WhatStove?

Hunter Herald 6 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Hunter Herald 6 stove

The Hunter Herald 6 is available in quite a few different varieties.

You can buy a wood or multi fuel Hunter Herald 6 - and both models are available with 1 or 2 doors and with either a flat top, a low canopy, or a high canopy.

All the Hunter Herald stoves can have crosses on the 2 doors and you can have plain doors which gives the stove a more modern look.

Technical Data
  • Height: 567mm
  • Width: 542mm
  • Depth: 406mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Lack of heat output

    Jenny Allaway 8 months ago

    We had our Hunter 6 double sided multi fuel burner (no back boiler) installed in May 2019 and since then have had limited heat output from it. Installer has been back and forth checking everything
    and testing different options but with minimal difference. He even put fire resistant rockwool above the register plate. We are stoking it hard with good seasoned wood and after around 6 hours we get some heat but certainly nowhere near the amount stated in the specs. Tried coal but don''t want to rely on that. I''ve contacted Hunter and they have asked about whether the baffle is positioned correctly. Not even certain we have one so will ask the sweep tomorrow to check. If the case be that there isn''t one, would a baffle really make a huge difference? Keen to hear what others have done that have had the same issues with this stove.

    Stove expert replied: The baffle plate will make a huge difference as it keeps the heat in the stove and allows for better efficiency and a cleaner burn before the gases exit the firebox. The installer should have checked this before handing the installation over.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • A great little burner

    Charles Matthews 12 years ago

    Sune and co at Stovesonline were brilliant with advice prior to purchase and price matching then followed it up with advice on installation. This stove is easy to install yourself although the
    flue can be tricky depending on your setup. I would have liked to utilise the backboiler but it would have been too complicated to integrate into our already complex plumbing system. The stove burns well with both wood and coal but I have had the best results from coal. The level of control is good although I have found I have to have it really well banked up to last overnight. The handles aren't insulated so you'll need a glove to open it and the firebox is quite small. We have this stove in the kitchen - it really warms the whole house from there and you can put a pot on to simmer away at the same time.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Hunter Herald 6 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • lets hope there is not a problem

    Ian Ellis 3 years ago

    We have a hunter six double sided multi fuel burner which is a great stove but trust me if you need any parts it takes for ever to obtain if you use the hunter inquiry system, you are lucky if you get a reply. I needed some glass retaining clips but had to go to the installation manual to find the part number as its not shown on their 27 page parts list that I went through. As I said a great stove let down by the poor after sales service
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Well built and great heat

    GARY BUCHS 3 years ago

    We have had our stove for 5 yrs now and it has performed very well. Still looks as good as new and is used almost daily , even in our recent poor Summer! Nothing has needed replacing except
    door glass and ropes. Quite economical in use , Glass stays clean [we burn smokeless], heats our 2 bed Cottage throughout.Just a note make sure territory air vent is CLOSED [at rear of stove]We have had it going all night but didn''t find it easy.Love it.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Average Sotve

    Nick Sellers 4 years ago

    Does ok but uses a lot of fuel. One big positive its the best stove I have had for keeping the glass clear. Being a DEFRA approved stove it doesnt close completely down the tertiary air still
    comes in which is fine. Had a Burley Holywell previously which gave more heat for less fuel. Finish on the paint on the door is poor and being replaced under warranty apparently but seems to be a slow process! Wouldn't buy a Hunter again if I am honest
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • help!

    Jason Summers 5 years ago

    I have had the Hunter 6 double sided stove installed for about 2 weeks now, its a great looking stove, installation was quick and easy. I got good seasoned wood but can't get the heat out of
    it, the fire is burning well, but seems as if all the heat is going up the flue, would a damper cure this problem? air wash works well

    Stove expert replied: If the stove is working hard and is not able to be shut down to a slumber mode, using lots of fuel for little heat then a damper should help to control the flue draw which may be excessive. In these cases the heated air is sucked out of the stove up the flue before it has time to radiate into the room, this may happen on windy occasions or be something that is always present. Further investigation is recommended.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Hunter Herald 6 Double Sided

    Alfie Kingston 5 years ago

    We recently had a Hunter Herald 6 wood burner installed by a Hetas registered engineer. It's double sided with top and bottom vents, a damper was also installed. It's not getting anywhere near enough heat as I would have expected but.............. It's double sided and one side of it is on the reception area also leads up the stairs so I would expect to lose some heat but generally it's not as hot around the general vicinity as I have experienced in other homes. We took out the old gas fire but kept the old canopy so that the top 10% of the fire is under this. It's hot under the canopy but still not scalding in my opinion. I have heard these induction fans are good? If so should I get 2 to push heat out both sides? Any advice is appreciated. I have heard that Hunters are not the best products available but we were limited on double sided stoves for the size of opening we had. It's just not hot :(

    Stove expert replied: The canopy may not be allowing the generated heat to radiate freely into the surrounding space but may be trapping it. Stove top fans do work well when a stove is up to working temperatures and may help. Is the stove fully controllable? If it is then possible look at the fuel that you are using, if it does not shut down to a slumber mode then the flue draw may be a problem and should be investigated further. Is the stove the correct size for the 2 areas you are trying to heat?

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Hunter Herald 6 double sided single depth.

    Michael Picton 6 years ago

    For the last few years I had a clearview vision 500, which was excellent. The clearview was located in a dining room , it was installed with a double skinned flue which was boxed in . However
    several walls have been knocked down to make our house more open plan. An existing fireplace was opened up at the back so we could get a double sided stove fitted instead of the open fire. The hunter Herald 6 was installed in the void with a 6" 316 steel flex flue approx 7m in height. After installation I fired it up, I was bitterly disappointed. The highest I could get the temp up to was 100 deg c. It was sucking in air from the control vents like mad, even with them closed. I ordered a flue damper, which has made a massive difference.The stove ticks over with the damper closed at 200 deg c. I am only burning logs.The stove outlet casting has the holes cast for the damper so I bought the hunter item which fits straight into the collar. I cannot believe that it is possible to use the stove without a damper and the fact that hunter have the holes cast into the flue collar suggests a damper is advisable. Another strange thing is the "turbo bar" which is a box section steel tube that runs horizontal just below the throat plate. A real nuisance as it stops you piling up the logs- it gets in the way. I have no idea what it does and I'm pretty sure the stove would run just as well without it.The glass does not stay clean. I am satisfied with the stove , but build quality does not match clearview , if clearview made a double sided model I would buy it, however double sided stoves are limited.

    Stove expert replied: Was the flue draw tested when installed as clear guidance is given to this in the manual supplied. I suspect that the draw was above the recommended level and a damper enables the reduction of the draw to what is suggested. The turbo bar will be required to insure the stove can burn effectively and efficiently and perhaps you are trying to put too many logs into the firebox at any one time. Is the fuel dry and seasoned? The glass will only stay clean if the air settings are correct and the fuel does not have a moisture content of less than 20%. Putting too many logs into the fire may also be aggravating this.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Hunter herald. 6

    Curie Roulston 8 years ago

    Bought a hunter herald 14 kw 7 years ago,no problem with it so thought would buy another smaller one for another room, very easy on the fuel as I burn logs and some smokeless fuel as well. Easy to light and control the amount of air that can pass through the stove. Keep the ash tray emptied regulary and the stove will keep the room warm all night and can easily be reignited in the morning. Would definitely recommend this stove.

    Stove expert replied: buying a second stove of the same make speaks for itself, great review.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Hunter Herald 6

    Neil Richards 9 years ago

    We have had this Stove for about 3 months, all I can say is that I am very disappointed with it. After 8-10 hours of burning at full rate I can comfortably open the door by hand, without discomfort
    ! I often sit in the front room with a blanket over me as the stove is not giving out enough heat. The firebox is too small, the airwash system does not reach the bottom of the glass and the customer service from Hunter is horrendous.I am definitely in the market for a different make. The stove was fitted by a HETAS fitter and I burn only

    Stove expert replied: this possibly sounds like an undersized stove, perhaps also on a chimney which draws very strongly? Can you hear the air being sucked through the vents very clearly when you are near the stove?

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • A good little stove

    Ewan MacIntyre 12 years ago

    We've had one of these for 18 months, including 2 winters. The first winter we had no damper, which was a mistake - even though our house is not exposed, we needed to get one the following summer
    to give more controlability.Possibly as a result of overfiring that first winter, or as a result of our inexperience, we broke the sloped firebrick near the start of winter 2, so be gentle if you get one of these. We've cobbled it together for now using angled steel, as we have a back boiler to install in it in the summer this year (2009), and that will mean the fire brick isn't required.We've used logs and waste wood with success, and coal including anthracite is fine too.We have a modest sized living room and it heats it well, though if it's on all day by evening we often need to shut it down a bit - the back boiler should fix that. After a few days it even makes a difference to the extension the other size of our gable wall.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2