WhatStove?

Yeoman Exe stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 21 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Yeoman Exe stove

The Yoeman Exe stove is available with a small boiler suitable to heat domestic hot water -

the tapping points are on the back of the stove.

This Yeoman stove has 2 doors with glass panels in the doors -

You can get a mulkti fuel kit for this Yeoman model or have a wood burning model -

there is a choice of flat top or canopy

&

1 or 2 doors on the stove.

The decoration on the stove door might have optional Tudor Rose crosses.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • A little gem

    John Wilson 5 months ago

    I''ve had this stove in my kitchen for about five or six years now and I absolutely love it..burning wood, it easily keeps the room toastie warm, even with no door at the foot of the stairs which is intentional to allow the fire to warm the whole of my three storey house. Build quality is excellent. Used every day for around six months of the year, the only item needing replacement was the firebricks on either side. Looks good too, particularly when backwash is open with the flames lapping against the glass.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Couldnt be better.

    William 9 years ago

    I spent months looking at stoves of 5kw output, and I am sure I have made a very good choice.Went for the Yeoman Exe for several reasons.It has a very large firebox (the stove is 600mm wide).
    A large window for better view of the fire, with the single door anyway.Simple controls which have no springs etc to go wrong.Easy to use handle which is easily adjustable if the fire rope flattens out.Large flat top for a kettle or casserole dish.Having used the stove for a month now (couldn't wait till winter to try it out), I couldn't be happier.The stove lights first time every time, quickly getting up to temperature, have found a stovepipe thermometer is a must have.Gives out loads of heat and window stays clear, the one time it did blacken was I think due to me using wood that was not properly seasoned.Easily takes 15" logs although the manual says up to 12", don't understand why Yeoman say this as firebox is same width as the larger Devon which takes up to 15" logs ?. Think yeoman have to re write their brochure as log size is a selling point (less chopping).I saw an on line video how to keep a stove in overnight, tried it and worked a treat.The trick is to bank the stove up an hour or more before you go to bed, run the stove hot until there are no flames just glowing charcoal, then shut down the stove to tick over. Go to bed.In the morning, open up the air supplies, put some kindling on the still glowing embers and wooosh...withing a few seconds, fire going again. Love my Yeoman Exe, roll on winter.

    Stove expert replied: Customer really happy and is looking forward to a warm winter ahead.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Yeoman Exe stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Great Stove

    Garry Homer 2 years ago

    Purchased around 5/6 years ago works very well changed the rope seals and baffle plate excellent heat output
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Latest Exe not the stove it used to be.

    Colin Miller 2 years ago

    I have had a multi-fuel pre CE Exe single door in my dining room for many years and has generally been very efficient & easy to operate so bought a new on October 2017 for my lounge. Regretfully
    , Stovax, the manufacturer of Yeoman stoves, has changed the highly efficient twin riddler for a single one with a poorly designed & very difficult to operate mechanism with ash frequently clogging the guide tube; altered the secondary control position & design so reducing air wash efficiency.The operating lever is also smaller, awkward to get to & much hotter as a result. The ash tray now sits on rails making the area very awkward to clean. I wrote to Stovax''s product manager about my findings as an engineer & long term user of various stoves. Letter not responded to or acknowledged. I have sold the stove & replaced it with a Clearview...far far better.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Yeoman Exe double sided woodburner

    Nick Cave 3 years ago

    Two months in and really scratching head about this one. Gut feeling is disappointment having grown up with a log burner and with many friends not having similar problems with their logburners
    .Biggest grievance is the airwash: the glass is very dirty after each fire. Have ruled out wood - seeing same wood burned in friend''s logburners does not give same dirt on screen. Used troubleshooting in user manual so using vents correctly (anyway they have to be fully open or fire just dies away). Other grievance is its burning. Can''t get it to burn anything bigger than a small log without dying out.All in all I can get it roaring and kicking out great heat, but it''s with only small logs and at the expense of having to clean the glass the next morning!Any tips greatfully received!

    Stove expert replied: It sounds as if there is not enough air to allow combustion, is there an air brick in the room? Was a flue draw taken on installation, if not I would suggest this is undertaken to check that it meets the stoves requirements. You say the stove dies away unless using small logs, if there is little air then it is struggling to burn a small log and it will fail when anything larger is used. It is not a problem with the stove but likely to be an installation / flue issue causing the lack of performance.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • yeoman exe double door

    4 years ago

    great stove bit more expensive than standard 5kw stove but well worth it. a lot wider than a standard stove so bigger logs means less chopping. 2 door is easier to load but single door has a
    better flame picture. not had any issues in 6 years still going strong. first glass replacement this year as its got hard to see through. i have the multifule kit and its also defra approved for smoke restricted areas. top marks
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Yeoman Exe Multifuel Burner

    4 years ago

    I purchased a yeoman Exe; which is at the end of a long line of multiple varieties of woodstoves that I have used over the past 30 years. I am really not happy with it having given it some
    time.. The mechanisms for the damper and door fastenings are primitive and difficult to use. The door fastening is a semicircular plate that grates and is fiddly and the dampers difficult to adjust and just feel tacky. We have a Charnwood in another room and its just not even in the same league. So nil points from me I am afraid.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Efficient Stove, Good Output but Ash Tray Retainer Poor Design

    5 years ago

    Our Exe is one of two stoves in this old cottage, the other is an imported Suffolk Lark. The Exe gives the greater heat output but mechanically more complicated - the ash tray retainer is awkward
    to remove & locate back in place, such that my partner finds it too difficult. Over many years, I have used Suffolk Lark, Yeoman, Villager, Franco Belge, Godin & Coseyfire Oakley. All the non Yeoman were easier to operate so I will modify or replace the Exe with a Coseyfire at less cost.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Fantastic Exe (single door)

    Matt Jessop 5 years ago

    Had this installed back in August 2015 to replace our open fire. Once we had worked out how to make it work for us (light it early to let it heat up) and worked out the best air vent positions
    , this has really won our hearts. Lovely and toasty, a wide firebox and the single door opens nice and wide and looks fantastic.So much less mess than the open fire, more heat and easier to use. We couldn't be happier (or warmer) this winter !

    Stove expert replied: Great review and refreshing to see that a customer has taken time to learn about how to get the best from the stove, not just expected everything to be perfect from day one.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • OLD yeoman

    Ronrushbrook 5 years ago

    Unfortunately I have been informed by a couple of local service engineers that it no longer meets current regulations so they are unable/unwilling to carry out any repair. Now looking at replacing
    with new model as I’m so pleased with the function

    Stove expert replied: They still make the Exe but after 30 years a new version should be more efficient. What a great review for this old timer!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Air wash control will not move

    Denis Sayer 6 years ago

    We have had our stove about 7 years. We have always found the air wash control difficult to move but it will not move now. The maintenance sheet suggests cleaning the inside of stove. This
    has not helped the problem.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3