WhatStove?

Harmony 33 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 10 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Harmony 33 stove


The Harmony 33 stove has a separate ash door and double glazed fire box door. The handle and hinges on the single door are made of brass.

Technical Data
  • Height: 717mm
  • Width: 648mm
  • Depth: 390mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • change of mind

    P.R. Love 3 years ago

    I reviewed this stove a few years ago now, and was very disappointed. Although it takes a while to get used to it , I now find it absolutely marvelous. There are times when I do not let it
    out at night and all I have to do the next day is give it a bit of a clean out and refuel it and off it goes in a couple of minutes. I can burn briquettes, anthracite, fuel made of coal dust made into balls. It will not stay in at night with anthracite and it burned out the grate on me but then perhaps I did not control it. I have not quite mastered getting the glass clean, but it is essential to use wood at least 2 years old. The only problem I have is the rod that should be able to shake all the dust out is really no use at all, It gets clogged up and I would like to know if there is a solution to this. I would certainly recommend it ,but follow the instructions to the letter.

    Stove expert replied: Different fuels will produce varying amounts of ash and clinker (unburnt lumps of fuel), it is worth trying a few different ones until you find the one that suits your stove. Anthracite is one of the hottest fuels and care should be taken to leave a small bed of ash on the grate to protect it, also make sure that the ash is removed straight away. If the grate is clogged with clinkers then it will not be able to move freely, as above I would recommend you try an alternative fuel.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Harmony 33 Multifuel

    I Smith 9 years ago

    Very good stove. Make sure the wood you use is dry or all you'll get is smoke, and a black glass door. Cast iron internals rather than vermiculite is a major bonus (Only 1 firebrick is vermiculite
    so replacement costs are reduced). Very controllable. Takes a while to heat up but retains heat and is still warm the following morning.Weight is significant - 140kg plus. not easy to lift when installing etc, but is very solid and will likely last a while. Compared to the lighter stainless steel stoves this is in a league of its ownExpensive? Yes, but worth it. You can get similar looking stove for about £400 rather than the £1600 - £1900 you'll pay for this one but you get what you pay for in the stove world. DEFRA approved for smokeless zones too.

    Stove expert replied: Always use dry and seasoned wood otherwise the results will not be efficient.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Harmony 33 stove

  • Flamazing

    Daryl Halliwell 7 years ago

    I have a stanford 33 same stove as harmony 33 really just styling different. It's amazing straight from the off its efficient, easy to use once going leave alone don't mess around with it. It
    's very very easy to light, the glass stays clean, I can get it to burn over night when I chose to. The remote works well, did I mention the glass stays clean even at low air setting. The ash pan only needs emptying every 3 or so days. Use seasoned dry wood invest in a moisture meter to test your woods water content. I nearly didn't purchase this stove due to some of the reviews on here thank god I trusted in my judgement and ignored these poor reviews it's an amazing stove. I had a charnwood country 4 stove made on the Isle of Wight amazing pressed steel stove but this Nestor Martin is in a different league it's the rolls Royce of stoves in my experience. Granted the stanford cost 3 times as much as the country 4 but it's 5 times superior. Go buy one you won't be disappointed if you are there's something wrong with your flue, fuel or it's user error. One criticism the handle gets hot the this model but on the Charnwood it was made from wood and could be opened with no glove the Nestor Martin you have to wear a glove but that's a small niggle for a great stove that heats a very very large living room and spreads around the lower floor of our house when doors are left open.

    Stove expert replied: Very high praise for this model.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Good stove but not good value

    GRAHAM DAWES 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Superlative Technology

    Andrew Moffat 8 years ago

    I have owned the Harmony 33 for three years. The technology must surely be the best on the market in terms of the response to the controls. I have a slightly smaller Aarrow Ecoburn 9 but this consumes more fuel than the 10KW Harmony 33. The Harmony can be closed down overnight without blackening of the window, so long as dry fuel is used - an essential requirement for all stoves. The next morning, on opening the control device, the embers glow and ignite. Starting a new fire, from cold, the controls make it unusually easy to light and generate the initial heat to begin the new fire. I do not think I have ever failed to begin a fire, so easy do the controls make the lighting process. The stove takes a little longer than most to warm up but this is because the inner lining is also constructed of iron - which undoubtedly has benefits in terms of its operation and the combustion process. The handle becomes hot but a glove is supplied for operation, as to be expected. A small niggle has been the adjustment knob which governs the control settings. This tends to come loose after a period but an allen key is supplied to enable tightening. I have had occasion to speak to the technical department. Not only are they most helpful but are a pleasure to speak with, not least in terms of their technical knowledge. The price is high but the technology and material are superlative. I would happily recommend this stove.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Harmony 33 Stove

    Richard Oldfield 8 years ago

    We've had the stove about six months, it performs well, my only complaints are that the brass handle gets very hot and the controls are behind a flap below the door which we often leave open
    which looks untidy. Minor niggles really. I've not managed to get it to stay lit overnight using wood, I've not tried other fuels.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Euroheat Harmony 33

    Christine Best 9 years ago

    I recently installed a Harmony 33 from Euroheat in Green enamel and it looks the part. A high gloss finish in a very dark green almost black colour - beautiful. Very easy to light, glass keeps really clean and a very controllable fire. Easy overnight burning especially if you use coal and wood together. The stove is pricey but I firmly believe you get what you pay for and I am delighted with this stove. Stoves Expert Replied: Normal household coal is not recommended for use in a closed appliance, please check that smokeless fuels are used and ones that are not petroleum based.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Harmony 33

    Bill 9 years ago

    We have had this fire for 6 years and it has been Grate! Good heat ,stays in all night,in fact sometimes we think it is out but put a log on open it up and away it goes again.Very satisfied
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Good Stove

    John 12 years ago

    Have owned a Clearview 650 before and thought it was a good stove but this one is better, my fuel consumption was so much better, I actually over stocked on fuel last year. I'm glad I was convinced
    to change.p.s V good air wash.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • harmony 33

    Deborah Harrold 12 years ago

    good stove
    Overall rating:

    4 flames