WhatStove?

Firefox 5 Cleanburn stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 16 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Firefox 5 cleanburn stove

The Firefox 5 defra approved is for a smokeless area.

This model is a wood burning stove only.

It has 1 plain door with glass for viewing the fire.

The measurements are a little different to the Firefox 5 multi fuel model.

Technical Data
  • Height: 558mm
  • Width: 450mm
  • Depth: 394mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Firefox 8 cleanburn

    Allan Filbee 5 months ago

    Hello I have just had this stove fitted replacing an existing stove, the top vent doesn't seem to move much at all and when burning smoke less coal, even with both vents closed it seems to be
    burning far to quickly, any ideas please

    Stove expert replied: The flue draw should have been taken when installed, check that this is as required by the manufacturer. A CB version stove means that it will comply to the regulations for Smoke Controlled Areas and a restrictor has been added to prevent the air control from being able to be closed fully (this means the flue gases are always diluted and the stove is cleaner burning). If the flue draw exceeds the requirements you can have a flue damper or flue stabiliser fitted to help with controlling the rate of burn.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great value great performance

    Neil Martin 8 years ago

    I had the Firefox 5 installed with a flue liner I live in a 1900 Victorian semi. The chimney draw is good but had the liner for safety, peace of mind and also the stove operates more effectively with a liner I found out after research. I have had no problems - it's easy to light and gets fantasticly hot and heats the downstairs of my house brilliantly. You can't keep it going overnight because I have the clean burn version, but no problem. The door handle gets too hot to touch which is annoying, but not a big problem, manufacturers should take notice of that though . I would buy another one - and am considering one for my dining room :-) It's transformed my cold Victorian house which still has original draughty windows into a toasty home. Money well spent.

    Stove expert replied: I recommend keeping an oven glove by the fire when operating the stove so that using the handle does not pose a problem.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Firefox 5 Cleanburn stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Good burner

    Kayleigh Seymour 4 years ago

    I had a Firefox 5 installed in my previous home and found it had good heat output and fuel burning was efficient. In my new home I had a newer version of the stove with a larger more robust handle fitted last week. I've noticed that with this stove, the top angled air brick has a much larger gap (more than 1 inch) which allows more air through and almost looks like it is too small for the burner. I've found that with the top and bottom valves shut off, the wood is burned much quicker than in my previous stove as though lots of air is in the stove making it less efficient.

    Stove expert replied: If the previous Firefox was not a cleanburn model then you would have had more control over the rate of burn, the cleanburn models have a restriction on the air control so they comply with the smoke exempt area regulations. This means that they will not fully close to allow for diluted gas emissions and will mean a higher rate of burn.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Firefox 5 seal failure

    Nev Hill 4 years ago

    Further to my previous review I have been to see the retailer and whilst I was in store he rang firefox. It seem that the back blanking plate and the retaining metal lugs fail quite often and
    they were surprised mine had lasted so long, but they have a fix kit ie a metal bar which fits across the back of the box behind the fire brick and cost £6. To me it sounds suspicious. It is not covered by warranty as its wear and tear. The rope which I have been told is part of the box seal situated within the stove body not to be confused with the door is also wear and tear. Having spoken to an engineer he has never know this problem before and to fix it could cost more than a new stove. He would have to take it away dis assemble with no knowledge of how difficult that could be due to the effects of the heat. I believe that they are ducking what is a build quality problem and one with serious health and safety issues. Would I recommend YES !!!!! GET ANOTHER MAKE and stay away from Firefox.
    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Fire Fox 5 problems

    Nev Hill 4 years ago

    I have the clean burn version. It was purchased 3 yrs ago. it has always had a hot spot just above the top hinge as a result the rope has to be changed each year. The latest problem is that
    rope has appeared in the for lack of a better description in a vent just above the top of the box door I think its from the clean air vent the control situated top right. The fire also has not been burning as clean as before. I have today found a round disc with rope round it on the floor at the back of the box. When I purchased this I had to wait a couple of weeks for delivery as IT was the NEW clean burn version. Is this a faulty fire.

    Stove expert replied: The round disc with rope round it that you found on the floor at the back of the stove is the hot plate that seals off the flue outlet that is not being used and needs to be reinstated prior to using the stove again. I wound suggest having an engineer undertake a full service of the appliance to make sure that all parts are correctly aligned. Once undertaken you should be able to get the best from your stove. Do make sure that you have had the chimney swept as well so that the flue system is clean from debris.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • 5 star multistove

    4 years ago

    I have had the Firefox 5 multistove cleanburn approx a year, installed in my static holiday home ..great heat output. Easy to master with the vent controls .great looking stove . I have a Stovax
    Stockton 5 installed in my home ..the comparison - firefox 5 is better in many ways ..
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Top vent adjustment???

    4 years ago

    Hi, I've installed both a 5.1 & 8.1 Firefox cleanburn in my home, really pleased with them and would recommend them to anyone wishing to install one in there home. The only thing for me is as mine are the cleanburn models and the top vent does not fully close to allow a constant flow of oxygen into the fire box but I feel it allows too much oxygen therefore you cannot get a really nice slow burn on the fire hence they go through quite a bit of wood and Im using hardwood! I was just wondering if this could possible be adjusted at all? If I had known what I know now I would have gone for the classic model but still a very good fire.

    Stove expert replied: The Defra Approved models have this adjustment on the air control which makes them comply due to the flue gases always being diluted by the air passing through the stove, These can't be removed I'm afraid.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great. Dtove

    4 years ago

    Love this stove can I use coal on it

    Stove expert replied: Household coal is not recommended for closed appliances smokeless fuels are what should be used especially as this is a clean burning model and coal is certainly not a clean burning fuel! Refer to the stove manual for further advice on fuel types.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • great stove!!.

    Steve Coles 5 years ago

    lovely stove. have been using for 2 years now. I have a semi detached 3 bed council house with a central chimney. the stove heats the whole house by warming up the chimney, without the need to put on central heating. what I would love to know though is how much co2 is produced per KW/hr. can anyone help with this?.

    Stove expert replied: Good review. The emissions will depend on the fuel type being used, control settings and may possibly be affected by weather conditions so your question is hard to quantify.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • back bricks

    Susan Shepherd 5 years ago

    love this fire although think we should have got a bigger output. The only fault is that since we had the stove put in in March this year 2015 the back brick has cracked twice, we only replaced
    it in October and the new one has cracked the fire is only lit 5 nights a week from 5 pm to 9 pm,

    Stove expert replied: Providing the liners stay in place they can be used when cracked, they need to protect the metal of the stove. Be careful when loading a stove as if the fuel is put into the firebox with force it can lead to a shortening of the liners life.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Good little stove

    Neil Down 5 years ago

    We have one of these which was already fitted to the house when we moved in.Burns well but the secondary air control doesn't really do anything. Ok when burning coal but wood really needs the
    secondary air so shutting down the primary makes the fire go out.

    Stove expert replied: The top air control will have some adjustment but will not close completely as the air is needed to comply to the smoke control regulations. Try only adjusting the bottom control slightly at a time until you get a steady flame picture.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2