves installation /position.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • just what it says on the steel

    Scot And Sam, Scotland 12 years ago

    Admittedly, I only installed it 24 hours ago, but I have had it lit twice. It burns fast and hot (the most efficient way to use wood). Finer points. Despite poor information through sellers
    , this stove IS rated for a 12mm hearth and the actual efficiency, as independently tested, is closer to 78%.The only quibble so far is that the metal handle for the door does get too hot to open without the use of the supplied oven glove. I have not rated it for burning over night because I would have needed to damp down the vents (which work very well) in order to starve the flame and try to keep it in overnight. This leads to creosoting in the chimney and inefficient burn. It's easy to light in the morning, so why do this to your chimney? It's an odd thing to rate a stove highly on - the ability to misuse it.It's a convection stove. The front and back are radiant, the other 4 sides have heat shields and slots, so are convection. Result: slower to warm the room, but less harsh in the heat. I think this is the widest firebox you can get for the money and wattage (11" door into 14" box). I may add another review in a few months
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Bohemia 40 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • X40 CUBE FANTASTIC!

    Louis Lemanski 7 years ago

    Bought an X40 Cube for several reasons - I loved the modern look and the huge window gives an amazing view of the fire. Also it has a 5 year warranty that covers the grate too - if they're offering a warranty like that then they must be confident of their product! It's also able to be placed on a 12mm hearth which was important to me. The fact that it only needs a 5 inch flue was good news for the installer who said he had no problem feeding the liner down the chimney. He was very impressed with the stove too - he shook his head, smiled and said "4kw? - I think you'll get closer to 7kw out of that!" I don't think he's wrong either as the heat just seems to pour off it heating our 1890's house with 3m high ceilings effortlessly. My only criticism would be that the handle gets very hot - but the free gauntlets supplied with the stove are great. I think it's important to mention that I've had the stove for just under a year now and am extremely happy with it, but being my first stove I've nothing to compare it too.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Bohemia x40 cube

    Nigel Parker 7 years ago

    Having recently installed the unit (by hetas registered engineer) I am somewhat disappointed we have utilised the rear flue connection as we felt this was more aesthetically acceptable for our
    surroundings. We like the look of the unit. We are encountering it seems little draw on the fire the flue is well above the soffit and has a twin wall construction as standard. Has anyone encountered similar problems

    Stove expert replied: Is there enough free air in the room to allow for combustion to occur (is there an air brick?) Was a flue draw taken at the time of installation? What height is the flue system as this can make a big difference.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • A superb stove

    Larry Gillard 7 years ago

    This really is a superb stove that throws out an amazing amount of heat. I burn wood during the day & keep it in overnight with 10 pieces of smokeless coal. Its been going non-stop for the last
    3 months with no problems. I have an open plan house & have not had the central heating on all winter as the whole house is constantly warm. The ash tray gets emptied once a day. A great build quality, simple controls + the widest grate area I have ever seen for a stove of this size make this an ideal appliance for my extended 3 bedroomed semi. Prior to buying this stove I looked at many other makes & chose this model as in my opinion it was simply the best value for money. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stove expert replied: It is good practise to let a stove out once a month and clean and check the air ways so that deposits do not build up and block the flue system.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Bohemia X40 Cube

    Austin Campbell 7 years ago

    Had this installed last Summer so this winter is its first. Very pleased with it. Easy to finely control with the two sliders, nice big view of the fire box. Gets good and hot. Had an issue with smell from the flue liner - think it was oil burning off and back drafting through an adjoining chimney flue into upstairs room. But pretty sure that was an installation issue, not the stove. We run it on a mix of well seasoned hard and soft woods, with smokeless coals for long burns at slightly reduced temperatures, and softwood briquettes for fast heat. It stays in fine overnight if we put about a dozen lumps of coal on a hot bed, get it good and hot, then move both sliders down to minimum. In the morning there are still glowing embers - put on a bit of kindling or a softwood briquette, open the sliders and in a couple of minutes it's blazing and ready for new logs. Only issue has been the appearance of hairline cracks or disfiguring of one corner of the glass. It looks a bit like a spider's web - very fine and only visible from a certain angle. The stove has never been run too hot. Doesn't seem to affect performance but will keep an eye on it as slightly concerned about safety if it gets worse. Handle gets hot but you just need to use the gloves supplied. Otherwise it's been great and would definitely recommend it.

    Stove expert replied: Running a stove on a low setting for prolonged periods will lead to the crazing of gthe glass, short periods of fast burn (no more than 20mins on max) should be made twice daily. The integrity of the glass has not been compromised but the crazing is permanent as the flue gases have started to mark the glass by being in the fire chamber longer than is recommended.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • None too pleased

    Philip Mahony 7 years ago

    Really not that easy to control - needs adjustment every 5 mins as gets too hot or stops burning. Continual smell of flue gas despite being resealed twice. Continuous clicking/ticking noise
    .

    Stove expert replied: Is this installed onto a liner or direct into a chimney? Would recommend checking the installation.

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Replacing Rope query

    Gilly Baldwin 7 years ago

    We purchased the Bohemia x40 Multi Burner inset stove 2 years ago and it is absolutely fantastic in every way. We are experiencing problems purchasing the replacement rope. We contacted the
    supplier some 3 weeks ago who kindly supplied up with the rope, but unfortunately it is the wrong size as there is a gap around the door when closed and the fire is not burning properly. We have again contacted the supplier who came to inspect it and confirmed it was the wrong size and would get back to us. After several phone calls and promised visits we are still waiting!!!!! Could someone please advise us on the correct size of rope please. Many thanks.

    Stove expert replied: http://www.stovespares.co.uk - you can get the correct parts from this supplier as most manufacturers do not give the rope sizes out as they vary in diameter and density.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Unsure best way to burn

    Gary Robinson 8 years ago

    Hi..just installed the cube x 40 ( I have lost my instructions on how to use the slidders) please if anyone can guide me on how to burn well get good heat etc..any help is much appreciated .:)

    Stove expert replied: You should be able to get a copy of this from the internet, supplier or manufacturer which would be recommended so that you will know the best way to operate the stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • cube 40

    M Fryer 8 years ago

    I fit over 300 stoves a year, this is the fourth one I have fitted and in my own living room, it is by far among the best stoves on the market, and the price is fantastic. What does it for me is that it has a big glass door (too many 5kw stoves are too small. It is easy to light, the door handle can be adjusted if too stiff, and the heat is superb It has a nice modern look, and is defra approved. Only the clearview 400 is better but that's double the price of this model, and for me steel is better than cast iron as I have seen too many lids crack on cast stoves. All in all very very pleased.

    Stove expert replied: Good review, obviously has experience of many different stoves.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • bohemia x40 cube

    Pauline 8 years ago

    This is the first burner we have bought and I would never now be without a wood burner. We bought the x40 because it looked modern, had a good sized window and was not to deep in depth. We installed it on a granite table which allows logs to be stored underneath and it looks fab. The fire gives out brilliant heat and all our friends think its great. We have had it a year and I think it is the best money we have ever spent. I noted on a previous comment about the granite back behind fire had cracked, well we used the best fireboard recmmmeneded by our fitter plastered and painted it and it is fine. Our fire is only 2 inches away from the wall and we have had no problems. The only problem we have found is the handle really squeaks when opening and closing and the top internal cast iron plate has bowed quite significantly in the middle. I am hoping this does not cause a problem with the fire as it now collects ash in the top.

    Stove expert replied: What fuel are you using, a baffle plate should fit well to allow the combustion process to occur efficiently.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2