WhatStove?

Fireline FP5 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 38 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Fireline FP5 stove

The Fireline FP5 is a 5 Kw Defra exempt stove. There are two models available; burning and multi-fuel. A 12mm hearth is okay if your burning dry wood, however - if you burn smokeless fuels you will need a smokeless kit.

Technical Data
  • Height: 522mm
  • Width: 365mm
  • Depth: 310mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Fireline 5W

    Roger Hayward 6 months ago

    I''m very pleased with this stove, fitted three months ago and in use every day. Economical with wood and gives off plenty of heat and is very controllable. Putting three hardwood logs in before
    we go to bed will last all night and into the morning. The only downside is that the firebox is a little narrow and when opening the stove to put in fresh wood, some burning material can fall out.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Fireline FP5

    Phil Sime 9 years ago

    I have been using this stove almost constantly for the last couple of months and I have to say it has met and exceeded all my expectations.It has been installed in place of an existing open
    gas fire. We decided that although we didn't legally have to, we would use a 5" liner in the existing flue after reading about potential issues with draw.The fire is easy to start and being steel (as opposed to the iron stoves) gets to work quickly producing heat in to the room. I have only used seasoned hard wood and smokeless coal.When running at normal operation the air wash works well, keeping the glass clean. Of course once the vents are closed the glass does get dirty but that is too be expected. The stove is very controllable, I'm not sure if it was designed this way but the top (airwash) vent works in 2 ways, you have the horizontal sliding action but as the handle is on a screw (to lock the vent) you can use this to open, or restrict the flap, we only discover this after closing the vent but then we got a noisy whistling sound that disappeared once the handle was tightened.Overnight burning. I wasn't expecting much in this department, but have been pleasantly surprised, loaded up with wood and the vents set to min, the fire was still going 8 hours later. With an over night burn using ecoal we can easily get 10-12 hours out before the fire would have to be re-lit.Fuel Usage, I'm glad we went for a duel fuel stove in the end, I have found that ecoal gives a more controllable heat and I'm sure it works out cheaper (unless of course you don't pay for your wood)The riddling action is sufficient to maintain a good burn with out having to open to often.Cleaning/emptying is simple with the tool and tray provided. I have found using a ceramic hob cleaning tool (razor blade in a handle) very good at removing soot from the glass.The only problem we have is that I think the stove is a bit to powerful for our room so think hard before choosing the the KW output for your requirements

    Stove expert replied: Good review of this stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Fireline FP5 stove (page 1 of 4)

  • fxp 5w with Defra kit after 3 weeks winter use

    Adam Lackey 10 months ago

    It has a 7 year warranty but I don't think this counts for much as doesn't include most of the parts as they are classed as consumables. It covers damage to the stove body however it needs to
    be correctly installed, run at at the right temperature with the right fuel. I imagine the manufacturer could say you have voided warranty by one of the above fairly easily. However this is speculation, I have no reason to believe they are not a good company. I'm just saying read the small print.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Buy from a provider that can give you information

    Penny Sowden one year ago

    Really disappointed, had another make previously and was really pleased, but this burner flies through fuel, not easy to maintain and when you go the web site it's not helpful

    Stove expert replied: If the stove is using lots of fuel and not controllable, the flue draw may be in excess of what the manufacturer advises. This can be rectified by a flue damper or stabiliser in most cases and is not the fault of the stove. It is worth investigating further to see if a better control can be achieved to insure that you get an effective and efficient rate of burn.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Not very good

    Sue Radford one year ago

    Had this stove installed in March 2019 and compared to our previous Clearview stoves, this one is very disappointing. Reasonably easy to light but keeping it lit is a whole different ball game
    . We've tried all sorts of ways but other than keeping an eye on it all the time, nothing works. Our Clearview we could keep going overnight. This one we're lucky if it manages to stay alight for an evening! Glass discolours every time. All in all I wouldn't recommend this stove at all.

    Stove expert replied: If the glass is discolouring you may not be keeping the airwash open enough. You should be able to control the rate of burn by gently moving the controls until a steady rate of burn is achieved. A stove thermometer is recommended to insure that the stove operates within the given temperatures. Stoves do vary greatly so it is worth spending time to get to know a new one and how it operates effectively.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Not a patch on a Clearview

    Sue Radford one year ago

    Been installed 9 months. Having previously had Clearview stoves in other houses, this is sadly not in the same league. Very temperamental, never yet managed to keep it lit overnight as we did
    with the Clearview. Glass discolours every time. A shame so I couldn't recommend.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Very disappointed

    Sherri Inker 2 years ago

    I purchased and had fitted a FIRELINE stove manufactured by Charlton and Jenrick and I have regretted every penny spent. 1. Front main knob broke on first use and manufacturer merely sent a replacement to be self fitted (I am a women living alone) hardly customer service 2. After 3 uses top vent knob snapped and broke and again unable to use fire. This fire that I looked forward too has turned into a useless sub standard item that was with fitting extremely costly. I have requested manufacturers to visit and view. May be I had a poor one off the line but with so many alternatives I wish I had bought something from a different manufacture. Think twice and thoroughly check alternatives.

    Stove expert replied: Did you go back to your supplier regarding the warranty issues that have been experienced? It is a shame and unusual that you have had two knobs breaking in a short space of time. Not what is normally expected.

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Fp5

    Kirsten Taylor 2 years ago

    Only 2 months into using this stoves and the rope around the bottom control dial already fraying.

    Stove expert replied: Have you gone back to your supplier to see if you can get a replacement under warranty?

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Fireline FP5

    Simon Barrett 2 years ago

    Good little stove and been installed for over 3 years. I, like previous reviewers have slight discoloring / soot to the glass but this is generally down to closing down the air wash controls
    once the stove is up at temp. The door seal rope requires replacing. Can you recommend the best replacement rope? I am uncertain whether it''s a hard or soft seal and I think it''s 10mm dia. Simon

    Stove expert replied: Contact a spares company for a rope replacement price or a genuine spare as rope comes in many densities and diam. so the correct product should be used.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Fireline FP5

    Bob Smith 3 years ago

    We bought this stove for our kitchen diner as we had a marvellous experience with our Woodwarm stove in our Living Room. We didn''t want to spend a huge amount of money and this stove was recommended
    by the installer.Unfortunately this stove comes nowhere near the quality of the Woodwarm stove and I now wish we had spent a few more pounds - the biggest problem with it is that as soon as we open the stove to refuel it we get a puff of smoke out of the door due to the low baffle plate (we have plenty of draw from the chimney). We have tried numerous things with the airflow controls but the supplier/installer says nothing can be done and its just an issue with the stove that we''ll have to live with!Also - despite using a stove thermometer (so we know what the optimum burn is) the glass does go brown despite running at the correct temperatures. The only thing that cleans it off (I tried everything else) is ceramic hob cleaner. This needs doing each time we use it.Its a real shame as it seems like a decent stove apart from these two flaws - unfortunately it would stop me from buying the stove again and from recommending it to anyone else. If you want a good stove please pay a bit extra and buy something else like a Woodwarm.

    Stove expert replied: Glass cleaning - a damp cloth dipped in vinegar or woodash should help to remove discoloration and is cheaper than a branded hob cleaner. A non stick scourer with cream cleaner also does the same and doesn't scratch the glass surface.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Door handle

    Andrew Burnett 3 years ago

    The door handle has melted and fallen off returned to shop where we bought it from who then gave me a new handle straight away. Have just used the fire for the first time since and the same
    has happened again burning smokeless fuel the stove is only just 1 year old.

    Stove expert replied: Seems very strange that the handle has melted twice, is the fire burning fiercely or are you able to close it down?

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4