WhatStove?

Villager Chelsea Duo stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 11 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Villager Chelsea Duo stove
Technical Data
  • Height: 495mm
  • Width: 457mm
  • Depth: 334mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Good choice

    5 years ago

    We were recommended this stove by both an owner and a fitter and are are very pleased with it. After a little trial and error it lights well and gives out a lot of heat, it is also good to
    sit and watch the flames. We have had it for one winter so far, and so far are very happy with it.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

More reviews for Villager Chelsea Duo stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Great but might be imporved

    Pete Moody 6 years ago

    While the burner works well and as designed, whenever I open the doors, ash caught in the ridge above the rope falls onto the floor. Perhaps an angle or a bevel above the rope seal would prevent this. Also the grate riddling bar often detaches from the grate slats causing the bar to sit on top of the ash tray.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • VILLAGER

    DaveLomas 7 years ago

    I would like to comment that this time last year I received the worst ever customer service I've experienced regarding my faulty woodburner. Every unbelievable excuse under the sun was made to deny that I had a faulty woodburner. Even down to the depth of my ash bed. First of all they said I had too little ash followed by Imhad too much. I measured it in the end. I had an overdraw problem which results in the fire roaring and whistling like a furnace. It was obvious the problem was I considered to be a faulty airwash which would not shut off. Defeated and exhausted after banging my head against a brick wall, I had to resort to welding the airwash SHUT. I was informed that this modification would invalidate the guarantee. I would like to add that I have another Villager in another room and have had no problem with it - that was why I went for another one.

    Stove expert replied: This problem may have been corrected, so control would be regained of the stove, with the addition of a flue damper or stabilizer.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • chelsea duo

    Hel Til 7 years ago

    Happy with this stove. heats up quickly, burns well and easy to control. Lightweight construction.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • stove glass

    Michael Lyons 8 years ago

    Overall very satisfied apart from regular cracking of glass and replacement costs

    Stove expert replied: If the glass has cracked more than once it may be due to over tightening of the fixings, unusual to happen more than once unless the glass gets knocked when refuelling etc.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Cosy

    Mrs Celia Wigginton 8 years ago

    We have had this fire for over 12 years. Cannot beat this type of fire. Room gets really warm and cosy in the winter. Regular renewal of gaskets and ropes, apart from renewing bricks only twice
    , there is hardly any maintenance needed.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Chelsea Duo with fitted back boiler

    Keith Lydon 8 years ago

    Installed in July 2010 and have had a few problems since but the service dept have been excellent. Boiler works very well providing water for 3 radiators. Air wash system not so good and control of the various vent sliders is very hit and miss. Not impressed. Generally stove performs well.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Excellent after-sales from Arada

    Mike Gibbs 8 years ago

    We've had our stove for quite a few years now and we have had maintenance to do. Arada have provided a brilliant service supplying us with spares. Jacki Annette has, in particular, been very
    helpfull.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • home fire

    Mrs Smith 8 years ago

    Only problems are in time the little doors need seals & webbing edging replaced & stuck on with special stick stuff

    Stove expert replied: All stoves will require routine maintenance and seals and gaskets should be checked annually to insure they are still doing what they should which is insuring the correct conditions for effective and efficient combustion.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2