WhatStove?

Stovax Stockton 5 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 60 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Stockton 5 stove

The Stovax Stockton 5 stove is available as a wood or multi fuel version.

This stove does not need an air vent into the room as the output is not above 5kw.

The flue can exit from the top or the back of the stove.

The Stockton range is also available in coloured finishes - but the colours are not bright -

more a hint of colour.

Technical Data
  • Height: 544mm
  • Width: 481mm
  • Depth: 335mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Don’t buy Stovax

    Barbara Snell 5 months ago

    Bought a Stovax 5, so far the glass door has fallen out twice and the rope strip has peeled off all this in less than a year. We paid £4000 for the stove, hearth installation etc and now can't use it. Glass fell out when the stove was in use both times which was a nightmare. Email to their customer service team have gone unanswered. DO NOT BUY STOVAX.

    Stove expert replied: Your warranty should be dealt with by your stove supplier initially and not direct with Stovax, your contract is with the company that you paid to supply it. It is unusual for glass to fall out - has the gasket failed? Was the stove fully controllable when first installed or has it always been busy? The rope seal is classed as consumable and may only require glue to reattach it. Do get the installation fully checked as there may be an issue with the flue draw that is affecting the way it is performing and if the draw is excessive will lead to premature failure of components.

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Stovax Stockton 5 wood burner

    Gary 12 years ago

    Updated my 18 yr old Morso squirrel for this stove wanted to see dancing flames through clear glass this stove was very efficient at consuming my winters supply of 3 yr seasoned hardwood in
    10 weeks so when the recent cold snowy days come no wood the heat output was not as good as my old morso but that was cast iron. I have since sold this stove and replaced it with a modern cast iron one from a company thats been around for 150 yrs happy again at last.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

More reviews for Stovax Stockton 5 stove (page 1 of 6)

  • Can''t Control the Burn for Love Nor Money

    David Thorp 10 months ago

    Installed in September 2019 and whilst the company installing did a good job on the fireplace and ''were'' extremely helpful at first, the stove itself (wood burner not multi) just couldn''t
    be controlled. Even with all vents closed, there are 3, it was still roaring away. So too much draw. A damper was installed (looks hideous) and that didn''t sort it either (basically off or on). The Defra airwash was then replaced with an older one to allow the airwash to be fully closed (which puts the fire out). With this partially closed you can control the burn better (with the damper also being used) but it means the draw through the airwash is really noisy and he screen blacked fairly quickly (needs cleanign after EVERY use). Was then told i needed to pay an additional 150 quid to get a dragon cowl installed as this may solve the issue of too much draw. £150 for a guess? No thanks. It''s too easy to say that the Stove isn't the problem, it's the flue draw rate, but I would say it's a combination of the 2. Wouldn't recommend the stove based on this, buy something which can handle the draw rate better instead.

    Stove expert replied: It does sound like you have very strong draw where you are David. You're right you need to select the stove and design the chimney system based on the characteristics at each site - but I wouldn't so much blame the stove here as the system designer. With any stove it's also not always clear how the system will perform until the installation is done - conditions and chimney draw may have been fine when the site visit was done and then later changed.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Cold and quick burning

    Alex Ferguson 3 years ago

    We had this stove installed in October. Following great recommendations... would not recommend now having used it. It seems to burn through good seasoned hardwood very quickly and let''s off
    little heat. Also the draw is very fiddly and has to be fully opened to get it started properly. Airwash is terrible.

    Stove expert replied: If a stove is working hard and producing little heat it usually means that the stove draw is excessive and there will be little control. The controls will struggle to make any difference as the air is being pulled through the stove up the flue before it can heat the body and radiate into the room. I would suggest further investigations to eliminate the stove being at fault when it sounds very much that the flue is the problem.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Stove burns slower with door open

    Graham Watts 3 years ago

    Have had our Stockton 5 for 10 years and use it as a back up on cold days. It tends to burn wood fiercely if door closed and the airwash control has no effect on rate of burn. We control rate
    of burn by leaving door open as the fire then slows down. Seems strange as this is the exact reverse of what should happen! Went to a friends last night and their clearview stove responded instantly to controls giving a nice quiet slow burn. Any ideas?

    Stove expert replied: Has this always been the case or only a recent change? Have the rope seals been replaced? If this has been doing this since day one, then the likely hood is the flue has an excessive draw and hence the lack of control being experienced. If a damper or stabilizer is added to the flue system then this usually allows better control, I would suggest contacting a Hetas Engineer / flue specialist if you think this is what is being experienced.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Disappointed with the heat this gives off - or lack of!

    Andrew Andydandlauren@gmail.com 3 years ago

    We have recently had this stove installed and although aesthetically it looks very nice, especially when the fire is lit up and roaring away, we are very disappointed with the amount of heat
    it actually gives off - our living room isn''t the smallest, but when it is fully lit up you literally have to be stood within a foot of the stove itself to actually feel anything.We were hoping that we would be able to keep our living room nice and cosy without having the radiators on, but this won''t be the case at all unfortunately. Perhaps we should have gone for a bigger more powerful Kw, but we were advised by the company who installed it that this would be ideal and even "heat the bottom floor of the house" - definitely not the case and the only one seeing any real benefit is our dog who lays right next to it!!!!

    Stove expert replied: A 5kW stove would normally be suitable for a small to medium space and depending on the area you are wanting to heat is unlikely to be man enough to heat the bottom floor of a house. Have you enough clearance around the stove to allow the heated air to radiate freely? What fuel are you using? Is the chimney lined? What is the size of the room? What is the flue draw measurement? There are many factors that affect a stoves performance and the stove may be performing well but not big enough for the space. Further investigation is recommended.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Cosy toes at last

    Sally Davis 3 years ago

    Our storax 5 was fitted in July and although we had a few try''s we were waiting for chilly evening . The log burner is now roaring away absolutely bringing our little fisherman cottage to life . Wish we''d got one years ago . If it''s not that cold a compressed log will burn away for about 2 hours and the room will be warm and cosy for at least an hour and half without adding anything else brilliant
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • So far so good

    David Parker 4 years ago

    No real negatives I can think of. A minor quibble might be the fact the door handle gets very hot. Other stoves sometimes incorporate non conductive materials in their handle designs. Remember
    your welder''s gloves with this one. You''ll need them. Overall, a great stove and one I would recommend.

    Stove expert replied: If you are only planning on burning wood you may find that a wood conversion kit would improve the performance, downside is you will need to remove the ash using a fireside tool.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Stovax Stockton 5 ....... a waste of time and money!!!

    Sarah Curtin 4 years ago

    Had our stovax Stockton 5 fitted straight after Christmas and had a problem getting heat out of it so the salesperson came round with some wood of their own as they said ours must be too damp
    . They brought a probe with them which actually proved that our wood was ok but left there''s with us anyway. Have to admit theirs was a better quality wood (they also left us a thermometer) and we were able to get the temperature up to the booklets recommendation but still not warming the lounge up. Friends/family said to try the brickets and or coal which we did but even though the temperature went higher it still made no real difference in the room. BEFORE WE PURCHASED AND HAD IT FITTED WE WERE ASSURED THIS WOULD HEAT THE MAJORITY OF OUR HOUSE!!!!! Even though I have had temperatures of 450f 250c I can sit 3 feet away from the fire and only feel a small amount of heat and am still wearing a thermal long sleeve top underneath a thin jumper. Everyone, other than the company we purchased from, says with those temperatures we should have the doors and the windows open.

    Stove expert replied: If the stove is producing the heat that the manual states then this heat has to be going somewhere! What size is the room that the stove is in? Is this the correct output stove for the space you are wishing to heat? What clearance have you round the stove? Is the flue lined? Does the stove respond when you shut the air controls down? There will be a reason for the lack of heat you are expecting so further investigation of the installation and stove size is recommended, this may not be the fault of the stove!

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • I love stockton''s

    Jennie Lindgren 4 years ago

    Had a stockton 4 (multifuel) in my previous house, had a stockton 5(multifuel) installed in this house and am now planning another move and another stockton!!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Quality Stove

    Howie Smith 4 years ago

    Installed the Stockton 5 by recommendation in October 2010 and it has not disappointed. Having read many reviews people have to remember that they will all perform differently depending on chimney height, flue type, current atmospherics and wood type etc all affecting the fires draw through lighting and normal burn. I burn all types of wood, hard and soft depending what tree felling operations I've been doing. A good bed of sticks to start with a dry log, airwash open, bottom draft closed light and away. After the second feed the airwash is reduced down until the temperature gauge ( a must) sits centre. Windy conditions may require the airwash closed further to negate overburn? A good solid steel, well built steel stove that has out performed on expectations. A good tip if burning soft woods for a few nights is to follow up on hardwoods for a short period. Having less sap and higher burn temp it will help clear the pipe and glass and de-carbon the upper vent on the throat plate. As stated above, I fitted a Stovax magnetic temperature gauge in year 2 and now save approx 25% timber which for those that manually acquire their wood is also 25% less logging and splitting. No disappointments from my experience.

    Stove expert replied: Great sound comments.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6