WhatStove?

Esse 500 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 19 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Esse 500 stove

The Esse 500 is a multi fuel stove.

This model has a 5kw output & has 1 plain door with glass in it -

the glass has a curve on the top edge & secondary air wash system to keep it clean.

Some Esse stoves are cast iron while others are a mixture of steel & cast iron.

Technical Data
  • Height: 545mm
  • Width: 428mm
  • Depth: 348mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Esse 500 Stove

    Martin Moorby one year ago

    Had the fire since 2007, have had to renew the fire bricks three times during this period, acceptable as main source of heat.Started using it again this winter, on second use back corner piece
    cracked casting on one side, next night other side cracked in same place.Would of expected the stove to last more than thirteen winter's.I note on here other people have had the back''s fall out. Can only assume it is a design or casting fault. I did notice when I first renewed the door seal rope, casting had blow hole's in it.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Esse 500 Air wash adjustments !

    Mark Maish 8 years ago

    Hi started reading reviews unfortunately after buying a Esse 500. This was because it was hard to control and was like a mini furnace.I read about one owner partially blocking their air wash
    system with card board a little Heath Robinson perhaps but worked for them.Having thought about this I decided to experiment using high temperature silicon.The Esse 500 has a long air wash inlet approx 9cm either side of the control lever itself. Using high temp silicon I carefully applied a bead to either side of the inlet allowing the central area to be kept free and obviously the control lever operative. I have also folded some baking foil to fill the gap partially above lever but so as to still allow operation. RESULTSWow it absolutely fab have great control of the fire now does not burn half as fiercely my wood supply should now last the winter instead of just until Christmas. I hope this helps other owners suffering from heat exposure and can still be removed if you like to restore to original design.Good luck and enjoy your burner........

    Stove expert replied: A flue damper may well have done the same job and the airwash will have been made in the way that Esse require it so altering quite possibly invalidates your warranty.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

More reviews for Esse 500 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Great

    Campbell F 3 years ago

    Had this stove for 6 years, burns well, nice large viewing window, no problems whatsoever. I burn kiln dried logs which results in very little ash
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Esse 500

    Ben Allen 4 years ago

    I have had experience of a lot of stoves, the Esse 500 gives off plenty of heat but I find the riddle grate system with handle a very poor design. The riddle gets constantly blocked and would
    be much better with drop in cast bars like they used to do on the old model. The rope burns out on the door seal very easily. Ash always falls out with this new design and the ashpan is difficult to remove due to a big lip on the stove front. We have ended up removing the riddle grate which is much better. The fire brick baffle design is poor and would be better made from metal. I have had a fire fox stove which seems a much better design, it is bigger overall, has a better riddle mechanism and is half the price.

    Stove expert replied: Did you try alternatives fuels to see if they still blocked the grate system. Different fuels may burn to a finer ash and therefore would not get caught in the grate, they do vary greatly so trying more than one fuel is a good policy to adopt until you find the one that suits your stove best.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • smoke on loading

    Allan Lockie 6 years ago

    The Esse is OK until I load the fuel, then I open the door and its still OK until new fuel is added. This smokes and comes out of the door and into room and stinks the room out.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • door handle impossible to move

    Sandra Laird 7 years ago

    had stove for 4 months when the stove is hot I find it impossible to move the door handle to put more logs on so stiff that the stove moves before I can open it(not much use if you cant add
    fuel) have to get my husband to do it he has to put a lot of effort in to move it!!!
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Esse 500 A Good Stove!

    Rob Woller 7 years ago

    We had an Esse 500 (2013 model) multifuel stove fitted in July by a reputable and qualified supplier, it is straightforward to operate, heats up quickly and does an all round good job, it looks
    good too with a large glass for the glowing logs and flames to light up the room. Very impressed! Have had other log burners before but new features have definitely improved the output and efficiency. 2 important points, always use qualified reputable installers (will save you money in the long run). When burning wood, use seasoned hardwood (when possible) and make sure the top vent (air wash) is in the middle and once up to temperature the bottom vent is closed. 😀🔥
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Air Wash Query

    Colin Mason 7 years ago

    We've just bought the Esse 500 but the installer was a bit vague about how to use the stove. The instruction leaflet doesn't explain how you can tell if the air wash system is open or closed
    ; do you move the lever to the right or left?? There are no markings to indicate the position.

    Stove expert replied: Air wash controls are normally open when slid to the right and closed when to the left, you should be able to see the change when the stove is lit if you can't see anything from the outside of the stove.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Esse 500

    Frank Woods 8 years ago

    We opted for this model because we wanted a small stove, but big enough to take normal sized logs. It creates plenty of heat, and the central main vent lets you generate a blast furnace effect
    to really get it going. The downside: the major components are secured using tiny Allan-bolts which are not up to the job. So the door hinges keep moving, as does the sleeve which holds the latch. I've had to fashion a Heath-Robinson solution to solve this. Otherwise an effective and good looking stove
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Esse 500 dont buy an Esse

    Fancis 9 years ago

    Replaced all removable parts within 2 years - most within a year, parts replaced regularly, now at age 4yrs the back has fallen off. I won't buy an ESSE again.

    Stove expert replied: Very disappointing comments.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2