WhatStove?

Tiger stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 47 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Tiger stove

The Tiger is a 5kW cast iron multifuel stove suited to the smaller living room.

Technical Data
  • Height: 590mm
  • Width: 565mm
  • Depth: 340mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 2.5 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Useless

    Pat Rothwell one year ago

    Having bought a tiger fire in our last house with no problems we bought the same one for our new house. This one is difficult to light and eventually when it does the gas keeps cutting out and
    the fire goes off. You are often there an hour until you get the fire lit and to get it to stay on. Gas engineer says it's a common fault now he's not answering my messages. What can I do??????

    Stove expert replied: If this is still under warranty go back to your supplier and installer to ask that this is dealt with under warranty, that is providing all aspects of the installation have been adhered to.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • not one of my best buys

    Steve 12 years ago

    bought stove last year and its been a nightmare im loading fire like casey jones (steam train) the fire is uncontrolable ,i had fitted a flue liner before fitting as told it would be better ?
    the only way to cool down is to open windows and door, im going for a top make, do the same
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

More reviews for Tiger stove (page 1 of 5)

  • Waste of money

    Ella Jabroo 2 years ago

    This is a greedy stove, burns everything really fast, you don't get the control like you would with other stoves, I had my chimney looked at etc, actually not really high draw if anything far
    from it. Would have been better spending a little extra and making a huge saving over the years with wood. Also another small gripe, it said self cleaning glass, black within a few hours use, my mums new non tiger stove has this feature and doesn't smog up at all, she burns a quarter of the wood I do, and has no difficulty keeping the fire in all night even though her stove is not bigger.

    Stove expert replied: Having had the chimney checked and not found this to be the cause, the important thing is to make sure that the wood used is dry and seasoned and leave the top control open as this should assist in keeping the glass clean.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Dangerous

    Luke Allan 3 years ago

    I bought the tiger log burner a year ago and tonight for the 3rd time the door has fallen off and I have burnt myself badly. I can't find any contact information for them could anyone help

    Stove expert replied: You should go back to the supplier so that they can follow this up with the UK distributor. There may be something that can be done with the hinge to prevent a similar occurrence, Do check that the door is fully located on the hinges and do this regularly as a preventative measure until you have made contact with the above in the meantime.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • is it a multifuel burner?

    Deborah Lewis 3 years ago

    I have had my Tiger burner (looks exactly like the standard model, cant find a model number on it)f or about 8 years. Can I burn coal on it? I think I remember the sales guy''s where I bought
    it saying it was wood only? Would that be right? It works perfectly, but just thinking coal would burn slower.

    Stove expert replied: If you have a grate in the stove then smokeless fuels should be able to be used on the appliance, household coal is not recommended as it burns with a long flame and is a dirty fuel which affects the airwash system.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • great little burner

    Toni Ianiri 4 years ago

    installed and running since 1999, no problems at all, changed the seals/ropes as the burner was going through logs like a beaver, this took it back to the efficient burner it is. like everything
    you must maintain the item to get the best out of it.

    Stove expert replied: No truer word spoken, look after the stove and it will look after you!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • smoke coming from top of stove

    Liz Mcdowell 4 years ago

    got the tiger sorted out now, the installer took it out again and the top of the fire was not sealed properly. The rope in the top was not in correctly. Also top of our chimney was slightly
    blocked. Problems solved. Running like a train.

    Stove expert replied: The liners are not covered by warranty but providing they are just cracked and staying in place to protect the metal of the stove they are safe to use. Regarding the smoke, as this has just started happening, do check that the flue way is clear by dropping the throat plate as debris may have fallen down the chimney and stopped the passage of gases. Have you an air brick in the room? It could be due to weather conditions not giving the lift away from the firebox on initial lighting, this is not clear from what has been posted. Does the smoke improve once the flue has become warm? Please make sure that you only use dry seasoned wood that has a moisture content of less than 20%. The key to any stove and its performance is the installation and in this instance the installer had not done what is expected, glad to hear all is well now.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Non controllable stoves

    Carol Lowey 4 years ago

    I have 2 Tiger multi fuel burners, both have no control and whistle through the wood and coal resulting in white hot heat, and burning out after a few hours. Both are only 2 years old. I can
    shut them both off and still have no control. Both have had their seals replaced but makes no difference. I wish I had never purchased these burners, as others who have chosen well can keep theirs burning for hours, and overnight.

    Stove expert replied: Are they the Defra Approved models or standard model where the air control can shut fully. If you are not able to shut a stove down then you should get a flue draw test taken to ensure that it meets the manufacturers desired draw, if it is too high then the stove will burn hard not producing much heat for the amount of fuel being used. This is not the fault of the stove but an installation issue.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Tiger multi defra

    Andrew Clapham 4 years ago

    We have had this great little stove since 2011 and have had excellent service from it. I have just re filled all of the joints and painted the stove I have replaced the door seal and it has
    had 1 back firebrick. All in all we couldn't be without it, we only burn smokeless fuel and wood on ours but we get great control over the heat, we keep the top control over to the right and start the bottom control to the right then once it is going well move it to the left. We can easily keep it going overnight. The dogs love it as well!!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Tiger gas stove constant problems

    4 years ago

    I've had my tiger gas stove for about 5years now. It worked perfectly fine for 3 years, and I was pleased with its output and good looks. However, the past 2 years have been a nightmare, it wouldn't light unless you kept the button pressed for over a minute. Changed the thermocouple, still gave problems, now having to change the tap assembly. No gas engineer wants to go near it, those who do cannot give a definitive diagnosis to the fault, and play guess work. I'm at my wits end and am considering getting rid of it!

    Stove expert replied: There are only a few parts that can cause problems and the thermocouple is the normal culprit.. Perhaps get in touch with the UK distributor if the Gas Safe Engineer is having problems disposing what part is faulty.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • tiger stove

    4 years ago

    I have had my tiger stove for about 5 yrs now and found it to be a great little stove but recently when I got it going the little nut bolt at the side of the stove seemed to glow red haven't
    noticed it before. I have had the chimney swept annually since I've had the stove, it burns seasoned wood and smokeless fuel.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5