WhatStove?

Stovax Stockton 4 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 8 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Stockton 4 stove

The Stovax Stockton 4 is available as a wood or multi fuel stove.

It is a small model with one door and has airwash and cleanburn.

This stove can have the flue coming out of the top or back of stove.

You can buy spares for all the Stovax models - they are readily available.

Technical Data
  • Height: 572mm
  • Width: 389mm
  • Depth: 291mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • very happy. no more central heating :D

    4 years ago

    Stovax Multi Fuel version. paid around £630 Hello. feels strange actually writing a review after spending about 6 months reading them and agonising over what one to get. really happy I decided on the Stockton 4. it was a real struggle finding one I liked that also fit in my fireplace (68 cm wide 71 cm high 37 cm deep) it just about fits in the hole and looks great! the room is 7m by 3.5 and it heats it really well. also, my room is not well insulated and very draughty. if I was going to find bad things to say about it I'd say that the fire box is a bit small so need to refuel it more often if running it on high but that doesn't bother me as I'm just happy it fits and I like refuelling anyway :) I was worried about the window being too small compared to other stoves but the window looks great and is a good view of the fire. the way it works is very impressive with the air wash system. the controls work really well and the whole thing shouts quality. I very almost went for the firefox 5 which seems like a good stove for the price but very pleased I paid extra for this one. I had a flue fitted and the draw is great. my cat pickles also likes it.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • cracking little stove

    Marc Rodgers 10 years ago

    A good little stove that performs above what you would expect from it's size.Very occasionally it can prove difficult to light and can get a little smokey,it also took a bit of trial and error
    to get the air intakes on the rear set just right, however once this was done the stove has proved to be very easy to control.The airwash keeps the majority of the glass clear, just the bottom inch or so remains blackened,this is below the level of the log retainer so maybe this has something to do with it.Over night burn performance is reasonable too,cram as much wood in as you can shut the air vents and it will smolder away quite happily for eight hours or so. This stove has been used on a regular basis for almost 4 1/2 years now and the only part replaced so far is a new rope seal on the door,on the whole this is a cracking little stove.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Stovax Stockton 4 stove

  • 8 years of fantastic service

    Jim Bartlett 7 years ago

    We've had our stove for 8 years and it runs pretty much for 6 months of the year. Apart from obvious maintenance we've had problems with the bricks breaking (rip off price to replace), and the
    rear plate buckling,but this is because of overheating so that's our problem. These were easily replaced by us, no "experts" needed. This little fire, via the chimney breast, warms our entire 3 bedroom house with ambient heat and makes the downstairs toastie warm.Our chimney sweep clears out about a kilo of soot a year and reckons its the cleanest burning fire he's ever seen, and we burn only grade 2 wood! We're looking to replace it but this little fire is going to be difficult to beat. A great investment.

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback, and honest comments.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Does the job but I question the build quality

    Ben 9 years ago

    We bought this stove a couple of years ago and it has largely been a good little stove. My main complaint with this stove would be that the handle fell off within a few months of purchase and
    rather than sending someone to sort it out they sent a bag of spare parts. Now, a couple of years later, the handle seems to be jammed and we are wedging the door closed! I imagine this is partly because I assembled it badly / lack of servicing but then again it's a lot of money for a metal box and previous stoves I've had haven't given me a tenth of the bother so I do question the build quality.

    Stove expert replied: it is worth remembering that with stoves the chain of support runs from installer to supplier to manufacturer. So it would be the installer or supplier that should be providing aftercare, not the manufacturer. I know that with other things this is not how it works, for example washing machines....but worth bearing in mind - go back to your installer or supplier first.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Superb stove

    Michael Garrard 11 years ago

    We've had this stove for 5 years now and haven't a single complaint about it. We light ours using only 6 sticks, 4 sheets of paper and 1 match and it will heat our 6m x 5m living room with
    ease.The stove does need to be hot for the airwash to work and needs well seasoned wood.We cut our own wood so don't have a problem with the firebox size and by using a various selection of wood find the stove is very controllable.Would definitely buy another one should we ever have the need.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • great little stove

    Mark 12 years ago

    Excellent little stove that really chucks out the heat once you get it going. Takes about 1hr to properly warm up.It's a small stove, with a small output, but I don't know how you would use
    anything bigger as for us it heats a room 4m x 7m. The firebox size reflects this but i've never had a problem with log sizes.Airwash does work, but you need to get it up to temperature and use properly seasoned wood.we've had it for 3 yrs in a weekend place and it's been no bother at all.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • A good little stove

    Iain 12 years ago

    An excellent wee stove, easy to use and light though the controllability is limited, the build quality seems good and we have had no problems with it since installed 6 months ago. It's provides
    plenty of heat for a 3*4m room, the firebox is small but accepts standard size pre-cut logs, the airwash does work though there is some buildup on the glass. We don't burn overnight so no comment there.We'd buy the same one again.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Stovax Stockton 4 - A little belter!

    David Zeal 12 years ago

    Sometimes smoky when lighting but once lit performance is excellent. Due to mutifuel not easy to clean out all the ash.Very neat unit really enhances a small room.

    Stove expert replied: The smoking is probably down to the chimney rather than the stove. If the chimney is unlined consider lining and insulating it. Sometimes adding a sheet or two of newspaper on top of all your kindling can help when you are lighting the stove as it burns fast and helps to warm the chimney.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames