WhatStove?

Stovax Stockton 6 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Stockton 6 stove

The Stovax Stockton 6 stove is a plain model with one door with one plain glass window in the door.

This stove is available as a wood or multi fuel version.

As the output of the stove is over 5kw you need to have an air vent into the room.

Technical Data
  • Height: 609mm
  • Width: 456mm
  • Depth: 380mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • STK 6, love it!

    Stephen Porter 4 months ago

    Bought ours second hand on an online auction site, company that installed it said it need a new fire brick (which they supplied foc) other than that no issues. We have a cold house and the gas central heating has to work overtime to keep it warm, fire this up and within an hour it''s toasty everywhere, have to say our place is open plan so heat radiates easily. I''m looking at it critically, and I can find no fault.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • what a stove!

    Paul Case 12 years ago

    cannot find a bad word to say about this stove, simply fantastic. glass only discolours when burning coal (& wet wood) as do most stoves. know there are more expensive models out there but why
    bother. this is a gem. also i fit stoves for a living so have encountered a few
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Stovax Stockton 6 stove

  • Solid heat machine

    Corey Cook 2 years ago

    Our initial stove was not a good exeperience. I got sucked into efficiency ratings. I can''t fault the first stove because it was not installed correctly due to the design of our fireplace.
    The installer took the first stove back and after some research we selected the Stockton 6. We were limited given our fireplace design. After using the Stockton for a few weeks we are very impressed. It is solid cast iron and lights easily. I do like that there are three controls to adjust the flame. We opted for the wood burner with the multi-flu kit but we are only burning wood. A little soot on the door in the morning that wipes off easily which I imagine you would get in any modern wood burner. We looked at a Hunter stove and given that I could not call them directly we opted for the Stovax. I get comfort that you can call them directly rather than having to only rely on a dealer.

    Stove expert replied: The warranty, with any stove, is with the company that you have paid your money to and most manufacturers do not deal direct with the general public. That is why their stoves are sold through various outlets that offer this service and should assist you with the technical details for the installation etc. Good solid ratings for this stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Rubbish

    Sandra Bennett 6 years ago

    The guy was with us for 3 hours said the install was fine and stood there scratching his head even went as far as checking the logs for moisture!! Every thing was spot on from our side he told
    us! We have now been told the install wasn't done correctly !! Which is not what he said on the site visit! This fire cost me £950 it has bought me to tears !! I took a great little fire out the Bohemia 40 thinking I was up grading to a better fire how wrong was I ! Stovax want nothing more to do with it!! Any advice will be greatly excepted !! Thanks
    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • A great little stove for the price

    Martin Roscoe 8 years ago

    As our flue comes from the back we have a cover on the top hole and this did leak some fumes into the room until I sealed it with fire cement, so I have given a 4 for build quality(but perhaps
    I should have sealed it when installed).Overall we are very satisfied with it.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stockton 6 - v. good indeed!

    Clare Plumstead 9 years ago

    I looked for ages for a multifuel stove which was reasonably priced, not too contemporary or traditional to look at and would fit nicely within our fireplace which is really shallow front to
    back at only about 400mm deep. I struggled to make a decision for weeks, but kept coming back to the Stockton 6 as we wanted something with a slightly higher output than some of the smaller stoves. As a first timer with a stove lighting just took a bit of getting used to but if you listen to the installer and follow the supplied instructions you can't go far wrong with it. It is really easy to light and control, the airwash doesn't offer much adjustment but I take it as a really good sign that the glass is always lovely and clear so that you can watch the flames dancing - no need to keep cleaning it, also the fire bricks stay lovely and clean, so far so good - a lovely efficient little stove with a decent output, a simple design and reasonably priced - ticks all the boxes for us! only gave it a 3 for burning overnight as we haven't tried that yet but am pretty sure it would be fine. highly recommended.

    Stove expert replied: Good feedback from a newcomer to stoves, nice remarks.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • I've found a new hobby!

    Eric Ludlow 9 years ago

    We live in a smokeless zone and so my choice was restricted to smoke exempt models. I also wanted to go for a woodburner, that could be converted to multifuel. The Stockton 6 ticked all these
    boxes, and its shape complemented the relatively small opening that was the fireplace in our 70s detached home. We've been running it for a week now and I am totally hooked on it. As I write, the temp outside is 38F, whilst inside it's 71 downstairs and 67 upstairs. We have heat to spare - the lounge, dining room and kitchen are open-plan and we routinely leave the hall door wide open to dissipate the heat and warm the upstairs part of the house. It is also costing us nothing: the stove runs quite happily on the pallet wood and rafters that I'd stockpiled beforehand.It lights easily, once we got the knack, and burns well with the bottom vent shut and the top one half open. The firebox is a little shallow, but that's the flip side of having a fire that fits our opening.We don't bother trying to run it overnight - instead I put the CH on for an hour or so in the morning, then light the fire when I feel like it later on. We have experienced sooty glass - sometimes it's easy to clean with ash and a damp cloth, other times it takes a lot of effort. Not sure what creates the harder deposits. Other than that, the only things I'd mark it down on are the sensitivity of the top vent, and the handle design. The former could do with being longer as moving it a millimetre or so can affect the burn. The latter is a bit clunky and I hate the 'handle lever' it comes with. Instead I use the supplied gauntlets at all times when the fire is hot.Overall I am a total stove convert - the whole house is being heated for nothing and I enjoy the 'hunter gatherer' aspect of getting the wood in and cut! Including installation, the stove should pay for itself in two or three years. What's not to like?
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stovax review

    T Raymond 12 years ago

    A good overall stove for a medium-small room.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Very pleased

    Rachel 12 years ago

    I was a bit underwhelmed to start with... and then we got some wood which had been properly dried and seasoned... oh my god... Our room was a sauna - I've only marked it down on controlability
    because we got a bit hot and had to wait for a while for it to cool down. So buy this and find a good timber yard!(Oh and I put 1 on burning overnight as I haven't tried it and there's no n/a option)
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames