WhatStove?

Woodwarm Fireview 9kw stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Woodwarm Fireview 9kw stove
The Fireview 9 kw is available as either a flat top stove, or with a low or high canopy. There are 3 sizes of boiler that can be fitted to this stove.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • The perfect Mulitifuel stove

    4 years ago

    We had a 6Kw Fire view in our previous house and liked it so much we have installed the slightly bigger 9Kw in our new house.Easy to controlGlass stays clean all the time ( Great AIrwash system
    )Large Window so you can really see the fire.The Mulitifuel is easy to remove ash by riddling into an ash pan below.Extremely well made too. If you like the style of this stove then Woodwarm Fireview is the one for you!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Not a clearview

    Steve 12 years ago

    Generally pleased with this stove, but it was only a consideration as Clearview don't sell a double sided stove, and I was in fact recommended to contact Woodwarm by Clearview themselves. When
    opening the door it has a tendency to puff smoke out of the air inlet holes at the side, and the retro-fit locking device to stop the ash door being open when the glass door is open is TERRIBLE. I uninstalled it as it was a nightmare shutting the door. Also the supplied handle is no good for opening the door - I've lost count of the number of times I've burnt my hand using it. I ended up cutting a piece of 15mm copper which is MUCH better. The airwash is much better than I expected for a double sided stove and they were very flexible about size & style and flue outlet positioning - a definite plus if you want to cook on one side of a double sided stove. All in all I'm pleased with the stove - it heats most our house, and is controllable, but what I can say - its not a Clearview
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Woodwarm Fireview 9kw stove

  • So far so good - and why Stovax lost the order!

    Andrew Moffat 6 years ago

    First, I found your site most helpful in assisting my choice of stove. The wide variety of comments with respect to the many stoves on the market I have found most useful and, given the cost and installation of a stove, a degree of research beforehand is certainly prudent before any purchase. The dimensions of my fireplace were a factor to be considered and I carried out considerable research. Narrowing the choice between a Stovax 11 and a Woodwarm 9, I raised two or three technical questions for the Stovax factory. Despite numerous follow up emails and phone calls, which received promises to respond from junior staff, Stovax ignored my queries and, therefore, lost the business. My Woodwarm 9 has replaced an Aarrow Ecoburn 9. There were reasons for this: the Ecoburn could not be closed down for the night; it was not producing sufficient heat unless at a high burn rate; its efficiency rating was low; it burned logs at a high rate. In another room, I have a Nestor Martin Harmony 33, which is helpful by way of comparison. It is a superb stove but takes time to warm up, owing to its iron construction. Points with regard to the Woodwarm 9, one month after installation: 1 It is extremely easy to light. I have never failed. 2 The airwash is superb: I have never had any blackening of the window. 3 The design is such that no ash falls from the door/chamber when adding logs. This is a perpetual weakness with many stoves. 4 The stove can be closed down at night quite simply and re-started the next morning. 5 The efficiency is good: plenty of heat is transferred to the room, more so than with my previous Aarrow Ecoburn 9 unless I fired it up - in which case it consumed logs at a high burn rate. 6 I prefer a stove to function with a gentle, lazy flame. If, at this mode of operation, it can transfer substantial heat into the room, then it serves its purpose and this is something the Woodwarm 9 achieves. The log burn rate is slightly higher than that of my Harmony 33 but a big improvement on the Ecoburn 9. I also use a convector fan, which assists with heat transfer to the room. 7 The airwash lever I find requires some careful adjustment to obtain the slow, lazy flame I prefer. It will need fine tuning three or so times until it reaches its optimum setting. 8 A small niggle relates to the tool required to open the door when the stove is alight. This scratches the brass fittings and I have had to purchase a glove to do the job instead. A glove was not supplied with the stove. 9 The stove warms up rapidly. It is also helpful to add a thermometer to the stove, to ensure the stove reaches its optimum temperature. I am slightly surprised that the door handle is positioned in the lower left corner of the door and not in the middle. Presumably, better all round closing leverage would be attained were the latter the case but this is only an observation from a layman. After about a month of use, I am delighted with the stove and the heat it produces. I would readily recommend this stove to potential purchasers. In my instance, I have the flat top version. By way of a tip to readers, I have used a heat resistant glue to stick kitchen foil to the roof of the fireplace cavity. The purpose is to reflect the heat.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Awesome Woodwarm Stove

    Janie Hesketh 6 years ago

    We have just had this Woodwarm stove fitted (with a flat top), from the first moment we used it we LOVED it. It was replacing a very small one which was already fitted. It keeps us really toasty
    warm, lights like a dream, you can turn it up and down with just the knob - we still delight in saying 'I'm just going to turn the fire up/down!' It is so clean - the glass stays clean and clear, it looks like the picture in the brochure. The ash doesn't spill all over the hearth - a tiny bit when you empty the bottom, nothing like our old one. We looked at the reviews on this website and saw that other people were pleased and can honestly say we're absolutely delighted.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Woodwarm Fireview 9kw flat top

    Nick Helder 9 years ago

    So far we are extremely pleased with our Woodwarm Fireview 9kw especially compared to the Vermont stoves that we had fitted in our previous house. The handle works really well you just have
    to shut the door properly and get used to the action of turning it. Or just use a a pair of gloves to shut the door and turn the handle. My wife never lit or kept alight our Vermont Stoves but from day one she manages this Woodwarm with ease. The other deciding factors were the favourable reviews given by this website. So far we have only burnt wood and we have not experimented with the multi-fuel properties of the stove. It is the 8th Dec and we have switched our central heating off and only needed the fire however we do live in Dorset. At night my wife dims the lights and we watch the flames dance and swirl around the large lit logs. So far we are delighted.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Oldie but a goodie

    Jim 9 years ago

    I bought my 15 year old 9kw Fireview second hand. I did my homework on this site and found a multifuel, but i can live with that. For a 15 year old stove i must say it's kept its looks. Lighting
    up is a doddle with both airwash and lower vent open, then when the logs alight shut up the bottom vent and just use the airwash.( i use the lower vent but could probably do away with it) I am amazed at the controlability with the airwash. if the log has been forgotten and is slumbering, just open the valve and watch it light back up. ( It takes longer for my telly to warm up !)Put a big round log on at night, let it catch up with the rest of the wood, then shut the valve and in the morning it will still be in! Brilliant! My glass does not stay clear for long but that is a small price to pay considering the thing exceeds my expectations. I've yet to run it with the doors open, or really cook it up and maybe that will come, but at the moment we maintain a good 20 degrees on the other side of the room with no effort at all. We were using 2 storage heaters and now both have been turned off (hello ebay).I found this website to be a real boon and consequently feel leaving a review on this stove, fair payback for the information recieved.

    Stove expert replied: I am really pleased that you found the site useful, that is the plan and great to see such an old stove still working well.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Woodwarm Fireview 9kw flat top with boiler

    Christine Heath 10 years ago

    We absolutely love our Fireview stove. As the plumbing-in was fairly straightforward, we opted for a 6Kw back boiler so we get hotwater (plenty for a big bath)and a couple of radiators heated
    too. We also like the flat top and cook on it all the time, using a trivet if we need to 'turn down' the cooking temperature. Its our prime source of room and water heating, burns continuously day after day as it slumbers overnite without going out and is easliy de-ashed while still alight - we can't speak highly enough of it.

    Stove expert replied: Great versatile stove with room heat, hot water and cooking what great value for money.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • 9kw non- boiler multi-fuel stove

    Lynda And Malcolm Lynch 10 years ago

    We have had this stove installed for some weeks; we are thrilled with it.We have a listed house and we encountered problems protecting the wooden mantle.Woodwarm engineers fabricated a screen
    which has proved very effective.This room has 3 outside walls [one north facing] and two floor to ceiling single glazed windows; in the 32 years of our occupancy, having central heating turned on and an open fire also we have never had a really warm welcoming room until now.It lights easily and it is very controllable; we have only used wood. Perhaps if we used a coal based fuel it would stay in all night, but really there is no need as overnight the room and stove retain heat and it is so very easy to light in the morning.The glass has not been cleaned once,it is a joy.The approved agent/engineer who fitted it was exceedingly helpful as were Woodwarm with coming up with the heat guard solution.We highly recommend this stove.Lynda and Malcolm Lynch

    Stove expert replied: that sounds like good responsive and helpful customer service from the manufacturer to help with the guard for this stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • What a brilliant stove

    Sally And Dave Spring 10 years ago

    We have had our woodwarm stove installed a few weeks ago and it is Brilliant!It keeps our large (5m x 6m) living room toasty (22 C) with ease and if we leave the doors open which we do constantly
    , also heats our kitchen and upstairs too.It is very easy to light and control - turn down the secondary air and it slumbers nicely and then open the valve and it sparks back into life with ease.The glass stays fantastically clean, we haven't had to clean it yet The handle is fine - just don't leave it on top of the stove!The locking device has now been taken off by Woodwarm as it was not needed.The airwash is fantastic especially with a full firebox of logs on board.Speaking of the firebox, it's large size makes it ideal for burning 14 inch logs and means fewer trips to the stove to load it up.The build quality is outstanding and in our opinion is better than a Clearview any day and cheaper too !
    Overall rating:

    5 flames