WhatStove?

Firefox 12 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Firefox 12 stove

The Firefox 12 is a cast iron multifuel stove which can give out up to 13kW of heat.

Technical Data
  • Height: 680mm
  • Width: 645mm
  • Depth: 415mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 2.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Freezing cold

    A Bennett 3 years ago

    I am baffled. I had Firefox 12 installed a few days ago and I have lit it twice. It is freezing. I am so disappointed. I have to stand by it to feel the heat. I burn briquettes and wood. I had
    a new flue liner installed with it. The wind blows down the chimney into the stove. I might as well have had a fridge installed. It is supposed to be 12KW I think but it feels like 3 KW. It does not throw out any heat. I really want a refund as the whole installation cost £2,000.

    Stove expert replied: Would suggest going back to installer as this needs further investigation. With a liner installed the flue draw should be adequate for the stove, is there an airbrick in the room? What sort of cowl is on the flue as an anti down draft one may be required to prevent smoke coming back down the chimney. The chimney / flue system may need to be made taller if there are other flues / chimneys in the property. Was the liner insulated? Have you tried smokeless fuel to see if this works better? Do not give up before all avenues have explored.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Red hot

    M Turner 8 years ago

    It's a great looking stove real hot my only problem is it burns to fast even with both air streams shut its rages I think to fast is there any way to temper it?

    Stove expert replied: Get the flue checked as you may require a damper to give you more control of the stove.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Firefox 12 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Replacement glass for the doors

    Peter Collins 3 years ago

    Very Happy with this stove burning both wood and coal generating plenty of heat for my large lounge and adjoining kitchen. When fully loaded feels more like a furnace and coal allows it to stay
    lit overnight. The only problem I have experienced is cracked glass so need to get some replacement glass for the doors ?
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • firefox 12

    4 years ago

    Had the fire fox 12 for 3 years now, and I run it mostly on waste wood. It works fine and can heat the whole house, once its warmed its self up. the handles I found too small for my mits, and frequently burnt my knuckles, so I made my own from a large cast iron key, with the end filed to a 10mm square. Its easy to clean, simple to light, and the burn control is very good. I really cant find a fault with mine.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Firefox 12, internal warping

    Richard Jones 6 years ago

    In conclusion, I love this fire, its provided a nice heat and looks great. I have a free (if you don't include, fetching, chopping and storing) supply of wood, so it has helped massively reduce
    our bills and gives the room a focal point.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • riddling

    Carol Cregan 6 years ago

    We are stumped as to how to do this. The small tool doesn't seem to fit anywhere & there doesn't seem to be moving parts?

    Stove expert replied: To operate: Offer the operating tool to the riddling bar (right hand side panel near base) and using slow positive movement riddle the grate back and forth. The reciprocating movement will clear the grate. The grate can jam occasionally with clinker or more often with nails and screws from used timber. Use shorter, faster movement of the tool to dis- lodge. If jamming persists then the obstruction must be removed when the stove is cold. If the grate is kept clear and maintained it will last longer.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Great stove but small problems

    Natalie 7 years ago

    Bought this stove a month ago as we needed a larger output and the prices for many of the 12Kw plus stoves were ridiculous! Saw this and read great reviews so thought we would give it a go.
    Been in a week and until last night only had small fires as advised to in the manual. First problem was the handle sticking (which someone else here did mention) rang manufacturers who said it needed heating. So we are currently using a blow torch everynight to warm the handle to open the doors as it is impossible otherwise. Hope this will ease in time! First full firing last night. Built up slowly and was going well. We left it for a while and then 'crack' ! Rang in to find a huge crack across the glass :( only filled with smokeless coal and nothing touching the glass. the flue pipe thermometer was reading just under 500F so although hot it wasnt extreme temperatures! Ringing manufacturers again today! However apart from that, we left it to burn and it did an amazing job! We have a very large open diningroom / kitchen in an old draughty terrace and for the first time in years it was toasty warm, and still felt it this morning. Really hoping we've just had bad beginners luck with this stove and going to continue with it as it seems brilliant as far as heat output which is most important! Fingers crossed
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Fire Fox 12

    Mr Pearson 8 years ago

    The Fire fox 12 is a heavy unit so I thought it would be a better controlled unit than it is. The door did not seal very well so I replaced the rope for a better quality one and the lock is very loose so had to adjust for a better seal. The glass cracked on the first lighting ( may have been a faulty unit as we did light it on low for the first five/six firings ) The air wash system is not the best and the flue damper is not the best. It has become better with age, we have an Eco fan on top to give a bit of help with the air movement which is not bad. We have a 8mtr x 9 mtr living room with an open rear hall 5 mtr x 4 mtr and into a kitchen which is 5 mtr x 7 mtr ( half the downstairs ) and it keeps all this warm even in the days we have just had ( 22.01.2013 ) I think that with all new things you get used to them and start to learn how to get the best from them, we are doing better now and feel that it was worth getting a stove, we wish we had fitted one with a back boiler to run a few rads upstairs... Also keeps you fit cutting and splitting logs ???

    Stove expert replied: You are asking a great deal from this stove to heat the three areas specified you need 22kW's of heat, this stove produces a maximum of 13kW's! Be careful not to overfire the unit.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • help

    Elizabeth Morrison 8 years ago

    we have just had the fire fox 12 installed and my only concern is how do we clean the flue pipe /clean the chimney ,

    Stove expert replied: Firefox stoves have a removeable baffle / throat plate in the top of the inside of the firebox, remove this and access to the chimney can be achieved for sweeping purposes. It is good practise to have an alternative access point, say in the rigid flue pipe, as a back up.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Another great Firefox

    Paul W 9 years ago

    I took out a Firefox 8 to fit this stove as I was very impressed with that, but the 12 is even better. The double doors make loading logs easy and the size of the fire box is huge so make sure you have plenty of wood.It is quite straightforward to light and I only tend to need 1 firelighter placed in the centre. You have to make sure the fire is well established though before shutting the vents or else it can go out but I think this may just be down to the large size of the burning area. I only tend to burn wood and once you have a nice bed of ash it seems to help the burning and hardly ever needs cleaning out. I have been trying to find a wood burning kit for it but they only seem to be available for the 5 and the 8. As with the other two Firefox stoves I have owned, the airwash could be better but the glass is easy to clean so this isn't a massive problem. I found the build quality to be very good but it is always worth checking the screws and bolts because some can be a bit loose. It is easy to strip down and clean and the top plate can be removed so you can sweep the flue through the stove. The only issue I had was that the back fire brick has cracked but it stays in place ok so I haven't bothered to replace it. I did read a review somewhere else where it was suggested that the back brick was cut into two pieces to stop it cracking but I don't know if this would work. I fitted this stove back in October 2011 and it was used almost daily through the winter, and was still being used well into May and apart from the broken brick it is still as good as the day it was fitted. To sum up, I would highly recommend this stove, as I would the 5 and the 8 models from Firefox and I have found them to be very good quality, simple to use and most importantly lovely and warm ! I hope this review helps.

    Stove expert replied: The problem of the stove going out if a good fire is not in the firebox before shutting down may also be caused by the cold flue, once warmed the draw is more effective and the stove burns well and is controllable. Otherwise a very happy customer who has experience of the Firefox range.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2