WhatStove?

Stovax Stockton 7 woodburning stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 8 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Stockton 7 woodburning  stove

The Stovax Stockton 7 woodburning stove has a large arched shape glass panel in the door giving a good view of the fire.

Technical Data
  • Height: 580mm
  • Width: 536mm
  • Depth: 385mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 3 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Stovax 7 woodburner

    5 years ago

    Hi I've just had a Stovax Stockton 7 fitted a week ago. I have a two bed cottage and was told I wouldn't need the 8kw which I wanted as it would be way too hot. So I took the company's advice
    and went with the 7. It barely warms the lounge diner. if your in front of it, it belts out the heat but if you're at the other end of room it's only luke warm. I was told this would heat the whole of my tiny house. I've read your reviews saying that's what yours does. Why doesn't mine. I've even got an £80 fan on top. It certainly is not heating anywhere else in the house.?????

    Stove expert replied: What is the moisture content of the wood you are using? It should be no more than 20%. What are the controls set at? How often are you refuelling and with how much wood? A moisture meter is recommended so you can check the wood prior to burning as moist wood will affect the heat generated. Is the stove working hard and not producing much heat or has it been set too low? Is the chimney lined and insulated? Further investigation into all aspects of the stove and installation is recommended as there is normally a reason why a stove under performs.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Stockton 7 stove

    Chris Hill 11 years ago

    We had the Stockton 7 fitted in June 2010 it took a bit of getting used to at the start. I would advise a flue pipe temperature gauge for better operation. It warms the whole living room and
    also the 1st floor bedrooms. We are now having a Stockton 5 midline fitted in our large kitchen. It should warm the ground floor shower room and bathroom. No need for the heating to be turned on fingers crossed!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Stovax Stockton 7 woodburning stove

  • Stovax 7 woodburner

    5 years ago

    Hi I've just had a Stovax Stockton 7 fitted a week ago. I have a two bed cottage and was told I wouldn't need the 8kw which I wanted as it would be way too hot. So I took the company's advice
    and went with the 7. It barely warms the lounge diner. if your in front of it, it belts out the heat but if you're at the other end of room it's only luke warm. I was told this would heat the whole of my tiny house. I've read your reviews saying that's what yours does. Why doesn't mine. I've even got an £80 fan on top. It certainly is not heating anywhere else in the house.?????

    Stove expert replied: What is the moisture content of the wood you are using? It should be no more than 20%. What are the controls set at? How often are you refuelling and with how much wood? A moisture meter is recommended so you can check the wood prior to burning as moist wood will affect the heat generated. Is the stove working hard and not producing much heat or has it been set too low? Is the chimney lined and insulated? Further investigation into all aspects of the stove and installation is recommended as there is normally a reason why a stove under performs.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Never again

    Ken Smith 6 years ago

    Purchased a Stockton 7 Multifuel stove last April. HETAS installers, new flue liner, in fact the whole works. We have had solid fuel stoves for 40 years and are not newcomers to this form of
    heating. Within two months the glass began to "Craze", Stovax said we were using the wrong fuel, 'er what! always used Maxibright, it's made for multiple stoves.The grate and riddling system does not cover whole grate and grate vents are very difficult to clear of ash, making daily cleaning a very dirty job. Will stay alight for about 12 hours, but very difficult, if not impossible to keep alight permanently during cold spells. Ash has to be cleared every two or three hours. Has to be refuelled about every six hours in order for it to stay alight. Impossible to leave the house for 8 hours because the Stockton 7 requires permanent attention.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Stockton 7

    Carleton Rowett 8 years ago

    Had a chimney built and my Stockton 7 installed October 2012 and it has proved to be the best investment ever :-). The output from the stove has kept my 3 bed bungalow warm all winter with no
    need for any back up from my gas system. Overall after buying fuel my savings are well over 30% and the house is warm if not hot ! 24/7. I have found it best to keep the unit ticking over and achieve overnight burns with no problem, ten hours plus, just remember quality fuel is always the best option

    Stove expert replied: Do undertake short periods of fast burn at least twice a day to burn off residues in the flue that are produced during the slumbering periods and get the flue system swept at least 2 times per season and possibly more depending on the quality of fuel used.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Stovax Stockton 7

    DeeJay 9 years ago

    Had this stove for at least 8 years now , its like an old friend , it may not be the prettiest but its certainly efficient. Like everything it takes time and effort to get to know the most
    effective way to get the best burn from the fire , the fuel quality is of course very important. The stockton has a large glass window, on occasion when the glass has blackened by the morning I use a damp cloth with a paste cleaner and once more you have a clear view .
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Excellent basic stove

    Eoghan 9 years ago

    We've had one of these for 2 years now (wood-only model), and have nothing negative to say about it. It's not fancy looking, and doesn't have any gimmicks, but if you're looking for an efficient
    (you can see the triple-burn combustion working), cost-effective, no-nonsense stove that's easy to use and performs well in every way, then this is it. If the glass blackens occasionally it's usually because the fire hasn't been burning hot enough, and getting a roaring fire going will remove most of it quickly enough.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • stovax stockton 7 multifuel

    T Gear 10 years ago

    Installed spring 2011, found it to be easy to light,draws well and reaches operating temperature quickly. The air controls are responsive, found I needed to keep an eye on the air intake as
    it would over fire easily if it had too much draft but adjustment quickly brought it under control.Have only used wood so far,it will stay in over night but only tried this once so maybe we were just lucky.It looked to be out but a handful of small logs and it burst into life. Not my first choice but bought on the advice of the fitter who said he had installed many of these with excellent results. Very pleased with it, suggest if you are new to stoves like us buy a little temperature gauge to see how your stove is operating, as I said this one is easy to over fire, though very easy to control,obviously read the instructions before lighting.Comes with nice pair of gloves surprise surprise the door handle gets hot.

    Stove expert replied: What great feedback on the reasonably priced stove. It performs well and customer obviously in control.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames