WhatStove?

Town and Country Rosedale stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 14 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Town and Country Rosedale stove

The Town and Country is a 7.5 Kw multi-fuel stove.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Rosedale Inset 5.0kw MultiFuel Stove (DEFRA approved - Smokeless)

    Tom Ba 2 years ago

    We got the Town & Country Rosedale Inset 5.0kw smokeless version installed in Dec 2014 (4 years ago). Looks great and fits our old fireplace area perfectly....blends in like it was "always just meant to be there". Good burner and seems to be efficient, good heat for our large lounge (and we often open the door to let heat go elsewhere in the house. The glass door can get a bit black at times but usually clears after 3 hours burning. After 4 years use we have had ZERO repairs....but the left side-wall vermiculite brick has a crack (was hairline at first, 2 years ago, but now separating....replacement will cost £40 or £70 for the set of all 3). Roof of baffle plate has a few flaking patches now but still workable (£55 eventually). Not bad for 4 years. Main concern will be having to replace the glass....usually Stoves are about £40-60 BUT for the Rosedale is a crazy £187...AARGH!)

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments, hopefully there will be no need to replace your glass for many years, and this will then not seem such an outlay compared with the years of service the stove has given you.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Fantastic Stove

    Ross James 9 years ago

    My first ever stove and I absolutely love it. It is elegant with a large glass door so you can see the fire. Its very easy to light only using paper and kindling. The controls are very easy
    to use, with the exception of the tertiary air control which is a bit out of the way at the back of the stove on the left. That said its left permanently in the half way position which seems to work well for all wood burning. I do however close it when burning coal. I've managed to heat most of our 3 bedroom semi so far this winter with this stove. Even my neighbour said his wardrobe is now an airing cupboard, due to the chimney giving him some warmth.I now regret not having one fitted sooner, but don't regret having the chimney work and fitting of the stove done by a HETAS approved person.

    Stove expert replied: Good value stove heating most of the house so can't be bad!

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Town and Country Rosedale stove (page 1 of 2)

  • A great choice

    CJ Payne 3 years ago

    We looked at several leading stoves, deciding on which one was difficult!We are very pleased that the Rosedale won. A fantastic stove, heats the house and keeps us very comfortable no matter
    how cold outside. Very easy to use and very responsive.Would buy another one if ever we moved.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Fab quality & fire

    Sarah Green 3 years ago

    We bought this stove around 4 years ago, and love it. It is easy to use, provides a lovely heat, glass remains clean and it burns happily over night. After a lot of research at the time we
    bought it I couldn''t be happier with our choice.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Rosedale Inset pros & cons

    5 years ago

    Had this stove for about 4 years now so can speak from experience. Beautiful to look at and very efficient; gives off plenty of heat. A major downside is the price of replacing the glass (this
    is not a uncommon occurrence for any stove). We've replaced ours as it cracked and for most stoves will set you back about £40 - £60. However, because the Rosedale has bowed glass we had to order from Town and Country and it cost £165 + p&p. Will go for different stove next time; to put in perspective could have bought at least two car windscreens for that price. Found this extremely annoying as no competitors could supply allowing Town and Country to charge what they want.

    Stove expert replied: Spare parts can seem disproportionally expensive, if you average this expense over the length of period you have had the stove though does soften the blow a little. Prices do vary greatly on glass replacement as many models now use a curved glass.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Fantastic Fire, Really Throws Some Heat Out

    Kate Weston 5 years ago

    We had the Rosedale Log Store stove fitted in November. It's a brilliant stove. Very easy to control and warms a large living room in a short space of time. A very stylish looking stove, having the controls on the sides rather than the front with large curved glass window to watch the flames. The glass keeps clean using the airwash controls, so far I've only given the glass a wipe over with a damp cloth and some ashes twice and then it didn't really need it! It is very sturdy and looks like it will last us a very long time. Comes with gauntlets, and a couple of tools for the primary air control and the ashpan. Also a silicone cover that goes over the door handle when you're opening it when it's hot. We've only burnt logs on our stove, not smokeless fuel. It has air holes on the back wall of the stove so it burns more of the gases so it can be used in smoke control areas.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Town and Country Rosedale

    John Broadhead 6 years ago

    Burns fuel well enough lots of heat, beyond that very annoying. Rear fire brick split after a week, suspect whole case has distorted, was stable on flat slate now started to wobble needs feet adjusting. Constantly spills ash from lower vent mechanism and into the bottom of door. Riddle mechanism difficult to use pointless feature. Despite endless fiddling with air wash glass always needs cleaning. Ash pan poorly designed not big enough does not effectively collect the ash. First winter with stove feels like I will burn 2 forests so I struggle to understand how these things are sustainable or cost effective way of heating.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Absolutely Fab Stove!!

    Sarah Green 6 years ago

    After much research, we chose the Rosedale - it's great! Its burns easily and efficiently. For my husband who's experienced with stoves it's fab, but even for a novice like me it's easy to
    light and manage. It burns through the night without worry. It looks fab and burns clear and what a great window to view through! We had some trouble with a firebrick cracking, however found that this was replaced quibble free. Had it for over 1 year now and looking forward to many more.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Fantastic Rosedale Stove!!

    Kevin Walker 7 years ago

    After much research into the different stoves on the market, we chose a Rosedale multi-fuel stove because of the 7.5KW output, the easy controls and very good looks. Our installer gave us sound advice about different manufacturers and what you get for your money. He did advise we install a 5KW stove for the room size, but we wanted the larger output as we can open doors between the lounge, dining room and hall which would allow the warm air to circulate. (We have a 4 bedroom detached property). We are delighted we went for the 7.5KW and the Rosedale in particular as it has lived upto our expectations so far. We had the stove installation completed on 14 December 2013 and it has transformed the look and feel of our home. The performance has been superb and it is so easy to control, in fact once set up it needs little adjustment. We have been burning hardwood logs (less than 20% moisture content is important)and Phurnacite smokeless coal. The logs burn beautifully with lovely flames and plenty of heat output. The coal gives a wonderful glow with some flames and outstanding heat output. In a recent trial we banked up the stove with coal and it was still alight after about 20 hours! The logs would not last for this long without regular replenishing. We have found that the ground floor of the house gets pleasantly warm and there is definitely heat flowing to the upstairs. With our experience to date we would heartily recommend this stove without reservation.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • ROSEDALE BEAUTY

    Gillian Otoole 7 years ago

    I have had this stove for 19 months now and it is so easy to operate and a nice looking stove. I nearly purchased a clearview but then a friend of mine had a town and country stove. they said
    it worked as good as a clearview and with more efficiency . I took a gamble because I didn't know town and country but this stove is just great to use and gives of a lot of heat. I would buy it again but I think it will last forever.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Larger New Stove

    Duncan Smith 8 years ago

    Just had the stove installed to replace a smaller 4kw stove. Absolutely delighted with the results, night and day in terms of heat output. The room which is a large open plan living room (15m
    x 5m) is now warm and cosy. The simple unfussy design of the stove and clean lines fit perfectly with the overall look of the room. Had to make the fire place opening larger to accommodate the new stove and gain optimum efficency. Stove supplied and fitted including building works by Hot Stoves Tandragee who were brillant and clearly know what they are talking about.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2