WhatStove?

Tiger Plus stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 11 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Tiger Plus stove
The Tiger Plus is a cast iron multifuel stove. The Tiger Plus gives out up to 6kW.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • lovely stove but....

    Tracy Irvine 8 years ago

    We have been very pleased with our Tiger stove for the last month or so that we have had it, but unfortunately the glass has cracked, it started as just a little crack and has now gone right across the window, spoiling the look of the stove completely. We have no idea why this has happened and are looking into replacing it, but wonder if it will just happen again. The stove is great to use and really heats up the downstairs of our house, so very rarely use the central heating.

    Stove expert replied: Glass cracking can be caused by a few reasons: knocking when loading the stove, fixings being too tight and not allowing movement, possibly a faulty piece, as it is not covered by warranty a replacement will need to be purchased. Be careful that air is not drawn in through the gap allowing the stove to over-draw, I would siggest getting a replacement sooner rather than later.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Tiger Plus Stove

    C Wilson 11 years ago

    Have been using the tiger plus stove for over 2 years now. Looked at many other stoves before buying the tiger. The main reason for going for the tiger plus is due to the large width for burning
    split logs and shallow depth to ease installation. This may be seen as a compromise, but works well for me. Controllability is adequate and improved by a recent fitting of a damper plate to the chimney.Burns wood cleanly and burns smokeless fuel overnight for upto 10 hours as advertised.Overall this a superb stove for the money, plus the large windowed door allows a good view if the fire.I have no hesitation in recomending this stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Tiger Plus stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Value for money appliance

    Colin Truelock 8 years ago

    Brilliant stove at the price, fitted our instllation requirements perfectly having shallow depth. Burns well using solid fuel ovoids, wood or heat logs burning on a vermiculite pad to cut the underdraft. Controlability improved by re-engineering the primary and secondary air controls; subsequently, overnight burning using smokeless ovoids is not a problem. You do get what you pay for, but at the price there is little competition, would certainly buy the same again.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • This Tiger roars in all the right ways!

    Chris James 9 years ago

    Never had a stove before so didn’t know anything about them. Did my research thoroughly and was drawn to this Tiger by its dimensions (shallow and compact enough to meet building reg. re distance to top/sides of fireplace etc), shape (landscape as opposed portrait which suited the fireplace I was planning) and price £369 or so. Since getting it I’ve had no regrets. It burns like a furnace and I can heat my 5 bed detached house comfortably with it…..with the lounge doors open the heat travels up the stairs and heats the bedrooms as well as the down stairs. I light it just before lunch and use about half a bag of coal a day (which costs about £6.50 a bag) so I think I’m getting value for money as the gas central heating is now off all day and night plus we have a homely fire to sit in front of and jealous neighbours! I find it controllable even with a really strong draw as I keep the vent open only marginally once I’ve got it going. The firebox is smaller than expected in light of its external dimensions and I found I was feeding it wood quite frequently (every 30 mins or so to keep it going – it burnt better with a full fire box as per the instructions) but since switching to coal I’ve found this much easier to manage and top it up every 3 hours or so. I have tried the over night burn and I had smouldering embers in the morning about 9 hours later but I think anthracite would have enabled me to have a longer burn as I use very cheap coal. It’s easy to light with toilet rolls, newspaper, kindling and soft wood but have found hard wood a challenge unless I’m adding it at the end of the night to the dying coal for a last blast before bed time. I’d definitely recommend this stove to anybody, even a novice like me, but please bear in mind I have nothing to compare it to as it is my first. I’ve just bought myself a chainsaw and have the biggest pile of free logs from the local tree surgeon to chop…roll on next winter!

    Stove expert replied: House hold coal should not be used in a closed appliance due to it having a longer flame than smokeless fuels, it can shorten the life of internal components, prevent the airwash from working effectively and is not recommended so will invalidate the warranty!! Suggest you change to a smokeless fuel that is not petroleum based.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Tiger Plus.

    Mike Blamires 9 years ago

    After a lot of research and a last minute budget restrictions I decided to go for the tiger stove, it was easy enough to install (with a flue liner) and I have not been disappointed at all by
    it.It lights well and, using anthracite small nuts it stays in over night with relative ease. After 30+ hours of burning the coals it takes a little TLC to keep it going, I suspect this is like any stove. The glass has stayed clean and the heat output is brilliant. The air control could do with some improvement but so long as you know how to work it does operate fine (make sure you pull it flush to the casing after moving it or it may as well be open). Though I primarily use Anthracite which generates furnace like heat when it's really going, it does burn wood well on it's own despite the multifuel grate.I'd certainly have one of these again, it does exactly what it should and it does it well.

    Stove expert replied: A satisfied stove owner! It is always worth trying a few smokeless fuels as they do vary.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Tiger Plus

    Nigel Cox 9 years ago

    After much research I installed one 2 years ago in a holiday cottage that I let out. Installed a new stainless insulated flue at the same time. The fire is easy to light and contrary to what
    others say the control ability is amazing - move the vent open/closed and the fire responds straightaway. The cottage is quite exposed and the draw is amazing - maybe this is why I have very few issues with it. Holiday makers get logs to use but I also use coal and the amount of heat it puts out is amazing. I would definitely buy another.

    Stove expert replied: The cost is not always an important factor as shown with review!! This stove has a great review and is well the money that it costs. In a holiday cottage you can never be sure of how stoves will be treated so this must be a robust model.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • does what it says on the can

    Sean Percical 10 years ago

    I read the "tiger" reviews on this site and decided to get something more expensive but then all three Stovefitters who quoted for the job suggested Tigers so I thought "Why not, it's so much
    cheaper" This was our first stove so when we got it initially in the January we had trouble lighting it, keeping it going, keeping the the glass clean and controling it but now October has come around and we've started using it again it's working beautifully. We are now burning wood that I collected, cut, split and dried myself last year and what solid fuel we are using was in the coal bunker all summer. The glass now stays clear, we can light the fire easily with no firelighters required and we can control it much better. The heat output is brilliant and if we leave our Lounge door open the warmth spreads all over. Don't rely too much on what it says in the manuals. We use about 10 sheets of scrunched up newspaper and loads of kindling to get the fire started. (Smokeless fuel and anthracite can be difficult to get going but coal ignites easily) Also, I think every stove behaves diffrently depending on the draw from the chimney so what the manuals say about the air flows above and below the fuel doesn't always seem to be the case. Most importantly ? Make sure the wood is dry and then everything seems to work better. Collecting, cutting and splitting wood means you give less money to the likes of British Gas and it also keeps you fit. One last thing. I've yet to try an overnight burn so I've marked it as just average.

    Stove expert replied: yep dry wood is the key. Funnily enough it makes much more difference than how much your stove costs! If you can source and then store one or two years worth of wood in advance then you will save money and can make sure that it is very dry (20% moisture or under).

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Tiger Plus

    Angus Napier 11 years ago

    Have had the Tiger for a year. As someone else said, you get what you pay for. Its worst aspect is lack of controllability. The slider controls are just too crudely made - they leak air very
    badly. I've even tried putting masking tape over all the air vents, and after 30 mins the fire was still blazing very briskly. This may not be too big a problem on a very cold day, but it means you cannot slow the fire down , eg if you leave the house for an evening, and keeping it going overnight is out of the question.In other respects it's an adequate stove, but that's about the best one could say for it.

    Stove expert replied: a flue damper might help here to bring the chimney draw down a little. That might then make the stove more controllable.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Tiger Plus Stove

    Darrell Broscomb 11 years ago

    Found this review site after purchasing our Tiger Plus Stove and was worried about what I'd bought.Once the stove was delivered we were impressed with the build quaility and finish. Have now
    used the stove and found it easy to light and very controllable.For the money an absolute bargain.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Tiger plus review

    Phil Styles 12 years ago

    Finish on body flaking off allowing rust, is it actually cast iron? Smokes when opening door even when flue very hot, throat plate very close to door, design fault?
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2