WhatStove?

Scan Andersen 4-5 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 23 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Scan Andersen 4-5 stove
The Scan Andersen 4-5 stove is available with a cast iron top plate or a soapstone top plate. This stove has a firebox opening of 200 x 305mm.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • excellent stove

    Gabriel Brodetsky 4 months ago

    We''ve had ours for about 8 years now, and it''s been faultless. I need to install new door seal rope, which I assume for ease needs the door to be removed but I can''t see how to do so. There
    ''s a small hex bolt on the bottom hinge but removing it seems to make no difference. Any thoughts?

    Stove expert replied: The rope can be replaced in situ if you are unable to remove the door, just ensure that you remove all previous adhesive and re-attach the new rope in the same place, allow to dry fully before closing the door and using the stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great stove

    Ewan 9 years ago

    We fitted the Andersen 4-5 about three years ago in place of a 30-40's tiled fire & surround in our late Victorian house.Anyone thinking of replacing their open fire should just get on with
    it and fit a stove ! The efficiency is amazing with the added benefits of greater safety, less mess and less hot air racing away out of the room and up the chimney !Lighting is easy and painless - I use short bits of floorboard kindling with 1 sugar cube sized piece of fire lighter and 1 match. Leaving the door ajar until it races like a rocket engine.We find it very controllable if you make small adjustments. Once the stove has settled we don't generally adjust the air lever during use.I would tend to agree with other reviews that the uncontrolled tertiary air could be reduced a little to slow things down a bit. I suspect that it's factory set/designed with smoke control in mind. So far I've only run the stove on oak, beech, birch, ash.Air wash works well but if you shut the air supply off it will of course soot/goo up. simply burn this blackening off on the next firing rather than attempt to clean it.I've never managed to get it to burn all night (with wood).The stove retains a nice blend of traditional features/lines with a modern touch allowing use in any home. Build quality is superb and the castings (cast panel construction)are just gorgeous being nicely made, well machined and finished.The stainless steel handle formed from round bar can be fitted permanently or used in a removable fashion (square drive spigot & socket) which means it doesn't get hot and is less of a temptation for little fingers.The ash pan is large enough for 7-10 evenings and is well finished, being fabricated from zinc coated steel sheet.The fire box uses vermiculite boards, retained by stainless dowels. The lower baffle has a removable pressed sheet stainless u-section cap to protect its 'flame licked' leading edge.Riddling grate works well but can become temporarily "jammed" with charcoal or nails/screws ( if you burn the odd floorboard or pallet).In all, compared to other brands & typical build quality, I would not hesitate to recommend this stove, or to buy another !go for it.

    Stove expert replied: Good feedback with helpful observations!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Scan Andersen 4-5 stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Scan Anderson - fantastic stove

    Diana Carswell 10 months ago

    It lights really easily and the glass stays relatively clean. I have also had a Morso¸ squirrel stove but far prefer the scan Anderson - it's easier to control, easier to light and provides
    more heat. Another huge plus is it produces v little ash - we only need to clean the ash box once every 7-8 uses (stove running for 4-5 hours each time)

    Stove expert replied: The ash compartment should not be allowed to build up so that it touches the underside of the grate as it restricts the airflow and can shorten the grates life. Ideally it should be cleared out daily.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Shame about the glass Scan 66

    Matthew Watt 10 months ago

    Great stove looks like a egg , We have it wall mounted looks great . The only problem is the glass log guard . It is quite loose nothing a couple of clips would not fix . it has almost fallen out twice . but finally today it fell and smashed . OK I thought I will order a new one £117.18 very high price , before someone says it is special , I had the same glass cut and delivered from an online supplier for £25.00
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • excellent stove

    Ruairi Shell one year ago

    just self installed this stove, on 2nd firing I got the temp right up. I came down this morning to find a 5mm chip out of the door frame, the iron had popped out. I mailed them and waiting on
    a reply, any advise if I should glue the chip back in with thermite glue. worried that there may be other damage, not visible yet.

    Stove expert replied: I am not sure by "got the temp right up" do you know what temperature you got the stove to? I would advise getting a thermometer so that you do not over fire the stove as this can lead to damage. I would also wait and see what the supplier / manufacturer suggests as the stove is still under warranty.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Ridiculously noisy stove

    Marc Rosenberg 2 years ago

    The Scan Andersen 4-5 has proved to be an easy-to-light, controllable stove that pumps out a massive amount of heat for its size. But if you're a fan of the quiet life, steer clear of this stove, because it clanks, bangs and ‘pings’ almost constantly. Good points first: it’s easy to get going and highly controllable. The airwash works efficiently and keeps the glass reasonably clean, as long as it’s never completely closed. Slight blackening can easily be removed from the glass with damp kitchen towel when the stove is cold the next morning. The ash pan is a decent size and can hold about five days’ worth of ash before it requires emptying. Now for the downside: it is incredibly noisy. Despite only ever burning kiln-dried wood, with great care taken never to overload the firebox, the stove almost constantly clanks while lit. A bit of noise from expansion and contraction of hot metal is to be expected, but at times this stove is so noisy that you have to turn up the TV to drown out the racket, which can be heard throughout the house. The stove has been inspected several times by our HETAS-registered installer, who is a highly rated trader. With no obvious fault detected, he has tried to persuade Scan Andersen to inspect the stove, but Scan has consistently argued that there is no warranty on stoves older than one year, and it is not interested in assisting. This is very poor after sales service; Very disappointed! You can hear (and see) our Scan Andersen 4-5 in action here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDgnUJ-lACg

    Stove expert replied: Ash should not be left to mount up in an ash pan as this can lead to a shortening of the grates life, a clear space below the grate is recommended and should be maintained. Really disappointing that this stove is making a noise that is causing you distress and that you have been unable to get any assistance as this does mar the whole stove experience somewhat. Certain aspects still scoring well.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Just installed

    Frank Schencks 4 years ago

    I would be glad for a comment on the following. The stove has a heat shield (convection plate?) fixed to the back. We were told when buying the stove that' this backplate does not heat to the
    same temperature as the cast iron body and there for enables the stove to be fitted closer to the wall. Ours has been fitted right back in the opening with the plate touching the wall. The actual back of the stove is therefore 50mm from the non flammable lining affixed to the back of the fireplace opening. Is this correct/permissible?

    Stove expert replied: Please refer to page 35 of your manual that was supplied with your stove, it gives the permitted clearances. Please add to your review when you are using the stove fully so that accurate comments on build quality, efficiency, controlability etc can be updated.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stove glass

    Laurence McNally 4 years ago

    The stove itself is great ; effficient and easy to operate.However I am now up to my third replacement glass in six years. The problem occurs when using solid , smokeless fuel ( Homefire)
    as used by the supplier, resulting in the glass developing a crystalline appearance originating at the glass bottom gradually spreading upwards. Scananderson replaced the first glass free of charge and second with a 50% discount. This now is showing the same problem after just two months useage.( Jan/Feb 2017). There is no problem when burning logs. I use the same solid fuel for another stove from another manufacturer with no problem at all. Has anyone else had a similar problem?

    Stove expert replied: If the spiders web appearance gradually creeps over the glass then this is down to the stove not being operated at a fast enough rate of burn, not enough air is passing through it to remove the gases produced and so they stay in the firebox and cause a chemical reaction that shows on the glass. Short periods of fast burn will prevent this. The other stove may have a better flue draw hence it has not had the same fault develop. Homefire Ovals are fine for closed appliances but other Homefire fuels are not suited so do check that the one you are using is correct.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Scan Anderson still going strong 12 years later.

    4 years ago

    This is a great stove we also have a Jotol F370 which is not as efficient nor does it give out as much heat. Our Scan is brill, minimal ash, very controllable and a good looker.

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • We miss our Scan!

    5 years ago

    We had a Scan Andersen 4-5 stove for more than 5 years at our last house, and it was far and away the best thing about the house. Very efficient, easy to use, great window - you need to see
    the fire, I think. Some other models have little windows or cast iron over them, which I find a bit silly. Enjoy!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Air wash problems.

    David Matthews 5 years ago

    We had big problems initially after the totally useless fitter sent by the shop completely messed up the instillation . That is now sorted, but the airwash still evades us. Any advise would
    be appreciated.

    Stove expert replied: There are three air controls on the stove one at the top (airwash)and one at the bottom of the stove and the third is a circular dial on the door. Top vent open fully until fire is established and then regulate rate of burn as required. Circular one open on lighting and then when fire established this should be closed. The bottom one should be closed on lighting and once fire established this should be half open.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3