WhatStove?

Yeoman Devon stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 11 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Yeoman Devon stove

The Yeoman Devon stove is a traditional wood or multi fuel stove available with a flat top, low canopy or high canopy.

The Yeoman Devon stove has a 1 or 2 door option & you can have crosses on the glas of the 2 door model.

The Yeoman stoves have air wash & clean burn

&

you can get a flue damper for the Yeoman stoves.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 3.5 flames
Value for money 3 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Doors don''t close fully

    Thomas Rowley 2 years ago

    I've tried changeling the rope twice around the door I've used the recommended 12mm rope but you can still see the fire through the front of the fire door from the side looking down. I'm now
    going to try the 14mm rope just to see if that will work as it''s setting off my smoke alarm when we go to bed after banking the fire up with coal for the night. I''m jumping out of bed checking the sitting room for fire and smoke but nothing is visible or smell. I've got two carbon monoxide detectors and one smoke alarm, just the smoke alarm is going off. I've swept the chimney which is twin wall flue pipe straight through up into my loft space and out through the roof and well above the pitch of my roof top, so the smoke can exist freely can any one help me to resolve this problem please thanks Tommy!!!

    Stove expert replied: Check that the smoke alarm is working correctly. See if you can adjust the doors on the hinges so that a seal with the body can be achieved. Do not shut the stove down too much as this means the gases stay in the firebox for longer than suitable and they do not get lifted up the flue system adequately. Do also check that you have enough free air in the room to allow combustion to take place effectively. You should only use the manufacturers suggested rope size on the appliance.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Yeoman Devon multi fuel

    N Evans 11 years ago

    I would recommend this with no hesitation whatsoever. Easy to light, emits a huge amount of heat and a bonus that it looks fabulous too. Will keep in overnight with coal and wood, although
    the room temperature is lower in the morning with the wood.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Yeoman Devon stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Really disappointed

    Will Ince 3 years ago

    After three years and tying lots of different things, different wood, buying a multi-fuel system, fans and thermometer and spent thousands it has never chucked out much heat at all. Looks nice
    though but really disappointed
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • door adjustment on exe twin door

    Steve Casson 3 years ago

    how do you adjust the door hinges as they dont have bolts on them just pins,thanks

    Stove expert replied: If the door adjustment is required because they do not line up often a washer is added before the holding / hinge pin, it will depend on why the doors need adjusting. If they are not sealing then it may be new rope is required. Do refer to the manual for specific maintenance guidance.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Yeoman deven Exe Wood 2 Door Flat Top serial No DYM07128

    Lynn Thompson 4 years ago

    I have filled in the ratings for you but where the question is ''would you buy the stove again'' I have only put No because it's not working how we want it to but I don't know it may be a combination
    of things causing it not work properly! We need some help please

    Stove expert replied: Things to check, is there enough free air in the room to allow for combustion, if a well insulated property an air brick is likely to be required? Is the chimney lined? Have you another flue in the property that may have a stronger flue draw than the one this stove is installed in? What height is the flue? Being that the stove seems to work when the doors are open would seem to indicate that not enough air is getting into the stove when they are closed so check8ing the above is important. Also is it a Devon or Exe model as they are different. Do also check that the air controls are able to open when operated as I have known the internal parts being put on incorrectly so closed was intact open and vice versa.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Paint peals off !

    L Brock 5 years ago

    Not long after we bought this gas fire ( brand new) the paint started pealing off ! So it has always looked a mess since we bought it ! Gives off good heat - and up until today it was easy
    to use . When the paint peals off it looks grey .

    Stove expert replied: Shame about the paint issue when the stove seems to be so good otherwise, was this issue reported under warranty so that it could have been rectified? Perhaps a light respray of the affected areas would improve the overall appearance of the stove.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • RIP - very poor in all aspects

    R Evoli 7 years ago

    Yeoman used to produce some excellent stoves. Now I would not buy another. I have had Yeoman stoves for 40 years. My latest - the Devon - failed when the grate disintegrated. Odd as I only burn
    clean dry seasoned wood. Door seals also failed which should not be a problem except the screws retaining glass are cheap and tend to break off no matter how gently you got at them requiring re tapping of holes. The replacement seals Yeoman sell you are hugely expensive and are not good quality and I found the staff very unhelpful. It seems the original Yeoman business went into liquidation. What you get now is a very poor quality product and service. Do yourself a favour and buy something else.

    Stove expert replied: You did not say how old this stove was so the replacement parts may be down to wear and tear and not quality alone as you suggest.

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Expensive to run

    Drew Wale 7 years ago

    I have had the Yeoman single door now for 2 years, it would be ok if i could turn down the flame, even with all the vents shut it still roars like a furnace, which is ok of you are happy getting
    up every 15 minutes to put more wood on. I have now had 3 door seals fitted in 2 years, there is always a whistling noise from the bottom of the stove where it never seals properly, after asking for advice from yeoman, they said they dont know why. Not very helpful. Am now looking at getting rid of this stove for one that burns a bit slower, be prepared to burn about 2 tonne of wood a season. Also quite noisy, lots to ticking/clicking sounds.

    Stove expert replied: Installing a flue damper or stabilizer may help to get control on the burning rate. Test the seals by shutting a piece of paper between the body and the door. If it comes out easily when pulled then the doors needs adjusting or the door seals need replacing.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • yeoman devon

    Elizabeth Knight 9 years ago

    If you are considering buying this stove but think that paying less for a stove will mean inferior quality, think again. An excellent stove. Child's play to light & control and this huge amount
    of heat it gives out is second to none. Heats our sitting room & hall in a very cold, draughty, single glazed old house. Yet the heat is warm and ambient. Would absolutely recommend it. (many of our friends have more expensive stoves that are less effective and far more fiddly to use)

    Stove expert replied: What a great review, full of praise. Well done Yeoman.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Good, basic stove

    Reading Room 10 years ago

    Straightforward wood burner [have never used multi-fuel grate] that delivers good heat and by careful use of flue damper can burn through the night. You have two air vents on the doors [a little
    prone to getting stuck in slots] plus the flue damper to manage the burn. Glazing tends to tar up readily if run low for meaningful periods. Door seals are simple asbestos string lines run in cast gutter [which come unstuck but can be re glued with appropriate adhesive]. Important these work efficiently [i.e. seal properly] or a dampened burn can cause fumes to leak out. Lighting is OK - doesn't like a very cold chimney - and will take proper sized logs [I use up to 18"].

    Stove expert replied: If you are getting fumes back into the room this should be investigated as this is dangerous. Try not to use the stove on a slow burn for long periods as this is not good for the flue system.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Yeoman Devon

    David Pollock 11 years ago

    We have had the double sided stove for 8 years. Once you get the knack of how to light/control the fire, it is simple to use and to keep going overnight. Lights very quickly, sounds like a blow
    lamp initially when the vents are open, but once properly alight (after about 5 minutes)we close it down so that the flames are just flickering. Gives off a tremendous amount of heat - heats all downstairs and keeps upstairs at a nice temparature too.No complaints at all, a great buy.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2