WhatStove?

Prity FG W15

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 14 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Prity FG W15
The Prity FG W15 stove has an oven above the fire box, and an ash pan underneath. The boiler has a capacity of 18 litres.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • addition to previous review

    CHRIS Gardner 5 years ago

    To add a comment to my recent review. The air wash can not be turned off as stated by some expert. Its a full width narrow slot at the top of the door- thats it and it 'aint' close -off-able
    . Now to me with this built in slot ( letting air in )how does rope in the door make any difference? In my opinion the grate at the oven bottom is massive and it does not need to be. I have used a 1/4 inch plate over 75% of this opening and the logs burn away very fast. Another prob is -no rope in the grate door, allowing no air control here !Now before some importer/expert tries to shoot me down i have viewed prity stoves in BULGARIA and some have ropes, many do not. All have fixed air wash !. There is a picture of this stove raging away with a dish in the oven. The fire shown would cremate the food in 5 mins !I do love this stove but it is flawed. My stove is the FM

    Stove expert replied: You say that some of these stoves have extra rope than your model, perhaps trying this on the grate door will help the lack of control currently being reported. It is worth trying to see if this will enable better usage of the product.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Prity FGW15

    Jennifer 9 years ago

    Had my Prity oven stove a year now , not too much too write home about lets say functional and adequate for the " price" but you cannot compare to the more expensive simular type of stove a
    friend of mine has got, the prity FG is not in that league, poor control in the oven and you have to check every 10 mins or so, fire is difficult to control and yes we do have door seals any way!,we would say better for a second home holiday where you might not have to use every day!
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

More reviews for Prity FG W15 (page 1 of 2)

  • Good stove . Slightly flawed

    CHRIS Gardner 5 years ago

    Owned this for about 3 years and love it. . Super easy to light. Eats wood very fast. Not a hope to keep it in overnight. Ours had NO rope in the doors. I have not fitted any - perhaps I should
    ?. Never had the door soot up. I think the air through the large grate at the boiler bottom is to large. I have reduced ours by half. Still the wood burns away fast. Ovoids ( coal ) burn ok and last longer and will stay in overnight. Cooking can be done but not easily as the fire needs to be kept low. My main gripe is the fast burning of the wood -- any one any idea's. I do love this stove and rate it a good buy. Our model will not supply radiators but is the same as the above

    Stove expert replied: If there is supposed to be rope seals on the door as per other stoves then adding this should help with the amount of air being drawn into the stove and give greater control (using less fuel for same heat!). Check if there should be some before adding though.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Prity pretty good

    Berat 6 years ago

    I am using the stove connected to 10radiators+ 2 towel heater. When guest rooms closed (2 radiators) we use almost 2 tons of wood in a month. Though the house is almost 200 m2 it is always
    22+ C warm. Living room ceiling is 5 m high and full window with no curtains, by the way. Connected to a boiler we also have hot water 24 hrs. In case of an energy cut we also put a tiny electric generator which runs manually. We do not refill the stove overnight but the heat is ok (17-18C) in the early morning. I would recommend it to every one.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • good stove .just very poor air control

    Chris Marland 6 years ago

    Basically a good stove although very cheaply made. not enough air control . ie no airwash control whatever. the seals around the fire door were pressed in to far so didn't seal.No seal at all
    on the ashpan so the fire tended to run away with itself. A few quid later and a bit of ingenuity and I am almost there. the oven works a treat but until its you controlling the fire and not the other way round it tends to get too hot.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • superb....

    Phil Baptiste 6 years ago

    third winter with this stove, on a live aboard barge...we don't run water from it but we do cook in the oven and top...its that quick to light and warm that I still haven't connected the central
    heating up, its just got one of those weird fans to push the air around...as for cooking in the oven, its one to watch but the results are fantastic

    Stove expert replied: Is this a boiler stove but just not connected to the system? No boiler stove should be run without it being fully commissioned as damage to the boiler may occur.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Prity Corner Boiler Stove

    Fiona Hopkins 8 years ago

    Done 2 winters now with this stove and I cant recommend it highly enough in terms of value for money. It runs our DHW and 7 radiators perfectly and has a great sized firebox to make this practical. Yes the glass soots up a bit when its running down (easily cleaned every few weeks or so, if you are bothered), yes the air control is limited, so it doesn't stay in overnight on wood (but will on coal/pure heat) - but it does the necessary. Really chuffed with it

    Stove expert replied: Nice review and boiler producing good output. Glass will blacken when the airwash system is closed but should burn off with a short period of fast burn.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • I love this stove!

    Roisin Barry 9 years ago

    I love this stove. I replaced a smaller stove with this model, now for my wood and turf fire I have a warm room, 3 hot double radiators, a cooked dinner and a tank of hot water. I cooked a roast of beef in it recently and the meat was a soft as butter. Only one issue you need to raise the roasting pan or better yet cover the roasting pan with a non-stick baking sheet as the meat and potatoes will stick to roasting dish. Its perfect for homes with limited space.

    Stove expert replied: What more can anyone ask, heat, cooked food and hot ater - can't be a bad advert for this stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Prity FGW 15

    John 9 years ago

    I bought this stove to replace a ruined Rayburn in a tiny terraced cottage. The arrangement of oven over firebox, with the consequent reduced "footprint" size-plus the 18kW boiler, made the
    choice simple as I am unaware of any other stove that matches these parameters - I am curious as to what "similar" stove Jennifer is referring to. As with any woodstove, it takes a while to learn how to set the very basic controls, but I now leave mine burning overnight (6-8 hours), and at worst, there is a glowing core waiting in the morning which can swiftly be revived simply by opening the stove up and tossing some fresh fuel on it. The boiler output is massive - the three radiators that the Rayburn struggled to keep lukewarm are to hot to touch most of the time, and there's more than enough piping hot water day and night - the Rayburn boiler needed daily boosts from an electric immersion heater.The oven takes some getting used to, and it's no replacement for a Rayburn oven- with no mass to speak of, and no insulation, the temperature can be hard to control. But it keeps my stockpot bubbling week by week, and when my gas cooker went down, I was able to produce a pot-roast, though I did have to pay attention. All this for one pick up load a month of firewood.

    Stove expert replied: All stoves take time to learn how to operate effectively, persevere and you will get more out of what seems to be an already well used appliance.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Impartial Review - Prity FG W15

    John G 10 years ago

    The stove works well on all counts. It lights very easily, burns wood, coal, or smokeless, and I find it very controllable, once you get used to it - from 'tickover' to almost furnace.Heats
    a 200lit tank of water from cold in about 30 mins, and runs my eight downstairs radiators comfortably and economically. We've not had it burn overnight as yet, but can leave for 5 to 6 hours while we're out with both controls turned down to nil, and the stove is still alight when we return so I'm optimistic that it will burn overnight if 'banked up.'I would have no hesitation in recommending the stove - it's no design masterpiece, but it does the job pretty well (and cooks bread as well!)
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2